Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Trisquircle

by Ayawaska - Jam Entry

Trisquircle is a simple reflex arcade game.
A square for a square, a circle for a circle and... a triangle for a triangle!
A good answer and you gain time. A mistake and it's over.

Use the Arrow Keys to play
Left: Square
Right: Circle
Up: Triangle

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#144Audio(Jam)3.69
#224Fun(Jam)3.50
#240Humor(Jam)3.12
#354Mood(Jam)3.34
#364Overall(Jam)3.42
#530Theme(Jam)3.37
#631Innovation(Jam)2.95
#732Graphics(Jam)3.03

Comments

torcado says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:09am

haha nice game. the voicework is a nice touch, but it was way to confusing for my mind (at least between the circle and square)
i liked the visuals though! good job

Wan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17am

Interesting arcade game! Keeping your eyes on the small grey thing while having all these shapes and color fill the screen in music is a strange experience... The score text could have been made bigger though.

On a side note this game got me my first BSOD in years, I think there's an issue with memory management (the game uses 500mb at launch?). Using Sandboxie helped me play the game without issues. I'm on Windows 7

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:37pm

Thas was fun ! I like the colorful and disorientating visual feedbacks :)

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Thanks for the comments! :)

@Wan weird... works fine here. Thanks for the feedback.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:50pm

Crashed the first two times I tried to open the game, but worked on the third.

Cute little minigame. Voices add a lot to the mood and the effects are nice.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Really good, simple idea. Kept getting stuck at 30 points, I'm just not good at concentrating for that long! Great game

Prudiiarca says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:16pm

Nice game! I like this type of reactional games and had fun playing it...

Skruffye says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:47am

Nice game. Rather trippy, but good fun. :)

Leroyii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:04am

I can definitely see the Super Hexagon references

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46am

Love the style, though the gameplay is a bit confusing at first.

jk5000 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:05am

Weird and funny.

Yword says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:24pm

Wow, this game is simple but very additive! Well done!

stalker1586 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:41pm

Amazing. Psychodelic.

Roland M says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Good Arcade game.

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:19am

Nice game, reminds me of Seven Nation Army music video-- but I suggest putting controls somewhere because I forgot at first.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:30am

Weird and hypnotical. You have chosen the right colors to increase our attention. The gameplay is simple, but efficient. Psychedelic. Well done ++

studdert249 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:04am

Nice little game, though quite disorienting. I seem to be able to still the outline of the triangles, was good fun!

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Thanks everyone, you made cool games too!
Seven Nation Army music video was an inspiration indeed. Loved Super Hexagon too.

merzlot says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:48am

Wow, love the style. :) Voice is a nice touch. I could use a little hint with controls in game screen too, not only in menu. :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:19am

Quiet cool game! Good Graphics and effects

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:58am

Cool game, but why does the time end!? Thats a piss off, rather than that... the concept is good and the game looks trippy xD. I wish there would be more variations not in shapes but game play, probably the shapes start to rotate or shake.... possibilities are many :D
Anyway way all the very best!

tompudding says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:24pm

OK That was amazing. I had to turn the sound off though since hearing the sound of the last thing I pressed while trying to recognise another thing was making my brain hurt :)

APantaloni says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Simple but fun! I like how the timer works, you can decide how fast you feel safe to go. Could work well as a party game, challenging your friends. Well done!

Apr 27, 2016 @ 8:33pm

Simple and fun to play, the colors were not easy on the eye maybe should have been a different colour palette, I liked the voice over.

TheCain says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:24am

good game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]