Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Linear Motion

by Pitzik4 - Jam Entry

The playing field shapeshifts, just to be clear.

Control the "widget" with mouse, keyboard, or touch; it'll work on PCs, tablets, mobile phones, whatever supports HTML5 canvas. And just to round off that convenient array of keywords, it's a Web game.

I "took it easy" this time, didn't even start until about 30 hours in. I think I made something interesting, though; I've had some fun messing around with it. It probably looks like it originally had a pretty big scope, but this is actually about what I was thinking of when the idea first drifted into my head.

If you can't tell what's going on, that's because not much is going on at all. The game doesn't really have much of a goal, though you could try to turn all eight of the spinning squares grey by touching them. You could also see how long you can keep the playing field continuously in motion. Just use your imagination.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Innovation(Jam)3.47
#496Graphics(Jam)3.41
#855Theme(Jam)2.87
#954Overall(Jam)2.77
#1110Fun(Jam)2.17
#2207Coolness10%

Comments

BigBrother says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:53am

I really like the idea of it, and I understand it, don't worry. I think the way it's coded to work with all of the listed things is super innovative, and I really everything about it in general. The theme for this LD was pretty hard, so I'm not gonna judge you too hard on that (i gave 5 stars). Great job!

-Henry

zwrawr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:59am

Like the art , the gear spinning in the wrong direction looked very odd. I think this could be expanded into a very interesting puzzle game

Pitʶik4 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:37am

Thanks, but the gear isn't spinning in the wrong direction. It isn't rolling along the walls. It's just... spinning.

Wahooney says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:33am

Interesting concept, not like anything I'd seen before. A bit more of a goal would be a good idea, but overall quire cool and strangely addictive.

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:35am

The shapes that make up the level, shifting... nice idea.

BitDare says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:17am

Quite an interesting game. I like the idea.

ployer says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:41pm

nice puzzle. wish there was more to visual markers to know whats going on. besides that well done

emanuelesan says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:58am

very nice idea! the only not very clear thing is how to win, but it was nice to fiddle around with the cog.

Henry00 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:30pm

I like the blueprint style graphics.

ZpeedTube says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:49am

Nice graphics and gameplay but I quite don't understand how the shapeshifting works. :3

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:14am

I like the idea of it and it looks pretty slick, but sometimes it is hard to see what is going on because it feels like there is a lot more happening outside the camera's field of view.

fauche_j says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:43am

I really like the graphics, the game is kind of difficult to understand.

tayl1r says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Looks nice.

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Wow the game is really cool. I loved how the gear worked. THough the screen was moving all the time.

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:55pm

definitely nifty, even if it doesn't have a goal

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:40pm

I literally have no idea what's going on in this game. The cog just seems to be grinding the wall. Looks nice though.

LandoSystems says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 3:40am

One of our top ideas was a shapeshifting board. Glad to see someone implemented it!

tomlum says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:42am

Wonderful. Really novel but satisfying, fluid, and intuitive controls, even (especially) when the world was moving all over the place. A really fun exploration.

syst3m_ERROR says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Super innovative, and fun to play! Your game was super smooth as well, I was a little confused on what I was supposed to be doing, and how it fit the theme as well? But overall it was fun to play.

mkghoster says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Cool visuals!

Sir Magic says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:42pm

I couldn't figure out how to transform but I really liked the movement in this game.

Anti says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 9:20pm

The graphics and art were really nice. It was an interesting concept but like you said yourself: Not much is going on. Still awesome work!

wboqm says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 6:42am

Nice mechanics. Would be great to see more game play.

frondeus says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:00pm

I like these blueprints! But you said game doesn't really have goal - and it hurts.

ermrk says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:23pm

I like blueprint style of graphic. I would add some text like "Play!" at the beginning. I think that the game was loading.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]