Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Plato and the 'Caves

by qu2 - Compo Entry

[EDITS]
1) The game isn't terribly well memory optimised (the map and some textures are quite big). If you get an error trying to run the web version, try the download instead, which should run much smoother.
2) On that note. The WebGL version can be quite laggy. The Windows/Linux versions should be much smoother.
3) Windows download no longer has pdb files and is therefore much smaller.
4) Slight update to fix a typo and extend the time for certain messages. Original submissions can be downloaded from http://john-mark.qu-2.com/LD35/ (they are v.0.11)
[/EDITS]

Plato is a 'vex. A convex shape with multiple personalities: Oedipus, Artemis, and Hera.

Plato wandered into the land of the 'caves -- a nefarious bunch of shapes.

Plato got lost.

Night fell.

Plato must escape.

[EDIT] This should have been made clearer in the interface, but you morph by clicking the "morph" bar at the bottom of the game screen (or pressing space) [/EDIT]


Plato and the 'Caves is a semi-turn based Roguelike. Each playthrough has an entirely new map. By tactically switching between his personalities, each with different abilities (and judicious use of bombs), Plato must find his way out of the land of the 'caves.

I hope you all have fun with Plato (Oedipus, Artemis, and Hera). I had so much fun making this.

Tested on windows only, your mileage may vary on other platforms.
You can play on Mac OSX by downloading the source (assuming you have Unity installed).

If you notice anything wrong with my submission, please do let me know. I'm a first-timer!

Tools:
+ Engine: Unity
+ Art: Inkscape and Krita
+ Audio: Audacity
+ Music: Bosca Ceoil

Fonts (all under the Open Font Licence, see links for details):
+ Beon Regular (https://fontlibrary.org/en/font/beon)
+ Station (https://fontlibrary.org/en/font/station)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness99%
#205Humor2.95
#303Theme3.62
#375Mood3.05
#398Audio2.84
#497Graphics2.96
#563Overall3.10
#621Innovation2.87
#686Fun2.80

Comments

MrDave says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:08am

First I should say I love the personalities you have given to these shapes. I think you have put quite a lot of clever tech into the game. I hope it does well!

arhpositive says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:11am

This is a good entry. All three forms have advantages and disadvantages, but I kinda disliked Artemis because of the bad line of sight. Hera is good for getting out of tough positions but you lose a good amount of health in the process.

Overall, it's a good game. It can be improved by more levels (instead of one) and can benefit from different color palettes for these levels. Keep up the good work!

sirtetris says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:20am

Damn those question marks. :D -1 morph, -1 health, decreased your vision ...
I like the story and game idea, but I couldn't keep my the motivation for very long.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:58am

got this message :/ "The browser could not allocate enough memory for the WebGL content. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating less memory to your WebGL build in the WebGL player settings."

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:06am

I couldn't figure out how to change shape

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:26am

First try i spawned 2 fields from ladder i escaped.

Nice game cool idea, hard AI sometimes.

pathus22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:03pm

the best thing of the game is the sfx jajaj GREAT

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:23pm

Really love the concept, and the different characters. I think the random moving enemy which doesn't stop is a little frustrating as you sometimes don't have time to morph which reduces the effectiveness of that tactic. Also I'm not really sure what the pickups do, but I'm hooked so will find out soon enough :)

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Good fun rougelike-lite game. It was quite confusing how to use the shapeshifting abilities though, and once I did figure it out, it was a bit clunky when those real-time movers got close, as you had no time to shapeshift.

Either way. I enjoyed playing it, and that's what really matters.

Tharky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:50pm

Sounds were so awesome :D Good entry, I liked the game but UI felt a bit clunky. Other than that it was kinda hard like all the other roguelites out there :D Cool game man.

zugende says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:12pm

nice sounds :D but the controls were a bit confusing .. haha :D

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:06pm

I found it quite humorous when i heard you make the sound effect...
Also nice randomized map, it's something i always struggle with so good job with that.

csimpsonweb says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:54pm

This is a very cool entry, the sfx are awesome!!

Tegu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:36pm

I managed to escape!

I like how the different shapes seem to have different personalities. The enemies had aso nice variation. Especially interesting was that movement of the arrow-ish enemy was not restricted to turns. The hardest enemy was the one that seeked into you. I always feared to see it. :D Sometimes it simply followed you parallel instead of running into you, which gives more room for tricks. However, killing it with bombs still turned out to be quite difficult.

The graphics are consistent and the music along with the sound effects set the mood well.

I haven't really used Unity, but according to this post the .pdb files are just debug information and don't need to be included. http://ludumdare.com/compo/2016/04/18/psa-a-couple-quick-distribution-tips-for-people-that-use-unity/

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:31pm

@Tegu. Thank you for the feedback and advice. I've updated the download file to remove the pdbs.

Rakowu says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:55pm

nice work, good user interface and logic of the game. :)

Idorrac says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:34pm

I really like the sound effects and music! The sound effects are funny and the music creates a nice atmosphere. The idea of switching between characters with different powers is also quite good. In the end I mostly used Oedipus, as Artemis had really narrow vision and Hera could push enemies around but still at the cost of health (and honestly I often got crushed myself with Hera, but that is my bad! :D ).

Jin47 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:58pm

I liked the Idea to give different skills and field of view to each characters. I had fun playing it and the story is great and add interest in the game.

justinooncx says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:30am

Pretty interesting roguelike! Rather difficult to get a hang of, though, with some things being unclear. For instance, the message that pops up when I pick up the bomb disappears too quickly.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:12am

Good game. The sounds were pretty annoying and weird though.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43pm

I could not, for the life of me, figure out how to get past the circle 'caves once they got within a few squares. It was fun just exploring around though.

qu2 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:03pm

@Empyrealhell. There are several ways, but you have to think about it. You can get them trapped behind walls, blow them up with bombs, or use Artemis to out-run them.

seizeTheDia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:18pm

Well that was really hard! I started twice in a corridor with one of the units that chase you and had no way to get out! :( Really funny characters, the audio fx made me lol multiple times, fun experience but I couldn't quite figure out what the benefits of shifting to the other shapes were.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:07pm

I think the core mechanic was neat, and this game was SUPER ambitious, which is always a good thing!
I did find it a bit disorienting when changing directions with the triangle character, due to the nature of the camera and 'flashlight'.
Fun sound effects!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:40am

Neat concept and it's always fun to see roguelike games. The controls felt a bit weird though. Overall, great effort.

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:52pm

This kind of needs a screen that shows how to transform.

lanestp says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:53pm

Fun roguelite I liked the different characters (Artemis sucks). I'm a sucker for this type of game (I also made a dungeon crawler), so good on ya!

fizzhog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:32am

Liked the gameplay. Will actually play this one more. Liked the music but some of the sounds got a bit wearing. Didn't take to the character sprites - they just didn't fit with the game for me.

HunGARE says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:15am

Love the idea! Great mechanics with the class shifting, and I thought the AI was very well done. Wasn't quite sure with the movement, but well done none the less.

Blobo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:52pm

This is a very well done dungeon crawler. i'm impressed at the AI system for just 48 hours, and the random generation is outstanding! the bombs seem pointless, for i'm being chased, i'm bookin' it out of there way before the bomb can damage the enemy.

FrameMatt says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Really enjoy it~

thedashdude says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 1:03am

I really liked the idea, but I don't think it worked out quite right. I encourage you to do more with it.

blaclegi says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 7:41pm

Good game! I really liked the concept (the different forms being... different) and the audio and graphics where nice. Good job!

zondarg says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 12:39am

Nice roguelike, but not easy.. these fast-movers are tricky! I liked the mouth-fx too :D

May 1, 2016 @ 8:05am

Interesting roguelike with the morphing mechanic. Liked how each morph had their own strengths and you'd have to decide which would work best at different opportunities. I did find Artemis vision a bit of a hassle but I guess that is part of the tradeoff.

frogcheese says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:27am

I like the idea with switching between characters in a roguelike, though I found that I mostly used Oedipus and switched to Hera if I got cornered.

Took me an embarrassing while to get the joke with 'Vex and 'Caves...

in3orn says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:03pm

I fully agree with the arphositive. Nice entry :)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]