Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

PolygonInvasion

by Xesin - Compo Entry

First of all, I would like to say that this is the first game I've made.

Story: the planet of the regular polygons is suffering an alien invasion by the evil irregular polygons. In order to sort this crysis out, the two most powerful nations (squares and triangles) join their forces to create their only salvation: a cyborg capable of tranform itself into these two races. The cyborg's mission is to destroy all the evil irregular polygons, and it will be able to da that only with your help.

Controls:
WASD to move.
e to switch shapes.
space to shoot.
esc to pause.

Have fun! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#149Fun3.61
#322Humor2.61
#370Overall3.32
#553Audio2.37
#683Theme3.00
#714Graphics2.54
#836Innovation2.39

Comments

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:09am

I got 9575 points :)
This is really fun, well done. But my god are the enemies in level 2 tough.
A couple of suggestions: 1) why not have the player auto-shoot, since there seems to be no reason to ever stop shooting? 2) Maybe vary the pitch of the sounds on each play, they'll get less repetitive that way.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:26am

Shooting is a bit too slow, and there doesn't seem to be much point to the shape shifting. I mostly stayed in square shape. :)

ziege says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:28am

This is fun. Especially the bossfight (didn't manage to get past second level, it is brutal).

josemwarrior says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04pm

This is very fun, I can't beat the Polygon Easter, is very hard!! But is one of the best game that I play so far. 5 stars

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:14pm

I love it! The Triangle is a bit overpowered! Managed to beat the boss with it :)

Just Tom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:23pm

The mechanics are down, it works as a bullet hell

I found myself jumping between shapes a lot though square held advantage vs. a boss, I Like the form switching :) a good strength.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:25pm

Very solid effort. The flow is good, which is key to a bullethell shooter. I was unable to get passed the first boss because I'm really not great at twitch games, but I did feel that the difficulty went from dead easy to OHMYGOD the moment the boss came on screen.

Given how fast you need to move, I didn't think that the square was viable. Maybe that's just me.

Excellent graphics, I really like the transition animation!

kostasvs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Looks well done for a first-time game, good job! I didn't really see much use for the square form, maybe it needs faster rate of fire to be useful compared to the triangle. Some music would do it good, you can't have a good infinite shooter without music!

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:15am

Some music and more enemies would be lovely, good job!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:08pm

Nice game, congrats for complete.

hpearson2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Score: 10,120

Triangle was much easier than square and didn't have much reason to switch. Audio was draining without music and repetitive shoot sounds. With all that said I liked it. It enc-operated shape shifting into the game and had bullet hell elements without being to crazy.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:25pm

I like the game. Some more enemies and player shapes would be great, but in general it's funny!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:41am

The most colourful Big Boss enemies I have ever seen.Its fun playing it reminds me old such space shooters games. Try to tweek your game mechanics else. Good work!

macronoid says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:10pm

That's quite enjoyable. I didn't like that much the regular enemies' attack, but the bossfight is really fun. Those patterns were classic but very well timed and shaped.

However, I didn't feel the need of changing shape. I think the higher speed of the triangle ship is a downside rather than an advantage.

Anyway, great job for a first game! congrats ;)

JuDelCo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 4:40pm

2nd "world" went CRAZY full of bullets impossible to dodge.

15000 ~ my score :P

Louspirit says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:33am

I made 6510. Congrats for your first game, it is such a great work. I really loved switching between shaped because they are perfectly balanced. The sounds, font, lazer speed are amazing.

Only advice, for next time please think of azerty keyoards.

Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:34am

I WOULD HAVE TO BE IN A CERTAIN KIND OF MOOD TO GET HOOKED TO THIS GAME: RAINY DAY NOWHERE TO GO. I HAD FUN AND IT WAS CHALLENGING

Yetikatt says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Fun game, didn't see any compelling reason to switch to the square though, it felt as though it didn't really make up for the lack of mobility. The boss fights nicely choreographed though, Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]