Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Mutant Chicken Death Jam

by norseware - Jam Entry

Ever want to mutate (shapeshift) into a giant chicken and breath fire? Ever dream of throwing a dance party in space? Well now you can. Help Chicken fend for his life against endless waves of aliens by blasting them to pieces, and absorbing their toxic space ooze!

Our Team:
Thomas Knox (@norsewareorg: Code, Sound
Rohan Narang (@rohan_narang15): Art
David Rothans (@Darth_Davroth): Music


* "Mutate" == "Shapeshift"

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#98Fun(Jam)3.77
#128Audio(Jam)3.73
#146Humor(Jam)3.43
#150Graphics(Jam)4.08
#320Overall(Jam)3.48
#404Mood(Jam)3.27
#1007Innovation(Jam)2.37
#1065Theme(Jam)2.27

Comments

Qrr says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 7:10pm

This really feels like a game for a different jam. It is a solid twin stick shooter with a chicken-Hulk.

But there was no shapeshifting. Mutations, maybe.

Also. I see no reason for gun to have recoil. At least not that much.

Lastly I was waiting for the ranged enemy or boss, but there were none. Maybe I didn't go far enough. If I didn't - let me know.

All in all: solid game, with good controls, good art, but not for this jam.

SmallPhil says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 9:05pm

This is great! I think it starts a bit slow (before it gets to a good diffculty), but other then that, I love it!

kingofjohns says ...
Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:43pm

Great game though I had extreme difficulty playing on a laptop

Apr 17, 2016 @ 10:53pm

Little bit boring in beginning but after round 4 the difficulty is ok.

Theme: 0/5 it is more mutant theme.

More different types of Enemys would be nice (for example ranged)

Controlls and gameplay are good and musik is great.

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:07am

This is great! Looks great, feels great to play, and the audio in particular is excellent! Really enjoyed this and will likely play more of it.

nopogo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:44am

Took me a while to figure out you needed to walk over the ooze to pick it up. After that it was a blast :D When I first became "upgraded" the intensity level really intensified. Great game!

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:46am

The audio and graphics match each other really well, good fun game.

seitnerk says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14am

cool feeling with the audio and graphics.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:22am

A really solid jam entry, with enjoyable gameplay, a nice backing track, and nice pixel art under a retro TV filter!

The only thing I'd really suggest would be some type of animation for transforming. If you're not watching your ooze meter, it can take you by surprise!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Lovely graphics! Fun game. I included it in my video compliation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/NUKW4hicpYU

Xaychru says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:35pm

The game doesn't really follow the theme, but it's still fun to play. I got 21880 Points!

norseware says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:17pm

How did you get a score that high!?

JoeManaco says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:10pm

Aesome style.

jollyserpent says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Solid twin stick shooter, a bit too easy though. The scan lines effect works pretty well for the style.

virgate says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20am

Nice game, though it doesn't feel like it's tying into the theme enough. I would like to see this more developed.

Suddenlyzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:05am

I love score attack shooters like this. The first time I went into mega hulk chicken mode, I laughed a ton! Solid visuals and music sell it. I disagree with a lot of the comments; I think it fits the theme just enough. As much as a werewolf game would. Mostly I got digivolving vibes though :p

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:51am

I love the rage chicken mode with disco lighting! haha.. I had fun playing! Nice work

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:37am

Fun game! I didn't care for the SFX, but the visual style was great.

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:39am

Thanks everyone for your input. It feels really nice knowing that other's enjoy it :)

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:29am

Cool graphics and great gameplay! Great music as well, I love that title too. c:

megalukes says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:17pm

I see some of Splatoon in there. Amazing entry, I loved to play it. I wish there were more mutations and forms though.

Blobo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:16pm

This was pretty neat, but the mutation was used at an unnecesary time, and i felt like it was wasted, for i couldn't choose when to use it. the art was outstanding though!

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

That's a good point! If we decide to expand on this, that's definitely something we'll implement. Thanks :)

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:17pm

Nice little jam entry, solid twin stick shooter!

My only criticism was that the mutation / shapeshift always seemed to come up at a time where it was not useful

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:22am

Thanks for trying our game, we uploaded a version that should play now/better (includes the installer) - give it another go! I liked how funny your jam was. After the first fart sound effect, I had a feeling this was my kinda game. -t

Trickman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:23am

Nucl-... er... Mutant Thro-... uhm... Chicken is a solid shooting game. But as other say, it had little to do with the topic. Good gameplay, though.

Oh, please check out the music volumes. Headphone users get their ears imploded after the chicken transforms :V

MintArcade says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07am

This is one cool game! Sound and visuals are so great, love it!

CrazY says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:30pm

Awesome !!! The best entry I've played so far. The action starts a bit too slow i feel and Items or Upgrades would be great but otherwise its awesome!

blackoptics8 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Everything really fit nice together in the game. ;D The disco in the mutant mode was a really nice touch and lets the player know they actually entered that mode if they're just focusing on where the enemies are.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Fun little game, I liked the pixel art and the giant chicken. The music was excellent!

Ellian says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Didn't feel right in the theme, but well made nonetheless. Good work!
Sounds were terrible in a good way.

norseware says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:35pm

A lot of people are mentioning that this game does not fit with the theme. In part, you are correct. The definition of "shapeshifting" is to possess the ability to change form at will. If we were to simply allow the player to switch back and forth at will, it would reduce the "fun" factor. So, we went in this direction instead. But if you disagree, no harm, no foul. Thanks for playing!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:31am

Love the art. My one compliant is that the "beaming in" animation with the red beam looked dangerous and like something I had to dodge.

Broxxar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:55am

Really polished, slick graphics. Has a very "Vlambeer" feel to it.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:26am

Haha, solid! I am a chicken, and I shoot ooze. What more could I ask for! Nice graphics, nice controls, nice music and sfx! Great job!

Aaranos says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:27am

Clear level of polish on the game. My only complaint is the screen size is a bit constricting and made me worried I would walk into a spawn point and die.

leo_p_mahon says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:03pm

This is sick! Love the art. The art is amazing! The game works really well and is genuinely fun. The rounds could be a bit shorter as I found the first few easy and took a while for difficulty to ramp up! Still fantastic work. One of the best i've seen entered.

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Solid game. Love the animation style and music. Would be a good indie game with multiplayer maybe :)

Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:18am

I won't lie, I got bored quite quickly. But I liked the style and the chicken shifting terrified me.

Played briefly @ 2:32:40 : http://www.hitbox.tv/video/991443

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Sound fx are very cool! It's funny shooter game.
Congrats for your cool game!

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:21am

Very nice game. Tha pixel art is amazing, as well as the character design. The sound effects and music are really cool too.

TitoDiego says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 3:38am

Starts kind of slow, but it was pretty fun after level 3. The hulk'd up chicken was my favorite part and I only survived about 5 seconds on whatever that last level was, but that was intense! Good entry

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:27pm

Hi, nice game ! it's cool to move a chicken! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:05am

Very cool! Very well made. I would like to see an ammo supply, making it more difficulty as time progresses.

May 4, 2016 @ 3:10am

Nice polish, especially the little things like the scanline filter and shot particles in the menus.

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:09am

wow~! the particle also the scores ,great design,the shape shifting is so suprising and exciting!also the music is wonderful,espically the mainmenu music, listen it for a long time~ solid and cool entry! well done!

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 1:59am

I liked it, but I had to quit on level 5 because the mutant chicken would cause the game to freeze (i used the embed web game).
Very fun, though I could see the game getting boring quick because there was no further progression than "Kill monster with gun, become Mutant, repeat".

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]