Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

color shift

by ninja00283 - Compo Entry

switch colors with the q,w,e,r, keys to switch pallet

and uncover camouflaged shapes

switch shapes with control or shift.

if you touch a shape other than your shape you lose one live.

if you touch a same shape as you you destroy it.

tip:if you don't see any shape switch pallet!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#457Humor2.22
#550Theme3.24
#621Innovation2.87
#627Fun2.89
#682Overall2.95
#701Mood2.50
#838Graphics2.21

Comments

FenyesJ says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:35pm

great game

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Once I figured out how to move (yeah I know it was in the help, I didn't read it first time :/) it worked. I like the hidden-enemy mechanic with the palettes, that really works :)

tomdeal says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:38pm

it's a bit difficult to get into at the start, but once you've done it, its really good :-)

stefvanschie says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:04pm

The game is a little bit simplistic.

Marsouin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:13pm

Cool game !

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:29pm

It would be nice to have a version without installator...

JNI says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12pm

After finding out how to play, it was just fine gameplay!

Dooskington says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Please offer a no install version so I can try it out.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:45pm

I played that longer than I thought in advance.

I liked it quite well, it was pretty addictive once you get the hang of it, but I think it could've been better if you hadn't thrown in so many different aspects, as half the time I had no idea why I died.

ninja00283 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:47pm

i saw that there people commenting about the installer.
so i made a single runtime executeble.
sorry i can't make an wb version.
i don't have the tools for that.

ninja00283 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:11pm

also thanks for all the feedback!

TP2k says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29pm

Nice idea on the theme, separating the "shape" and "shift" parts. Took me a while to realise I could move the player with the mouse.

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:47pm

I really liked the idea here! Also there were some neat little touches, like the crosses having their own dash attack. I kinda wish the keybinds were something else than control and QWER, though; they were a bit hard to reach with one hand. My score was a measly 950.

ninja00283 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

maybe i should have mentioned taht the option keys are rebindeble...

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26pm

Aargh... no mac/web entry!! :|

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:10am

It's simple and it works, but it leaves a bit to be desired. I liked that it was fast paced, but didn't feel any reason to continue playing for more than a few minutes. Nice for a jam!

Kifuga says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:16pm

It's not fair if you don't know that there just appeared a new enemy and you can't see... a hint that a new enemy has appeared would be helpful. Besides that, a nice little game that works well.

DesignerNap says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:18am

A nice idea and I would only change one thing... you have shapes cycling through on one button... yet colours on four separate buttons. If both were single button pushes I think it would be more fun to play. As it is, it is still good fun though :)

Tselmek says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Awesome idea, the difficulty curve might be a bit intense and the controls make the gameplay a bit clunky and confusing but overall it's a pretty good game. Couldn't get my highscore higher than 950.

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:11pm

A little bit hundrum

Mordokay says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:51am

This is what I call a good game. Congratz!!!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]