Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

BIRDROCK

by murraya2 - Compo Entry

BIRDROCK is a 2D dogfighting game about a bird that can transform into a rock, that can transform into a bird.

Featuring music from the definitive bird rock artist Dwayne the birdrock Johnson.

Z- flap
X- become rock
Z- become bird
left/right- change direction

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#19Fun4.08
#81Audio3.67
#86Overall3.80
#131Innovation3.75
#176Humor3.05
#179Theme3.80
#297Mood3.17
#362Graphics3.28

Comments

bleggaman says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15am

Holy poop XD this game. Bullet hell, but you're a bird- its a good twist. Easy to play, hard to beat. Plus, great bass- I, as a human, am all about that bass.
Really good game.

bleggaman says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:15am

I would say that this game really... rocks

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:48am

This game is very addictive. I can see putting a lot of time into trying to master it.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:05am

Wow, that feeling of turning from a rock into a bird was AWESOME.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06am

Wow, that feeling of turning from a rock into a bird was AWESOME.

Would love for you to check out my game, Tito's Revenge!
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:07am

The idea seems so simple, and yet this game is pure fun. The controls are simple and intuitive, the gameplay does not get boring, and the music is what I'd call... Birdrock. *ba dum tsss*

Insality says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:34am

wow, this shapeshiftings feelings is great
Rly liked and the game took some my time, because it's interesting to play! Great job

wavertron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:34am

Birdrock is the word. Great game, simple and intuitive controls. Awesome stuff. "the definitive bird rock artist..." yeah that made me LOL.

stephenhaney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:14am

Killed it! One of the top entries for sure. Feels like one of the smash hit mobile games that makes a million bucks.
Things I especially liked:
- The controls felt really intuitive.
- The pace of the action was fun.
- Great graphics.

paradxil says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:33pm

First off thanks for reviewing my game. I'm sorry you couldn't get the menu controls to work for you.
Second, this is an awesome game. Good work. I love the original idea and its really fun.

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Interesting Game, nice soundtrack

rockybdubs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:37am

Good stuff!! I got in the groove and played for quite a awhile!!

Matzigon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23pm

This bird rocks! :D I flew for minutes in one direction before realizing I went the wrong way. Nice game!

maleero says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:03am

It amazes me how such a simple game idea can be so much fun. Nice work!

Gtron says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Controls felt very good. It was a little confusing at first that the button to transform from a rock to a bird was also the flap button, but I think that was actually the better call. Music was cool, and there's something viscerally satisfying about building up speed as a bird and then turning into a large rock and plummeting into your enemies.

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:42am

This is fantastic -- it's hard to make a game this quickly that feels like it has a really high skill ceiling and controls that are unique yet masterable. Had a blast playing this, awesome job!!

PowerSpark says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:40pm

Great game! I got to the eagle

Arvydas says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:44pm

Holly cow! This game was really fun to play! This is such a better version to boring Flappy bird. With a bit more polishing, this game could easily be one of those popular app games. The mechanics, music ( \m| ^^ ), and gameplay are great! really addicting game with strategizing. I like how health regenerates and damage isn't too intense. Good job :)

doombrowski says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:08am

Was fun. Killed the avocado boss.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]