Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Raith-GaleO

by PaulHubert - Jam Entry

/!\ This is a multiplayer PvP game /!\
Yeah ok it wasn't the best idea for a ludum dare...
But HEY ! I had fun playing it with my friends while I was developing it and I learned javascript and node.js in a day, so I hope you can play my game with someone else and maybe even like it and have fun.

You're a planet-type thing and you absorb other masses to use it to defend against other players.
It is VERY similar to Agar.io but with much more buttons to press. I didn't initially want it to be this resemblant but it ended up this way anyway. There is no goal except fight and get bigger until you break the game.

Coded solo in a html5 canvas with javascript and node.js/socket.io
All art is by me (there is none)
Music by the unforgettable ParagonX9 !
http://www.newgrounds.com/audio/listen/85046
Also first game finished ever and first try at a Game Jam

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#768Fun(Jam)2.83
#770Innovation(Jam)2.78
#877Overall(Jam)2.88
#942Theme(Jam)2.67

Comments

DRGY says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

embedded game isn't working and i can't move up and left, but right and down is magically working...

maartene says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:26pm

Unfortunately, I can't get the game to run. Firefox gives this error message: Firefox kan geen verbinding maken met de server op 88.191.44.124:12345.

Are you sure the link is OK?

Big Cow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:35pm

Hey good work for the jam. Definitely saw the Agar.io similarity :)

FrozenCow says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

It's hard to get multiplayer games right. Especially for Ludum. Big props on finishing it!

For multiplayer games you want to get as many people together at *1* time, otherwise reviewing will become impossible. You can influence this by doing a bunch of reviews of other games, but submit those reviews all at once. That way your game will stay at the top for a while. Stay in-game yourself as well during this time. (A chat would really help ;))

Apart from that, it seemed you use a different keyboard layout (AZERTY?). Controls were quite hard for me, as up was Z and down S, whereas I presumed it was W and S. Most people use qwerty on Ludum Dare, so it's best to be compatible with that.

Anyway, good luck!

PaulHubert says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:34pm

OK the big problem is I'm using a node.js server and I'm hosting it... so right now it should be working in QWERTY with an option for AZERTY (this is the version I made for the jam, I didn't change anything).

AngerFork says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

Definitely like the idea of this game, and the music is quite nice. Controls seemed a bit weird at first, but made sense at time went on.

Stechas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:12pm

I was not lucky to play it with someone else, so I played alone and believe or not I wanted to see how big I am gonna get ... so I have managed to have solid purple screen. As a programmer I must appreciate your effort creating game with node.js, good job!

Jadernak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Props for multiplayer game

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04am

Oddly mesmerizing, I don't understand the objective (if there is one) but nice work nonetheless.

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:24am

Props on finishing a multiplayer game for Ludum! No one else was playing so I joined twice (two browsers side by side). I like how you can't "capture" players, you have to shoot them. I really like the death flash effect!

Inateno says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:55am

Your game isn't working anymore dude :(

lumscum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:38pm

Does not work! :(

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]