Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Extanation

by Fake Unicorn - Jam Entry

This stylish sidescroller that sends you into a acid-cyberpunk adventure!

Controls:
WASD - control character
Spacebar - Jump
Right mouse button (hold) - aims
Left mouse button - shoot
E - enemy control, aiming at

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#81Graphics(Jam)4.31
#378Audio(Jam)3.18
#511Mood(Jam)3.14
#686Humor(Jam)2.13
#877Overall(Jam)2.88
#1007Innovation(Jam)2.37
#1019Fun(Jam)2.45
#1108Theme(Jam)2.00

Comments

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:28am

Cannot play! It says it's missing the Extanation_Data folder.

WeirdMind says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:44am

Cant play it too. Unity Games need the *game*Data-Folder and its missing here :(

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:32pm

The graphics are very nice, but I did not understand what I needed to do, I just crunched behind a box, but I was not able to shoot and then the robots killed me. Also the game did not restarted I needed to refresh the page.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:52pm

Goog-looking hand-drawn graphics but buggy controls.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Nice handpainted cyperpunk-style graphics. But unrelated to the theme.

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:13pm

The graphics was VERY nice. The setting is also amazing, and so is the mood.

Once I figured out controls, the game became interesting.

But a tutorial would be nice. At least, add the controls to game description. Lost of people seem to be confused about them.
Also, make camera float ahead of character, so players can see enemies before it's too late.

Good job overall. Again, graphics is amasing.

Btw, what the left building does?

P.S.
@confused_people HERE ARE THE CONTROLS
* WASD/Arrows - move.
* Space - jump.
* Right mouse button (hold) - raise your gun (aim with mouse).
While holding RMB you can:
* Left mouse button - shoot.
* E - mind-control an enemy (only when you aimed your gun at him).

DifferentName says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:21pm

I love the graphics, and I get running out of time to do a tutorial, but I have no idea why you wouldn't include information about how to play in the description. I guessed that maybe i could walk with WASD, pressed D and got shot dead and couldn't figure out how to restart (I know now that Esc lets you restart).

Thanks to HolyBlackCat I was able to play for a bit, but I still die so easy that I don't think I understand how to play. I controlled a couple robots but don't understand how to use them. One that I mind controlled got close to me and then I seemed to lose control as it just kept shooting at me until the timer ran out and my shield dropped.

siryakko says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:43pm

Love the concept and realization, the controls need some fine tuning and i'm searching the link to the theme

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:48pm

Fantastic art, and nice use of parallax scrolling to make things that much more epic.
I think you could tweak the camera a bit to make it more user-friendly -- perhaps either keep it always centered on the character or even have it off center so that the player can more more in the direction they're facing. For a game where you can die easily, that would help a lot.

eemmbbeerr says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:40pm

The art is wonderful but the controls (and the theme connection) could use a tad more polish.

A333 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Looks like it's almost inspired by Josan Gonzalez' cyberpunk universe. Nice drawn and well animated. Music is great too.

However, there's almost no theme connection, you are often dying without any visible reason, and controlling robots is useless.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Wow graphics really nice!!

siczecheg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:31pm

cool, very sophisticated and complex gameplay

randomhuman says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:38pm

Great art style, I love it! I got to control two enemies, but neither were in any position to do anything unfortunately. Then I got to the top of the building and there didn't seem to be a way to proceed? Good overall anyway, aside from a few problems that others have mentioned.

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:44pm

The art style is gorgeous, but the gameplay is a bit frustrating with collision bugs and camera that lags behind the character. Lack of muzzle flash is also odd especially since the rest of the graphics are great.

retrograze says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:47pm

I would love the game...if there were any game to it. The artwork is amazing, but the mouse aiming kept desyncing, the robots in the building got stuck together, and I didn't really see the point in hijacking a robot if you couldn't kill other robots with it.I got killed without seeing what robot was killing me, and since all it takes is one shot to die, I had no way of avoiding it except to keep shooting offscreen and hoping I hit something. The sound design is great, but I think you forgot to loop the main soundtrack, becuase it just cut out on me about a minute in. I would love this game. Just fix the bugs.

neondx says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:55pm

died soon, and it's good, but for that kind of gameplay, a restart button would have been great

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:15am

Graphic is fantastic! Looks like comics book or somepthing. Can't see strong connection with theme, it's not shape shifting, it's more like soul-taking! =) But still good entry overall.

lumscum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Really enjoyed the graphics! I didn't quite understand what to do with the enemy control ability though... also the game doesn't seem to restart after you die!

Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:52pm

Gorgeous graphics, and with a soundtrack that really laid down the mood. Unfortunately, the gameplay really didn't live up to that level. People above me have detailed most of the bugs I experienced, so I won't cover that, but I'd recommend getting more programming help for the next time you want to take part, it's a shame to not see the world the graphics and audio belong to not be fully realised...

ThommazK says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Awesome graphics, but there are some things to consider:
— I didn't understand how to control the robots, I kept pressing E when I was told to and nothing would happen;
— The camera is hiding enemies, I was shot before I got to see who killed me;
— There are some bugs that killed the mood for me, for example, my gun suddenly stopped shooting and I don't know what caused that. Since it's a jam entry, that's ok, but you might want to give it a check;

Aside from these matters, I think you really should give this some further polishment, it has a lot of potential.

solkar says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Two buttons to shoot seems like a very counterintuitive controls. Environment artwork is great.

bradur says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Good looking game with nice music. Too bad it wasn't very related to the theme and quite incomplete.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:05am

The aiming is off, there is no restart button, the enemy control doesn't work, things like this. This game has a lot of issues, and it really isn't very good in it's current state. The only thing going for it is the graphics.
If you come back and overhaul a lot of the issues, this might be a great game. But as it is, I'm going to rate it low.
Except the graphics. Those were nice.

MSiddeek says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 8:37am

Graphics and animation look absolutely stunning. Audio was very effective as well. However the game mechanic (being able to control robots) wasn't utilized enough. I think there's more that you could have done with that. Good job! And keep up the good work!

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Great looking game, some instructions what to do would be nice though. Couldn't figure out what is the benefit of controlling the robot

Rock Eaters says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:32pm

Nice Graphics and good mood !

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:21pm

I played the post jam, and you fixed most of issues I had. Now it's a lot better than it was before (don't worry, i'm not changing my rating. It was post). One more thing I would suggest is autosaving every time you enter a new floor.

fin_nolimit says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:23pm

The graphics completely rocked but I could not figure out what to do. I read through all the comments and that helped which made the game a ton more fun! nice work!

Kovalsky says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 7:25pm

Great atmosphere and soundtrack. If you fix some problems with control we get a very good game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]