Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Fox Prince

by EighthNote - Jam Entry

I have made some post-jam improvements! The web player is the original LDJAM version; however, I recommend playing the improved version which can be found in the links section.

--IMPROVEMENTS--
(in the improved version)
- further view distance
- smaller hit box (easier to slip between rocks)
- better obstacle generation algorithm

Avoid the rocks! Press <spacebar> to change form. The fox can duck under logs and the prince can wade through streams. If you touch the bottom of the screen, game over!

Controls: wasd to move, spacebar to change form, r to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#514Theme(Jam)3.38
#946Graphics(Jam)2.54
#1005Mood(Jam)2.10
#1013Innovation(Jam)2.35
#1028Fun(Jam)2.42
#1082Overall(Jam)2.58
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:13am

Good Idea, If the shift was a little faster it would have been more fun

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43am

Cool idea! It sort of reminds me of an old Atari/Sega game that AVGN might review though.

kivlor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

I like the idea but streams and logs were too close together most of the time to switch before the next

Decentsauce says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47am

I like how the whole game moves. :) The main problem I have with this game is that you can't react fast enough to the obstacles because you can't see far enough in front of you(especially after you avoided object for some time and are closer to the front) and changing shape is a bit slow. Also if you hit an object in the center you can barely get away from it due to the stun which is kinda annoying. Also the game sometimes generates rock formations which are impossible to avoid. Sound effects would have been a nice.

tweedle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:52am

Man, this game can be tough! Really cool mechanic, but I wish I had a little more time to see what was ahead of me.
Nice use of the theme!

HeliosStudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:54am

the old infinite runner formula works well enough, and I really like the theme you chose, but it is unfairly hard because of screen space limitations.
Still i did enjoy my 2-3 runs, my highscore is 30 \(^o^)/

batmagus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10am

Cute concept. The difficult curve feels way too steep to me, especially the way the character moves closer to the top of the screen makes it impossible to react after you're a few seconds into the game. The hit detection also feels quite a bit off.

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:22am

I'm not sure I agree with Hankenstien. The delay when morphing isn't wholly negative.

It's easy to get frustrated with the delay in changing, but it creates situations where you are punished for not deciding sooner.

Given the simplicity of the game, I think that this is one of the only reasons it was engaging for any length of time. xD

I see where the comment is coming from, but it's one of those "careful what you wish for" situations.

Given you had time to iterate on this, I figure the decision to keep the transformation delay was deliberate. :3

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:25am

I disagree with Hankenstein. Given the simplicity of the game, the morph delay was one of the only things that kept the game engaging.

It's easy to get frustrated with it, but I'd say it's a "be careful what you wish for" situations, because the game wouldn't sustain my interest for as long as it did without it. That said, it's also probably the reason I stopped playing.

Probably a miss-step for the genre, but it added to the fun in the short term.

wboqm says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:09am

Would've liked to be able to weave between the obstacles (rocks), rather than just getting trapped even though you might expect to be able to escape.

Casey Jordan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Oh! wboqm is right! Colliding with a rock should push you to the edge of the rock, that would create a natural weaving behavior.

Hitting a rock is still punished (because you are moved lower on the screen), but it adds a negative feedback loop.

Maybe this only happens as the fox.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Quite simple game, but clever usage of the shapeshifting theme. Good work.

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:51pm

soooooooooooo addicting!! and hard! lol... very awesome job!

EighthNote says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 4:15pm

thanks for all the feedback, everyone!

iossif says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:24pm

i liked it but a few tweaks may make it even better. a slightly larger view or smaller hitboxes... just something that gives the player a bit more wiggle room.

James Coote says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:19pm

Neat little idea.

I think sometimes the random spacing of the rocks meant it was very difficult to avoid them, especially given the speed at which I was running.

Related to that, like others have said, I also found the delay in transforming a little jarring. Reason being that sometimes, I'd have to do two or three changes in quick succession, so close as to make surviving impossible. That's the kind of "difficulty" where it's not really the player's fault or even the player's lack of quick reactions that is more frustrating than fun.

I did start to get the hang of it though the more I played, so maybe just a case of being too difficult at the start / not ramping up difficulty as it goes on?

Spotline says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:59pm

Nice idea and setting ! The fact that the more you win the higher your character is in the screen makes it quite frustrating though :( Also the random placement of rocks is sometimes really too random

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]