Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Watery

by aeveis - Compo Entry

A sandbox-y game where you drag an amoeba-like thing to grow plants. It's not too difficult and I didn't get to add everything I wanted, but hope you like it!

There are 7 levels.

Tools used:
IDE: Flash Develop
Library: Haxeflixel
Art: Gimp
Sound/Music: OpenMPT
Levels: Tiled

Controls:
Use mouse to drag along border of watery.

If you need it: [] for Cheats

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#19Innovation4.23
#195Theme3.77
#197Mood3.34
#198Audio3.30
#239Overall3.48
#259Graphics3.50
#512Humor2.08
#514Fun3.05
#1160Coolness49%

Comments

Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Pretty cool, it remains me Mushroom 11. A little frustrating because I don't understand the logic behind the movement of the tail when you drag the amoeba.

LeReveur says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36pm

It's pretty and poetic, but like the previous commentator, I had some difficulties to understand the bahvior of the tail. I didn't manage to go further than the level with three "must-stay-on-to-grow" flowers, one on up-left, one on middle and one on bottom-right, because the tail don't "want" to stay where I needed to...

Gromek999 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:40am

really like the concept

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:07am

Such a chill game. Enjoyed it!

amras0000 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:50am

The system you've got there definitely has a fair bit of effort behind it, but that may have been misplaced, since it really doesn't feel natural or predictable; pulling on one end of the blob affects places that really don't feel like they should be moving right now.

Because of this, the game feels less like a puzzle game and more like an exercise in frustration.
I think a better design philosophy here would've been to try and make a triangle grid and let the player drag their shape along that. Have a look at Mushroom 11 for a loose example of what I mean. Then you could smooth the edges a fair bit to hide the fact you're working on small triangles. I think that would've been both easier to build and more natural to play.

nextreality says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:34am

The game was very nice, I liked the presentation of it and the mechanic was interesting. Struggled on a few levels, but overall very nice, the water/liquid looked quite pretty actually!

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:36pm

a pretty nice game. the logic of how you calculate the shape is a little weird which makes it difficult sometimes, but still its a nice game :D

aeveis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:10am

Thanks for the comments so far, there's been some good feedback! I definitely thought of mushroom 11 though the ideas and how you interact with the amoeba-thing is different. The needy flowers probably happened as I started shifting focus from how the amoeba thing moved to procedurally drawing flowers. I would say it's more of an experimentation with interaction, but I did lay it out so it seemed more puzzle-like. I'm not sure if I'll take this further but will probably experiment more with idea of an amoeba like thing in the future (should probably actually look up fluid dynamics). Thanks again!

torcado says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:29am

nice little game! i like the design, and the mechanics were really interesting. it was a bit frustrating at points though.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:33am

I shall dub it "Fluid Management Game" :p

foolmoron says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:54am

This game is so adorable! I actually really wanted a control system like this for my game but I couldn't quite figure it out. I think it's a bit too rigid, though. It still feel like a bunch of individual mesh vertices that you are moving around, instead of a globby mess. So trying to drag a "limb" out to reach a flower is pretty when lots of the dots are overlapping.

foolmoron says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 12:56am

trying to drag a limb out is pretty difficult/random*

knason says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Awesome! I loved it I have nothing to complain about :-)
Well done!

fin_nolimit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:11pm

That was a super cool game! i have not played anything like it so far! nice take on the theme!

flummox3d says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Pretty zen game, very soothing music. Great work! :)

Uson Chen says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:23am

Really fun and very comfrotable ! Great entry!

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 3:50pm

really built a great experience,unique,smooth and easy to study.at first i just drag the [stripe],but after that i change to use [flat], really easy to immerse and feel relax very well~! nice artwork

lkr says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 4:27pm

Very unique take on the theme, with nice audio and visuals :)
Couldn't really figure out how dragging a certain part affected the rest of the body though, so some of the levels were solved more though trial and error than skills :P
Great entry!

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:18pm

I didn't get it until I realized I could move multiple nodes :) Really cute and relaxing game, I am gonna be digging through the source as well! Good work!!

MSiddeek says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Very good idea and, even though I didnt get the controls completely, it was nicely executed.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]