Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Chalkshifter

by Snowdrama - Compo Entry

If you like the game and want to drop more direct feedback hit me up on twitter!

@SnowdramaGames​

------------------------------------------
Description
------------------------------------------
You are a student at a high school, and you have decided to run for class president. There's a catch though, you have discovered you have the ability to shapeshift into other students! Using your newly discovered ability, you devise a plan, transform into your fellow students to help convince their friends to vote for you! Brilliant! Just don't get caught by the original!


------------------------------------------
Controls(These can be changed in the Unity Launcher)
Gamepad is recommended.
------------------------------------------
Keyboard:
Arrow Keys - Move.
Z - Ask Them to vote!
X - Gossip about other student's relationships.
A/S - Shapeshift into other students.

Xbox Controller:
Analog Stick - Move
Right Analog Stick - Aim your selection target
A Button - Gossip about other student's relationships.
X Button - Ask Them to vote!
LB/RB - Shapeshift into other students.

Tips:
* Use a notebook, trying to beat this the first time, took me forever because I forgot a lot of the relationships and ther were only 10 students. There's 30 students now and they each have some kind of relationship with each-other so gossip the HELL out of them.

* Gossiping with the character does not influence them! Make sure to ask them to vote! You will know because their name will turn green(but only if you're shapeshifted into the form that influenced them) After they get enough influence, they will have decided to vote for you and wear your campaign pin!


---------------------------------------
KNOWN BUGS
---------------------------------------
* Under EXTREMELY rare circumstances it's possible that you can't beat the game.

* Second analog doesn't work for the embedded no idea what's causing it, it works fine in the standalone versions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#124Innovation3.76
#279Humor2.73
#403Theme3.46
#436Graphics3.08
#673Overall2.96
#720Mood2.45
#861Fun2.40

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23am

Used a controller.

Love the art style. Movement feels nice. The school is small enough (yet still surprisingly large) that I don't get lost even though the view is quite zoomed in.

Good work, thanks for sharing it :)

PeachTreeOath says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26am

Well done with linking the whole thing together and not leaving out a student.

MattWoelk says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:26am

Really neat idea! The instructions were a bit confusing, but I got it eventually. ;)

Snowdrama says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:57pm

@HoldMeImScared Nice! Yeah I tried zooming the camera out, but the names and icons became hard to read.

@PeachTreeOath I was not oriinally going to use random studen generation but It ended up working better that way, I essentially create all the students first, and then all the relationships once I know all the students.

@MattWoelk Yeah I was going to fix the instruction page to add more clarification on how to win. I just had to spend last night doing bug fixes.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:14am

An ambitious theme for a LD, i think its nicely done but is a bit confusing to understand how you affect students (i mean if you are actually doing something positive for your postulation as president), so maybe a Status bar for them could be helpful. The moves are also a bit weird, in my humble opinion, not to push the students would make you feel normal instead of a harasser xD and would make it easier to play. You made a big map and lots of students, so i know you don't think small. Ambitious! Good Job.

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:31pm

An interesting idea. The graphics are a bit on the...crappy side I guess, but whatever :D

Jimbly says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Pretty neat! I couldn't see the score in the embedded version, unless I went full-screen (or full-screen twice - seems like have to full screen it from LD to be able to see the fullscreen button from itch.io... probably not your fault ^_^).

adsilcott says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:57am

A very original idea, and well implemented.

Udell Games says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:59pm

This is a really interesting use of the theme, I was very impressed with the originality of the whole thing. The instructions seemed to flash by in a second which made it very difficult to actually work out what I was meant to be doing, but once I got the hang of it, I found it quite fun being a manipulative sociopath.

I worry about what you might have awoken in me.

Snowdrama says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:36pm

@Andreas Brandt: I planned to fix that at some point, The instructions screen definitely needed more information or better context clues. The controls are actually super messed up in the LD version which I fixed later by not using variable velocity. Pushing the students around was a side effect of the NPC's using rigid-bodies and me having no idea how to handle the AI not walking through walls when set to kinematic rigid-bodies in the timeframe I had.

@gogo199432 Graphics were kinda an afterthought, Originally they were going to be pixel art, but I ran out of time to make enough variety so I changed the visual theme to be like chalk drawings on a chalkboard.

@Jimbly: Yeah I haven't used the UI system in Unity too much so I have no idea how to position UI elements. The WebGL version is not supposed to be embedded, so that's why it has the double full-screen.

@adsilcott: Thanks! I tried to do something as unique as I could.

@Udell Games: The instructions take a button press to skip, So i'm assuming that what happened was you clicked to get focus and that counted as a button press. The major thing was that I forgot to add instructions on how you see youre influence. An influence bar was planned to be added but ran out of time. The goal is to take this concept and make it a bit more fleshed out. Having more kinds of character relationships and adding things like cliques and administrators.

Sorry about the sociopath thing though... I guess it happens to the best of us.

Blobo says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:32am

Really unique. I loved the use of the theme.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]