Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Fixing Sparks

by fairwolf games - Jam Entry

a game about a robot trying to escape a lab while also trying to fix himself we originaly had the idea to make him change forms after he was fully repaired but was runing out of time

links:

ichio: https://tom31292.itch.io/fixing-sparks-ld-35

drop box: https://www.dropbox.com/s/i8qah1r95vuljff/ludum%20dare%2035%20entry%20fixing%20sparks.exe?dl=0

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#435Innovation(Jam)3.19
#509Fun(Jam)3.16
#652Overall(Jam)3.12
#690Audio(Jam)2.06
#773Graphics(Jam)2.94
#776Theme(Jam)3.00

Comments

Odst says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:38pm

It feels either like the level is too long or that it needs checkpoints of some description. The audio could do with some music.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:47pm

I really like it! Pretty nice take on the theme. I like how the level design felt a bit open. Great character design and animation, particularly given the time constraints. I like how the character design reflected the abilities I was acquiring. Amazing job!

Kazetsukai says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:37pm

Loved it. Good pacing of introducing mechanics, stayed interesting through to the end.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:39pm

It was funny and a good idea! Maybe it would be great to increase gravity a bit and change the background tiles to make the help more readable. Good one!

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Really nice game, and the oversized level didnt bother me, castlevania symphony of the night is like that. nice job.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:38pm

Haha I love the dopey look and animation of the robot, adds a lot of personality.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:27am

Loved it; short and fun. Nice little project!

Foxtacy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50am

This is really neat! very consistent mechanics and very nice graphics! I missed some music though

Congratulations! :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Nice job, even though the relation to the theme was a bit tight. There's a good feeling of evolution of the character though!

Swynfel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Good job !

I really liked the "flow" of the game. The pace, difficulty and new body parts made the game never boring. I was into it until the very end, was it definitely worth playing.

The physics are strange sometimes. You either go left or right at a fixed speed depending on the last key you pressed (or none if you touched the ground). A little more "acceleration"-like movement could have been better. (Hard to control and feels unnatural).

The graphics are cool. I like the "clean" aspect of the scene (although the floor-tiles feels awkward to me), and the swaggy many different hand-drawn animations.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:42am

Not a bad little game. The pace at which you get the new body parts is good. Music would have been a nice addition but not having it doesn't hurt the game. Well Done!

Sean says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:22pm

It was a decent platformer, but it'd probably be better to just give the player regenerating fuel - it seemed a bit weird to have infinite flight since it removed the need for the platform shooting (which had more potential for interesting puzzles imo). The sound effect for the flying was really annoying too, because it just played a single explosion on a loop instead of being a consistent noise.

Henry00 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Fun game, bit cheap on the graphics and could have used some music. Could it be you took some inspiration from Portal? :)

I also like games where you end up weak but gain powers over time. Nice job!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Really liked it! Interesting Game, maybe you could make more short levels, because the level is really long, but that's fine! It's fun :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]