Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

YOU ARE WHAT YOU EAT

by ratly - Jam Entry

What if food...ate you? In this game, a routine visit to your favorite restaurant becomes a harrowing existential journey. Your friends and family call you a “good eater.” It’s up to you to decide what that means.


CONTROLS:
Space: open / close mouth
Mouse: pick up food



A game created with Unity by:
Matt Margini (Art+Programming)
Chelsea Tymms (Programming+Art)



Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#79Humor(Jam)3.72
#271Theme(Jam)3.68
#360Audio(Jam)3.21
#392Innovation(Jam)3.24
#738Fun(Jam)2.87
#740Graphics(Jam)3.00
#791Mood(Jam)2.76
#794Overall(Jam)2.97

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:47am

So if you eat junk food, you get Happiness but lose Humanity, and if you eat healthy food, you get Humanity back but lose Happiness. Can't lose too much Happiness OR Humanity, or you lose.

It actually ended up being pretty fun to try to balance those in real-time with randomly-generated food, and I like how the graphics matched up with that mechanic.

Two problems. For one, I'm not sure if there's a way to keep your character alive long-term or not; you seem to have a decreasing pool of Happiness and Humanity no matter how you play it. In a game like this, you should be screwed by the increasing difficulty of the game. Stuff like, "foods with more extreme effects," and "a faster conveyor belt." Not a de-facto timer.

Two, I just don't like the look of it. I get it's tough to do better in the time we have to make these, though, so that's not such a big deal.

A fun little mini-game with a funny concept, done mostly-well. I liked it!

ployer says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:30am

very out there in terms of concept. one of the more unique ones i've seen so far! wish it had some type of timer or points so i was working towards something though. great job. cant wait to see what you come up with for next LD

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:37am

Lol, great concept and the music was perfect for it. Very weird game, but fun.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:55am

smart game i liked it haha
play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:33am

I really like the hook of balancing happiness against humanity. It speaks to me on a very personal level. your game caused me to do some very deep soul searching.

biscuitdough says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:13am

fantastic lol. not sure if there's any real 'winning' but fun little toy to mess with.

dylanwolf says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:11am

Interesting concept and good graphics. It'd be nice to have a timer/score based on how long you survived or how many things you ate (to compare game-to-game how you were doing), and to make it more obvious how much certain foods cost/gain.

icefallgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:14am

Nice :-). Takes a while, but not too long to figure out what's going on, then the difficulty ramps up nicely. And it's like... so true.

Love the music.

joemid says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:57am

Love the look of the game. Simple and effective! Didn't expect the shapeshifting- duh, really cool! Talk about product placement!

GGAlliance says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:27am

Good music and challenge. I liked the game mechanics...

I do not know if you can reach the end of the game.
Healthy foods are not so bad... Hahahahahahahaha.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:54am

This game will change my eating habbits now.LOL .Nice graphics and concept!

esayitch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:01pm

YOU ARE FOOD.

Fine by me!

I liked the humor and the visuals in this one, pretty cool making a game about a popular saying and taking it literally xD.

Cool entry, good luck!

Osaft says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:02pm

5/5 :D

adsilcott says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:12am

Not much depth in terms of gameplay, but great humor and graphics! Good message too.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:55am

Very unique game concept! This is a weird but funny game, I liked it!

Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:04pm

There needs a scoreboard, and maybe like a list that shows what food gives what bonusses

Four Quarters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:38pm

so lol game! =)

jofra says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:34pm

ahah i was not expecting this X) Love the different faces/wierd stuff that each food do the character.
GJ!

medidog says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:09am

Love the audio pick of this game. I thought the balance between happiness and humanity was a little off. I felt that there was no way to maintain both at an acceptable level for a long time. And in the end, it could be nicer if the final results were displayed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]