Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Scientist clicker

by kariamoss - Jam Entry

Scientist clicker is a clicker-like game.
You incarnate a scientist, his role is to discover all the evolution of life thanks to a brand new machine.
We implement a lot of features so you can play without get bored !
Hope you'll like it.

The game is entirely in C++, with the SFML graphic library.
This is our first LudumDare, and we are a group of five students.


Thanks to your feedback we manage to add the dll files that where missing, and also add a Linux version of the game! Enjoy :)

Fix :
-Bug on stats solved.
-The game do not get stuck anymore after the 2nd reset.
-Ending message displays correctly

Linux users : you may will have to install the sfml package :
sudo apt-get install libsfml-dev

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#157Humor(Jam)3.40
#168Graphics(Jam)4.04
#199Overall(Jam)3.64
#224Mood(Jam)3.55
#246Audio(Jam)3.42
#294Fun(Jam)3.40
#483Theme(Jam)3.42
#738Innovation(Jam)2.82

Comments

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

this game is pretty fun, i like the art and music
play and rate my game here:http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

XtremePrime says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59am

Awesome game, the animations are pretty cool!

TeamKawaiiju says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:23am

This is a great cookie clicker-esque game! its really well polished and the graphics are super charming. i have a weakness for cookie clickers so i thought this was really fun got to the turtle before my hand started hurting but will probably let it run in the background just to see how far it goes. -also eff that buttton

TTFTCUTS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:51am

The little "next page" arrow was a bit hard to see - I missed it for a while. Also the button seemed to just leave the program unresponsive first time round. Fun game :)

Soron says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:03am

Aw, no Linux build (nor even a .sh file in the source) :(? But you have Tux in your credits screen...

Somnium says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:08am

When I try to start the game, I get an error that the file "libgcc_s_sjlj-1.dll" is missing on my computer.

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

congrtulations ! nice work !

monaarc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09am

Very nice game, i like the references in the name of the two scientists :)
Art and music are cool, very good work !

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:11am

I got the gcc library error mentioned above and also one about missing a standard C library or something.

psychomonster says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:21am

Very hypnotic gameplay ... great artwork. Nice entry!

B0pt1K says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:37am

I don't usually enjoy playing clicker games, but I really liked this one.. perhaps it's the scientist in me. The graphics and the whole sort of story within the game is brilliant.. but why do I love pushing red buttons...

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:42pm

Still having trouble with missing DLLs after the new upload. Also, you CAN change the link. Go to the Ludum Dare front page; there's an Edit link in the widget that shows your game and how many ratings you have.

CluelessGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:05pm

This is a really good entry, though simple in concept you guys packed a lot of polish and detail into the game which is well appreciated, well done! I hope to see more of you guys for the next ludum dare :)

Aredhele says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:24pm

What an amazing game ! The concept is really basic but you managed to make this clicker very fun. I played about 5-10 minutes without realizing it ;)

But ! You monsters :'( That red button, I definitively knew it was a bad idea to press the button, but I couldn't resist to the temptation :""""(

I mean, I'll play again in "try hard mode" without directly pushing this button !


Oh I forgot to give my opinion, graphics and musics are really good, good job to all of you ! It's difficult to think it's the first LD of a little group of student, really impressive !

erikkire says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Everybody likes clickers. Dont press the red button!

Remicy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56pm

Awesome game!!!!! I really enjoy it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:08pm

This was a cute idea, well done!

Chikoness says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Interesting game, love the art and music, but my game crashed on the 5th evolution lol!

ranmaru90 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:13pm

This game looks so polished!

kariamoss says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:19pm

The .dll problem is solved and a Lunix version is available! Thanks for all your comments!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:40pm

Great Job. Everything was pretty smooth. It also all looks fantastic. I got really confused when I was at 1000... whatever they were... that a "B" showed up after the number. I wondered how I made it to 1 billion things already. Other than that, I liked it. Clicker games are a certain kind of fun haha.

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Wow good game that is very polished I love music and graphics, really, congratulations boys / girls.

exhidor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:09pm

Nice game, very good idea ! great job ! You can be proud of you ;)

Ayawaska says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:46pm

I knew beer was important for evolution!
Turns out I really shouldn't push the button as the game bugged (played on the fix)

Darenn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:51am

Good job !

APantaloni says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:24pm

Graphically is great and the music is nice. I'm not really a fan of clicker games but this is a very well done one.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:02pm

I like clicker games because I can just whip out my robotic game clicker arm while I have a coffee. A fun game with a good atmosphere :)

After I press the red button the explosion animation stays on screen during the next game. Whoops.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:02am

Super addicting

kariamoss says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:07pm

We tried to fix the bug of the reset, It works but infortunately only for the first reset, the others resets, the animation is blocked for few seconds and then disapear, but it's otherwise, the game won't block anymore, it' only visual

Thanks for supporting us with your comments it's nice to see that you enjoy the game :)

Somnium says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:27pm

I gave it a try again, after the dll was fixed, and it works for me now.

It is a charming clicker-game, and the amount of details in the animations is impressive :) Also, the different substances for improving science are quite funny!

hadesfury says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:13am

Good game ... keep on

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:38am

This is quite well done. I'm not usually a fan of incremental games, but I enjoyed this one.

Wan says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:27am

A solid and polished incremental game. The attention to visual details is impressive!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:20am

Nice clicker game. Really enjoyed the diverse UI and statistics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]