Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Evotron

by testzero - Jam Entry

**This game is dedicated to mothers who decide the same weekend their son has repeatedly told them "I will be VERY busy and unavailable to do anything" is the perfect weekend to decide "Now is the best time to ask my children to paint the living room and help install a refrigerator."**

To run:
Extract .RAR to the folder of your choice. Run "Evotron_Unfinished_Edition.exe"

Use A and D or the arrow keys to move and space to jump. Press ESC to exit the game.

What Evotron is: Evotron is a platformer. Explore the level to find the secret exit. As you approach the exit, it will be highlighted as a white circle. Touch the exit to advance to the next stage. Every time you advance to the next stage, one more enemy will be added to the map. If you touch an enemy, this number will be reduced by 1 and the stage will advance.


----------
What Evotron was SUPPOSED to be:
An arcade platformer. As you move through the levels, enemy robots will attack you. Whenever you kill one of these robots, you will shift to take their form. We had 4 different enemy types, each with different abilities and weaknesses. The object would be to kill as many and advance through as many levels as possible without dying to achieve a high score.

Credits:

Doug Hancox - Design, Graphics
Mark Redding - Design, Code
Justin Muldoon - Design, Graphics
Chris Johnson - Audio

©2016 Apples & Astronauts
http://www.applesandastronauts.com/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#789Humor(Jam)1.70
#909Mood(Jam)2.55
#926Graphics(Jam)2.60
#1093Overall(Jam)2.56
#1096Fun(Jam)2.20
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

reddman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01am

This was also hand-coded in QB64 openGL/SDL 2d graphics. So it's not the least buggy game ever made by a long shot :D

dcolgan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:01am

Could not run.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08am

ok i got the game to run, but its not much of a fun game. if you can get this fixed for a post compo that would be awesome.

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12am

Hey dudes, congrats on finishing the game! I liked the glow of the levels, and the jumping feels nice.

You can always upload a Post-Ludum entry to make it what you envisioned!

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:14am

What's a post compo?

SgtBursk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:01am

Sometimes you want to finish the game just to finish it, for your own satisfaction. It's not officially a part of the competition. (btw the "There should be 'Shape Racer_Data'
folder next to the executable" should be fixed now. My Dropbox was full. Thanks for the bug report!)

Mekuri says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Not very entertaining in the current state, but you should definitely make a post-compo version.
I really liked the vibrant colors though.
I noticed you did not opt out of the audio category, but I did not experience any sound- Is this a bug, or didn't you include any sound?

duskpn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13pm

Why do families seem to have this ludum dare detecting sixth sense?

testzero says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Thanks for pointing that out. I've removed the audio category. Not sure what effect that will have on vote tallying though.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Fun little game.

reddman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:59am

Thanks about the jumping feels nice thing, I spent quite a lot of time coding the physics. I'm starting to realize how much easier it might have been to use a pre-existing engine :D

Anyway, I do plan to finish the game proper, and fix any of the issues that are still there. But I also decided to keep the 'find the exit' as a game mode.

rjhelms says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:17pm

It's a shame you didn't get as far as you had hoped, because what's here has a lot of promise. I like the visual style a lot.

Having the level advance when you're hit was a very good call for Ludum Dare, as it helps people see more of the game even if they're not any good at it.

Keep at this, for sure! (As an aside, there's no affect on other categories for opting out of audio or anything else. All it means is that when the final scores are presented, your game won't be ranked in those categories.)

tsjost says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:55am

Could you make a Linux build?

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:38am

I was able to get this game to run via wine! Neat! I wish this had become a game - perhaps post-compo? Nice job regardless!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:42am

ok game, its fun.

play and rate my game here: ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

norseware says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:53am

Interesting little game. I'm impressed by the amount produced from scratch in such a short amount of time, but I personally think you could have done more with this. I understand the amount of time needed to go into a project like this, and it's labeled as unfinished, so I won't review as if it were a full game. I do think there's potential here, it'd be fun to watch the progress if you decide to work on it further, post jam. Nice work! :)

corupta says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:02am

I liked the concept. An arcade platformer where you don't kill people. I also liked the difficulty balance system. :D There are some minor bugs I came upon tho they don't affect gameplay, I'll j tell for maybe future updates - In the gemini map, the circle spawned right in the middle of one of the big square blocks. It was funny, there was no way to touch it. :D And, In some levels I spawned inside the wall. Similarly, I saw a few monsters spawn inside the wall, too. - Anyways, I really liked it haha.

Squid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:27am

The game levels were very good looking. Its unfortunate that you were unable to finish.

reddman says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Yea, We are still working on this game. I've already fixed many of the bugs that were in the Ludum Dare edition, and I'm getting all the enemy AI stuff working and adding the 2 additional enemy types in along with the animations, and the RIGHT game mode that we originally came up with... but I think I'll leave the 'find the exit' mode in just because :)

It'll end up on our indiedb page eventually. I've been swamped with repair work all last week, but I'd love to see this game out there and played the way we originally intended!

thebrainfuse says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Could've been more so if there was a definite goal instead of infinitely traversing levels... but i had fun, good job!

EvanEGibbs says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 7:15am

Nice job at getting the game done even though you had to paint and install a fridge! Great work. :)

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 4:49pm

how great these glow and cool cyber-design background! so enjoy the progress when i find these [portal]in this big cyberworld.. how cool if there could have some electronic sounds!
btw,love this little blue hero! how nice if he could have more different with that little red bad guy ToT now they are too similary... Sincere hope this world could be more cool in future.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]