Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

3SH

by Jorgenvontg - Compo Entry

3SH! A touhou inspired attempt at bullet-hell. Shift between shapes to survive the waves of enemies and defeat the boss.

This is my first LD and Compo, and probably I should have stuck to the Jam instead. But, into the deep end! The basic idea happened very quickly, but it took me a while to figure out some of the parts, like a good way to spawn non-random waves, etc.

Made with Unity(C#), paint.net, bfxr, Ableton Live. ~20 hrs.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#244Audio3.19
#373Humor2.47
#630Mood2.67
#686Fun2.80
#692Graphics2.58
#748Overall2.86
#846Innovation2.35
#871Theme2.45
#1579Coolness39%

Comments

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:06am

Difficult game! :)
I did not get the point of switching shapes though.
Like does it really help me that much if I change shape ?

Overall an awesome game! Music and gameplay is nice! :D

jbasinger says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:24am

This game is a lot like mine, I like it!

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=9019

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Cute game. I felt the player was moving way to fast. You can either try to move your move code to FixedUpdate() or multiply your values by Time.deltaTime. Or maybe it was supposed to be that fast what do i know. Other than that cool little game.

Jorgenvontg says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:23am

thanks for feedback! movement was indeed linked to deltaTime, I just like fast moving shmups. And yes, the shape-shifting just wasn't that useful here. I didn't get time to implement more bullet patterns that would actually REQUIRE shifting.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:49am

I couldn't figure out what the point of switching shapes was, but liked the bullet hell patterns from the red enemies. Nice job on your first LD.

Marjie62 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:13am

It took me a while to figure out what changing shapes is for, but once I did - I like the idea a lot. I like how the controls are tuned in terms of the player's speed vs that of the bullets, etc. Good job balancing there!

The biggest issue I had was that it was surprisingly difficult to differentiate between circles and squares once the boss came on screen (is that remotely near the end? I couldn't beat him, I suck at shmups), since he shot so many at you so densely packed. I found myself dying very unexpectedly until I got used to it.

knason says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:52am

This was really difficult and it took me a while to figure out what the shape shifting was for. My 4 year old whos sits beside me helping me to judge each game wanted me to say that the graphics was really nice :-). Overall good job and congrats on your first LD entry.

Mordokay says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:10pm

Kinda fun game but difficult.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]