Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Speedshifter Ultra

by notime4games - Compo Entry

- IF YOU GET STUCK PRESS 'R' TO RELOAD FROM LATEST CHECKPOINT
- Press Escape for level select/pause
- After picking up shape shift upgrades the player can change shape on demand, altering the physical behavior and geometry of the player model.
- Shapes are reset on every level
- Complete the levels as quick as you can!
- Hard and frustrating game.

Please post your high scores! :)

...

Wanted to really make the shapeshifting part the main feature of the game.
Lots of stuff I wanted to add but just didn't have the time. Like graphics. More music. Goal and death effects. Saving highscores. The list goes on...
Been fun though! First LD for me :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#93Audio3.61
#205Theme3.76
#211Mood3.31
#264Fun3.41
#313Overall3.38
#427Humor2.30
#523Graphics2.90
#527Innovation3.00

Comments

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:17pm

This is a great game. I found some of the levels really hard but for some people that will be a good thing. I'm pleased you put checkpoints in because often in games like this they are forgotten about.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:04am

Really cool idea! Ultra satisfying and fun. There were a couple technical issues, i think because of webGL. The game would freeze when i beat a level. Also i'm very glad you put checkpoints.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:50pm

I'm not sure what triggered me getting or not getting the triangle shape, in later levels it was not enabled any more so I could not continue?
Nice style and setup, well done.

Sanka-X says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Great game, love the shifting sound effects !

unit684 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Really fun idea, I love games that play around with gravity. I couldn't manage the 3rd or 4th levels but completed the 5th so it might be worth rearranging them. Might just be me though.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:08pm

Great game, well done.

woodenrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:20am

I like the levels and the main mechanic. Nice game!

monkeybot says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:59pm

Really good,very frustrating!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 6:24pm

Nice game!

CaptainPilot says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 1:08pm

Got stuck on level 3! But I definitely enjoyed what I played of it, just couldn't work out how to get up a steep slope with only circle and square to switch between!

rhastapunk says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:42am

Love the different effects, they made a good environment.
Good job!

Tselmek says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:54am

Nice and polished platformer, funky music.

May 5, 2016 @ 3:58am

wow so hard! nice flipping technique.

sftrabbit says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Fun game! Kept me interested enough to finish every level, and a couple of them took me quite some time! I like the interesting ways that the different shapes worked together and how you used them to make kind of platforming puzzles. I had to do level 4 before I understood the mechanics for level 3 (maybe they should even be swapped?). The music was well done, but perhaps a bit too repetitive! You could have had a few bars with just the bass and drums and then it would have been a bit better. Overall, nice work!

dcRfj15 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:33am

Good job on your first Ludum Dare!
I liked the different features of the shapes, e.g. the circle which can move, the square which can fit through holes and make the player speed down inclines, and the floating triangle. It was cool to see that the levels required the players to use the minute details about each transformation to overcome some of the challenges.
I had no idea how to get past the second part of level 3 (where you need to go upwards), and I couldn't figure out how to get past the first part of level 4. Also, after completing a level, it would be nice if the game automatically went back to the level select screen (I was confused about this for a little while and kept restarting the game to try the next level before I realized I was supposed to press 'Escape').

mkghoster says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:12pm

The colliders could be set up more carefully, but overall, nice little game :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]