Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Boolean Differences

by ruchirbapat - Compo Entry

Boolean Differences is a short yet difficult 3D platformer where you take on various forms i.e. a cube, capsule and sphere, and you must "shapeshift" between the forms to beat the level and move to the next one.


This game was made by Ruchir Bapat for Ludum Dare 35 Compo in less than 13 hours.

Controls: Use WASD and arrow keys to move, and the spacebar to jump. Hold spacebar for a charged jump. Use Z to turn into a sphere. Use X to turn into a capsule. Use C to turn into a cube.

Your objective is to touch the yellow "win" so you can progress through the levels.

P.S. This is the first game I've ever made and this is also my first Ludum Dare! =)

NOTE:
I am 14 years old as of 2016.
There are a few bugs, and I know that they exist and I'm trying my best to fix them.
Player mechanics and movement are intentional so as to add a twist to the 3D platformer.

I made this in less than 13 hours.


WHAT I USED:
==================================================================
1. Visual Studio Community 2015
2. Unity Personal Edition 5.3.2f1
3. MonoDevelop
4. Adobe Photoshop CC
5. Autodesk Maya 2016
6. Blender
7. Soundation and BFXR
==================================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#463Theme3.36
#581Humor1.86
#777Mood2.11
#798Innovation2.52
#815Fun2.54
#894Overall2.51

Comments

CoderCameron says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:10am

Really good concept, with fun gameplay. A good game overall, especially for a first entry. My only complaint is that movement is a little too fast.

ogre says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:49am

Movement is way too twitchy, nearly impossible to control. Should be slower, keys should accelerate your object smoothly rather than zooming around.

makiki99 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:50am

Good idea and good use of theme, but controls are horrendous.

hijomo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:54am

I had a bunch of fun jumping on the bottom of the platforms, cool idea

Linver says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:55am

Close to unplayable - very fast movement(Do you use time.deltaTime?) and unlocked Z movments in RigidBodies.. and so small platform..
But I finished all levels :D

Willsr71 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:05am

The controls are mildly infuriating. Also there is occasionally some left over velocity when respawning.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:37am

Working on fixing the controls now.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:24pm

*very* difficult, the physics system doesn't seem to work properly, acceleration is crazy.

This could really work if, as Linver says, Z movement was locked.

Also on respawn, sometimes there's a continuous velocity which is bit odd.

All in all, nice concept, shame about the execution.

Templar3lf says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Are movement and physics separate, so that any physical movement incurred continues indefinitely, making input horrible to use? Interesting idea though.

akirassasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:25pm

The sphere tend to roll to a random direction?

Try constraining rigidbody rotations and reducing movement speed.

Yrasin says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:31pm

The controls where very hard. It seems like the velocity of the box/capsule/ball doesn't get reset when touching the ground. But a good theme!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:01pm

Thanks a lot @ruchirbapat. Its because of motivational people like you that helping we people improving towards gaming field.I wish someday our games also reach the IGN top list

Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:02pm

Thanks a lot ruchirbapat. Its because of motivational people like you that helping we people improving towards gaming field.I wish someday our games also reach the IGN top list

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Very sorry for all the bugs, this is the first game I have ever made. Will fix these ASAP (tomorrow)! =)

glaze_96 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:07pm

I don't need to say it too but I'm gonna.. It was super difficult because of the controls. Maybe put a rigidbody on the object and use rigidbody.AddForce(new Vector3(1, 2, 3)), instead?

I like the soundtrack though!

Hope to see you for the next compo =)

ThaRemo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:34pm

It's a little wonky, but fun non the less! Good job :)

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:14am

Thank you everyone for the feedback I appreciate it a LOT, it means a lot that people are giving back suggestions. I will fix these bugs to the best of my ability. =) until then peace out !!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:16am

@akiraassassin and @FloatingGhost I will fix those now. Ty for feedback. I have lowered speed of player now. =)

eeely says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:00am

;_; it's so hard
10/10

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:09am

@eeely thanks

pixlark says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:10am

Decent game, but a few problems. The Z axis is unlocked, so it's very easy to fall off the side without doing anything wrong.

The capsule and the sphere have movement besides the controls, which means that when you try and control it, it still rolls away which is annoying.

Finally, the camera is way too zoomed in, you can barely see anything around you.

If you use just the square, it's a decent platformer, but the capsule and the sphere have too bad controls to be fun.

strife47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:13am

Cannot download the Windows version

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:15am

do you mean i should lock rotation or position on the rigidbody's z axis @pixlark

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:18am

Interesting concept, but the physics and the camera just make it impossible to play! Otherwise nice game!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:23am

@strife47 try again, i fixed the dropbox issue

RadMcCool says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:26am

pretty neat game, change a variable or two and its even better. well played.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27am

@RadMcCool thank you

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:27am

@XtremePrime @pixlark im working on the camera issue now

rantt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:31am

Cool concept, controls were a little twitchy for my taste. Most of the time I just stayed in the cube shape since you can jump high enough to get around most obstacles and you don't roll off the edge from the really quick acceleration. Anyway, very challenging, I enjoyed it, nicely done.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:34am

@rantt Thanks, I appreciate it!

strife47 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:36am

It's really hard, it has no visual feedback for the up platforms (like a shadow right below). I liked the music.
Also you can delete the pdb files and the rar will be a less weight in Mb.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:37am

thank you for the feedback i will do the pdb thing, @strife47

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

Good game, but if the movement speed was a little slower it would have been better.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:18am

@Hankenstien thanks for playing! Although i did lower the speed many times, but ok

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:20am

Fun to play, good use of shapes :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23am

Neat that you are getting into Game Development! Just have a couple recommendations for you. (Also, thanks for rating my first 2D Game, "Mass Squire"). I do a lot of 3D work, and so far I've been a little disappointed with 3D submissions having little/no texturing or use of materials + lighting. I love the game concept you have here, and would love to see the same kind of idea, but restrained in the Z-Axis, with 3D backdrop and texturing, maybe you could make a theme like an old factory, etc where all the moving objects tie in with the theme. Still, for 24hours, a good game! You should keep working on it and make it something much more!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52am

@BattleReadyGames thank you very much and I will definitely take your suggestions into account! =)

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Pretty pleasant experience! The concept is fun, did you tone down the difficulty? I could finish it without problems as stated in the previous comments, so that is good~

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:33pm

yes i did tone down the difficulty after people asking me to reduce the speed of player =) thanks for playing @Chikoness

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:34pm

@ogre sorry to disappoint this is my first game, but i did make some changes you can play again if you dont mind

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:30pm

This was a lot of fun and it looked very good. The twitchy controlling actually gave it an extra level of unusual challenge. Great work for your first compo!

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Good game!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:55pm

@Calmkai and @Allthebees Thank you very much for playing and the positive feedback! =)

iapc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:01pm

Fun game, movement of sphere really awkward.

Populous90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:13pm

horrible controls but painfully fun >.<

pdonegan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:46am

Difficult game but I enjoyed it! Good concept and fits the theme well

Jungle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:01am

Very cool game, very hard to ehhehehee. If you had created shadows to show even the player where it should jump think it would look better.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:14am

@Jungle ty for feedback

rjhelms says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:21am

Not bad for a first crack at game development - keep at it!

This would be really nice with controller support - the movement actually already works with it using Unity's default getAxis or whatever, so it wouldn't be too hard to implement it the rest of the way.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:51am

thanks @rjhelms

funisfun8 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:26am

Movement is a bit hard to control. But the mechanics are fun and I enjoyed it.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:01am

@funisfun8 thanks for playing and the feedback! the movement thing is intentional for an added twist on an otherwise dull platformer

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:52am

The is very hard from first place. The concept is cool but I think you can make some improvements, like stright shadow, and fixing capsule phycics.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Nice idea, but the actual gameplay is pretty glitchy! Nice work for the time spend

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:42pm

Good idea but the ball is unplayble. keep working and good luck :)

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:55pm

Came here from my game Crush Your Friends, and to be honest this is pretty good stuff, I agree though with the comments on the controls, while not really bad, the perspective chosen makes it tough to get the shapes through the holes. I liked the music, and the graphics, while simple, worked for the game quite nicely! And your only 14?! puts me to shame, good work :)

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:19pm

Wonderful for a first game. Much better then my first entry :)

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:08am

Rather than tell you what everyone else has already said over and over again.I will say that as a first game goes this is not a bad one. It has a simple concept and its well implemented. The music is really good and doesn't become annoying. I would continue to develop this game further once the voting has been completed.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:50am

Not bad for a first game! Keep the scope down, and keep going!

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:56am

@josefnpat thank you! i will definetly keep improving this game!

Teke says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Movement is too difficult, but i like it!

whitephoenix says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Pretty awesome but the movement is super hard to control.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Good Game ! Nice jump !
you can test my game here !
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90478

OrangePop says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Pretty good for a first time. Most people seem to be talking about the controls, which I also found to be the most frustrating aspect. But pretty good for first time! Separating the keys for shapeshifting was a good design choice. Over all I think it was a good first attempt! Keep going, man!

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Pretty good, but I never needed the oblong sphere.
A charge gauge for the jump would be nice.
Also, one level I beat and it just reset me.

NaKolenke says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:26pm

Though first i wanted not to criticize your entry too much, due to your age, later i decided to be more honest, so you would new what is wrong and imvprove your skill, as for now i think this will be much better use for you as a game developer.

The game, is too short, so the gameplay couldn't be fully tested. The level is built in such a way that no shapeshifting is really needed. I won't say much about the controls, as i understand that your coding skills are quite poor yet. The graphics... well, there are none. And the cycled short beat nearly drove me crazy, so i turned the sound off soon. So, the camera choice is awkward as you should understand that this perspective isn't really the best for a 3d platformer. Actually, there are not much games in which such a perspective really worked. So, though this is your first game, and i am really glad for you as you enter the majestic world of gamedev, i must warn you that before you will make something at least decent, you will have to learn a lot of stuff, and this takes much longer than a month or two. So, good luck with you beginnings, hope to see your much improved skills in August.
And move on, i am looking forward to see some great stuff from you.

Mordokay says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:00am

The concept is good. I would make the movement better cause it gets really frustrating to always miss a ball through the holes. Overall a good first game. Keep it up :)

swiddledee says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:12am

Seems like a cool concept, adds some depth to the traditional platformer. Cannot for the life of me though that I cannot get past the first obstacle.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:04pm

The idea is very nice, but controls made it very hard to play. It was almost impossible to jump upwards through a hole, because I could not tell from where I need to jump. As others said, you really need to lock movement to one plane (disable changing Z coordinate). It would remove the issue. Another option is place the light source exatly on top, so players could use shadows to see from where they need to jump.

Also, it looks kinda impolite to advertise your game in comments to another games. I've seen your comments on other games twice, and they both contained "plz play my game here: http://ludumdare.com/blahblah".

charstar56 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:49pm

nice game buddy

abuzreq says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:33pm

The idea is good and could be extended with even more interesting shapes .
the controls though are a bit hard to master.
some times the ball would drift to the edge and fall even if I am not pressing any thing (a result of physically simulating everything , instead some hard coded rules can prevent this)

Could have helped a lot if a shadow of the shape(or any other indicator) was drawn on the place where I will fall
as it was hard sometimes to predict that.

May 5, 2016 @ 3:44am

very fun. :-) I love the crazy jumping, the pixel death, and floors with holes in them that you can't jump through.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:56pm

Good use of the theme. I also recommend to adjust the controls. Good work :)

Louspirit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Good job for your first game ! Nice music and visuals. It was possible to get around the obstacles sometimes :) (Keep this secret but it is possible in my game too).
To make the game less difficult (hard to jump through walls, rolling off platform) you could add visual indications like shadows, lights...

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]