Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Unbecoming

by tomlum - Jam Entry

In losing your form you find your truest self.
Your imagination is the only limit to your being.
You are at once a gargantuan beast, a sly scoundrel, an explorer of this world and others.
You are a shapeshifter... of sorts.

Unbecoming - A short, silly narrative.



Design, Programming, Art, Music - Tom Lum (tomlum.com)
Voices - Eilis & Tom
Sound Effects - the invaluable folks at Freesound.org
Tags: Windows - OSX

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness98%
#4Theme(Jam)4.45
#6Overall(Jam)4.38
#10Humor(Jam)4.28
#13Fun(Jam)4.20
#15Mood(Jam)4.31
#21Innovation(Jam)4.25
#336Graphics(Jam)3.71

Comments

tasteless says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:42am

no game? but pretty :)

aegypticus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:45am

Mac version has no game in it. Not sure if that's intentional.

nickavv says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:48am

This is really great, captures the imagination and wonder of childhood really well. Good stuff

tomlum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:53am

Ah, my bad! All version should now be working!

tomlum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:59am

Many thanks nickavv!

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:01am

Wow! Fantastic work. Such a cohesive game with a real story and message. Love to see one of these in a jam, adds to the variety! Thank you!

aegypticus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23am

Wow. I've rated, like, 30+ games now and yours is the only that I've given a perfect 5/5 score to. I loved this, the narrative was amazing and the message was really great. The graphics were awesome and I really liked all the neat abilities of each role. Damn this was a good game! I'm glad you got the mac version up and running, because this is too good. I also love seeing Mac LÖVE developers on here making great stuff. Wow.

Zayron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:26am

Wow that was a trip! I liked the part were you are shooting the business people. "401K!!!" haha! :)

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:29am

The different shapes were fun to play and I relly liked the music :)

lambda- says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31am

Very nice, I liked the ending.

Funske says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:33am

I really enjoyed that. I was so much fun. Everything felt so satisfying, and I was actually sad when I had finished because the game was over. The message was cool, and inspiring. Very nice work!

Skruffye says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:18am

Really cool game with an awesome take on the theme! Thoroughly enjoyed playing. :)

ratking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:28am

Very cool entry! I felt with the girl.

tasteless says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:58pm

so I tried again, and thank you for suggesting it ! I loved it!! played till it closed and smiled the whole time :)

Leroyii says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:42pm

STAPLER, GOLF, INVEST

cudabear says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:55pm

This was a very fun entry! I love how it starts off feeling as though it's a whole different world, and then you realize it was the child's imagination the whole time. Very charming.

The gameplay was very engaging, I liked how each form had a very specific use and I was encouraged to swap between them often. I think a bit of challenge would have been nice, I don't think it was possible to die or have to restart. But it was still awesome nonetheless.

I loved the feeling of this game, and the way your graphics presented the story without copious amounts of text to read. That said, I felt the graphics were still lacking a bit. Furthermore, I feel the particle effects were a bit TOO much. There were times where my entire screen was filled with nothing but particle effects.

Audio was pleasant. It did meld together into one white noise effect when a lot was going on. I loved the voice-over lines for the businessman attacks.

well done, a very fun entry!

Muciojad says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Mindfuck! So awesome entry, there is great gameplay with different mechanics, it's super cool for me! Music and art with gameplay gives solid game in summary. I rated just a few games but this is best so far. Incredible work bro! :D

Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:25pm

This was very cute and humorous, great job!

glitchu says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:36pm

I like the message for this game as it brings out the inner child of me :).

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:47pm

A truly bizarre ending to a very cute little game! The icing on the cake for me was the ability to moonwalk by pressing A & D. Good work!

A333 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:56pm

Imagination!
Great game =) Very light-hearted mood and positive feelings. Thank you for that.

Orion Dev says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:27am

Absolutely amazing game dude! The story is silly but super deep at the same time. It at times makes you want to smile and chuckle, and at times it makes you a little misty eyed. The art and music in this game are good also but the story makes this game a true treasure. The first game that I believe deserves a perfect score :)

Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:31am

Omg, it was very interesting!

I felt like a child, with all imagination and that curiosity to discover the world and even why not other worlds? As said, your imagination is the unique limit for what you'd like to be.

This game is an impressive work of idealistic art. I loved the end, the meaning behind the final moment was the best.

Really a great game! ^_^

Interface says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:07am

Great mood, great story with a message. 401K! I may have to let it sink in and play again :-)

Naca says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:53pm

This game actually reached to my heart. When I was a child, I used to play with my imagination continuously. I miss that time. And I guess one of the reasons that I play videogames now is because I miss that time, the old fantastic worlds that me and my friends used to visit everyday. I suppose we all have done that, but many people do not remember as well. Maybe one day I'll try to play that way again :D. Anyway, congratulations for one of the best takes on this theme.

Freank says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:46am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Arnage says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:32am

Love it, great story!

Miziziziz says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 3:40am

loved it :) frickin adorable

ijona says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:22am

Awesome!! There was a lot of unexpected things in this game, which is great.

marod says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:06am

Nice concept!

Cosrnos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:00am

I love this game! There was definitely a mood to it and I really liked the adventure approach to the game!

The graphics were great, the audio was great and the humor was on point (401k!)

I also really liked the ending, I actually smiled at the very end. Great job :)

Walnoot says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Excellent game! Had me chuckling sometimes, and you seem to understand the relationship between lotsa particles and good gameplay

Osaft says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:45pm

that was nice :)

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:29pm

Well done. I enjoyed the game and the message. One complaint is a lot of colors of the player match the background and blend in.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 11:44am

Awesome entry!

I feel emotional when playing this game. It brings some memories back.

Nice work!!!

Strike says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:38am

What a wonderful game !

Jolly Serpent says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 8:05am

Very neat game, I loved the idea and the message behind it!

TheCain says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:34pm

That was really clever. I liked the ending, it really punctuated it.

Szabin says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:38pm

Beautiful game :)

csanyk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:07am

Great humor and mood to this entry. A child's make-believe play fantasy, no real danger, but it was fun to explore. I got as far as the mainframe, at which point I couldn't figure out a way to enter a password. So not sure what I wasn't doing right. But it was pretty fun up until that point, although the controls for the spaceman were a bit limited.

TheMeorch says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 5:48am

I love this game.

It captures childhood in a way that few games have for me. It's silly and funny, but also honestly moving. It's incredibly creative and surprising. It feels like a huge adventure and also just an afternoon playing outside. I can't say enough good things about this. Thank you for making it!!!

May 3, 2016 @ 8:57am

Great game about imagination with nice idea and music.

Uson Chen says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:45am

Great imagination and sound effects! Like this way of story telling.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:32pm

salute the torrential imagination and the pure heart of childhood!..
the final climax's continued(so many legs broken!!) really leaves me with a deep impression and shock me alot.
and the end scene also give me infinite daydream from time and space,meaningful + endless aftertaste!

GaryS says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:30pm

This was delightful.
Literally, I was delighted many times whilst playing.
I found myself giggling as I discovered each new part of the experience. The sound effects were perfect too, really fit with the childlike gleeful mood of the game.
Overall, I really enjoyed playing. I'd change nothing. Just lovely.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]