Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Claudia's Exit

by ramza - Jam Entry

Claudia is a shape shifter who can transform into a bird at will. The evil sorcerer Aethon was entranced by her song and took her captive.

Now she must use her transformation ability to escape his magic labyrinth, a dangerous, dream-like world full of deadly traps and creatures. Take flight and find the exit! Beware the Stone Faces.

This is my first Ludum Dare and I have really enjoyed it.

Controls:
Mouse = Look
Left Click = Transform
Right Click = Dive
Move = WASD, Arrow Keys
Space = Jump
Shift = Run
Quit Game = Alt + F4

Tools:
Photoshop CC
Unity 5
Blender 2.7
Fruity Loops
bfxr
Audacity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#302Mood(Jam)3.41
#415Theme(Jam)3.50
#459Audio(Jam)3.00
#726Humor(Jam)2.00
#839Innovation(Jam)2.68
#954Overall(Jam)2.77
#1057Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:35am

I collided with another bird, and that was pretty cool lol. #LifeGoals

Squid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:56am

The flying up is a bit sickening.

bigmangames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05am

One like = one wing flap.

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:10am

I'm not completely sure what this game actually is, or what I'm supposed to do, but I had a good time walking around the world, getting absorbed in the almost surreal, and somewhat eerie, landscape that you can only really find in some older, smaller, games.

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:45am

Flying up is a bit janky, but the mechanic is very cool, and you utilize it in some pretty interesting ways.

The sound design is very atmospheric. It was interesting, as well. The overall gameplay got a bit repetitive after a while though, as there's a lot of exploring without much to do.

whilefun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:08am

Wow, cool idea. I enjoyed running as the bird, and sort of gliding start into flying from hillsides. With some smoother "gain altitude"/"flap" motion, this could really be a neat thing to just play for relaxation. Neat! :)

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35am

Cool experience! The game ran a bit choppily and the music was a little grating, but I enjoyed exploring the world!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:37am

Neat game, I suggest the making flight smoother.

ramza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:44pm

Thank you everyone for the helpful comments! I would have liked to get a better "flapping" motion. One thing I had hoped to add was a jet stream mechanic that would carry you to the different regions of the map, which I thought would balance aspect of the game.

apalade says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:46pm

I was actually a little creeped out when I got to the bottom of the tower. Flight could be smoother but the game is very atmospheric. Eerie!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Claudia Exist.
Watching a Rothko as a bird.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:54am

As others said the flapping was a little wierd but otherwise being both a bird and a human was a lot of fun. Interesting exploration aspect too :)

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:57am

The background sounds are set to the click of your mouse so you can spam them, seems a bit odd.

morrilet says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:51am

Flight felt slow and I wasn't completely sure where to go. I spent about 15-20 minutes exploring and got a few of those eggs. Very eerie game.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:59am

Wow. This game was eerie and creepy. Even with flight I felt trapped. Thank you for this experience.
The flight did feel more like levitation than bird flight. tapping space bar to flap wings was fine but the jarring motion of it was not so good. smooth it out a bit and make it more fluid and like the flight of a bird. Other than that, good job. I particularly liked the volcano pit.

Catwheel says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:37am

I REALLY Liked your game, but maybe that's because I really like exploration games. I really enjoyed moving around as a bird, but I honestly felt that the hawks were a bit unnecessary. The main joy I got out of the game was exploring the world while being able to turn into a bird, but when I see a hawk it pretty much broke up that play, but not in a fun or interesting way. Dieing after 2 hawks was rough, and not being able to restart in a close position really killed my fun. However, I really think that with a good theme and set of 3D art, some refined world gen, maybe some puzzles, I'd buy a game like this that was all about exploration.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:27am

Even though there is a lot of potential polishing that can be done, you managed to create a suprisingly interesting atmosphere that I liked a lot. This could be a very nice game when you use it to create a "shamanic" experience. I wished to see the the human and bird from 3rd perspective to feel the transformation more. Great work :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]