Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Little Girl

by adamprack - Compo Entry

How horrible! A poor, defenseless little girl has been locked away! Her captors are cruel and under orders to keep her imprisoned--or dead. Perhaps they weren't wrong to lock her away, though. She seems to house a dark, wildly powerful secret underneath her innocent appearance.

Help the little girl skip her way to freedom by unleashing a hellish phantom from within, but don't let it consume her life.

Little Girl is a dark, atmospheric action game where quick, merciless kills are the name of the game, and balance is the way of life. It features a fully-interactive soundtrack, morphing gameplay types, and a perfectly innocent, shape-shifting demon of a lead character.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.43
Coolness56%
#10Mood4.24
#19Overall4.10
#20Graphics4.41
#21Theme4.28
#92Fun3.76
#395Innovation3.21

Comments

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:28am

The graphics looks pretty amazing. Nice mood too.

Halleflux says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:38am

Amazing job! The art, sound, and gameplay are impressive, to say the least. I feel like the controls were slightly clunky at times, and I died at several points without really knowing why, but those issues weren't too significant.
Easily a contender for one or more first places. Well done!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:03am

I mostly enjoyed playing this, i liked the mood and graphics were top notch. Audio to me was good but.. well not my personal taste.
Innovation however, you've asked to be judged on it but i dont see how this game has Innovated so its a 1 star sorry. Might want to consider taking that out next time.
Overall, one of my top pics for the Compo

the31 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:41am

Wow, that's amazingly well-polished! Great graphics and impressive audio.

Some small issues I had with it though: The ending seemed kinda abrupt, and I didn't understand why I would want to press a button to fall faster--it seemed like I was falling just fine without it. Small things, though!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:47am

Really enjoyed this one. Excellent flow, music, and graphics. The attack/shift mechanic was really satisfying. Nice!

Would love your thoughts on my game -- Tito's Revenge
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

namrog84 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:50am

double jumping areas seem extra difficult or im just not doing it right. took me forever to get past the first 2 areas that needed double jump, also spooky! i liked it!

Dia6lo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:30am

Great gameflow. Completed game in one breath.

mactinite says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:45am

This was awesome. One of my favorites so far. Super polished. Obviously could be better with more mechanics. Maybe a Abe's Odyssey type game.

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:55am

@the31 Thanks! The quick-fall is really useful for ambushing enemies and closing the gap between you and them quickly!

stephenhaney says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:24am

Amazing polish. Really loved the graphics and sound! Your game definitely stands out. One note, it's hard to play without a mouse (using a laptop trackpad). If I could shapeshift with a keyboard control instead of right click it would help a lot.

Overall, quite fantastic! Nice work.

adamprack says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:29am

@stephenhaney Thanks a lot! I opted out of all-keyboard because I was afraid of hitting keyboard hardware limits for some users. But, of course, that creates the opposite problem for laptop users. I hope you get a chance to play through it with a mouse!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:41am

Have you seen my bear Tibbers? :3

The monster controls well -- the jumping slash was a good move. Nice atmosphere and music.

I was lucky that in that high-security lab, all the elevators were unlocked. :P

GAFBlizzard says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:10am

I forgot to mention, having checkpoints was great.

Katamori says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:52am

Beatiful, a bit addictive and truly atmospheric! Nice job!

UncleChris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Very cool game play - and awesome use of environment to help with tutorial. I have seen that a few times this ludum dare and I like it.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:33pm

Interesting game. Wish there had been a few more mechanics, after the first level the other two just felt like rinse-repeat. Nothing new or more challenging compared to the tutorial.

Was also hoping for a big boss battle or something at the end! But that 48 hours really flies by, huh?

brainybeard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:00pm

Well this is a great game! Loved the simplicity of the awesome mechanics. Really satisfying to turn into the monster and do damage!

MurderPunch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:53pm

Really dig the art style here! The game mechanic is pretty great too. I think this'll be a great little platformer with a little more time thrown into the controls.

Thirsty says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:04am

Kept falling in that lava trying to jump all of them at once... finally gave up and did it one at a time.

Nice game!

broknecho says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18am

What an awesome entry! The mood really sold it. Pretty tight controls overall. Everything felt pretty tight. Very impressive for a COMPO entry!

Great job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:18pm

Really interesting game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/KyB-5ZqWXwk

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:59pm

Very nice graphics and mood. Well done!

icefallgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:59pm

Great job... the way the audio interacts with the action is superb. As are all the subtle touches of polish everywhere. One of the most impressive entries I've seen so far!

RafaSKB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:00am

Great visual effects, awesome creativity with the character. This is a great implementation of the theme! :)

adamprack says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:40am

Thanks everyone so far for all the wonderful comments and feedback!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:47am

please - make more - this was my favorite game so far - just spectacular

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:15am

Wow! The audio in this game is very well done. I really like the dynamic effect when you transform. Great job!

Sanka-X says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:16pm

Nice polished game. Love the audio especially the add sound when u shift. Nevertheless I think its lacking a game mechanic associated with the little girl form (like enemy cant shoot you, but you cant pass through them or a wider angle of view for planning your way) because without it s breaking de flow of progression for nothing (waiting for the bar refill for the next jump/enemy its kind of frustrating).

Nomys_Tempar says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Well done, the mood is very great, graphics too !

Karl Schmidt says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 4:39am

Nice work! I had to go find a mouse since this was unplayable with a laptop trackpad :( (at least a mac one) I felt like I didn't have a good handle on the controls even with the mouse. (While shapeshifted, it just felt out of control and random. Maybe that was the intention) The effects were nice and the sounds while shapeshifted were also a nice touch.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]