Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Adventures of Box Boy

by airdinghy - Jam Entry

You are Box Boy. Some sort of evil has stripped all the colour out of the world and its up to you to try and restore even just a little.

You gotta change shapes to break the walls down and kill the monsters.

Controls: Arrows/WSAD to Move, Space to Jump, Control to Change shape, Space/Enter to select menu item.

Music by Jesús Lastra - http://opengameart.org/users/jalastram

Keywords: HTML5, Unity

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#383Theme(Jam)3.54
#598Humor(Jam)2.33
#738Innovation(Jam)2.82
#850Graphics(Jam)2.79
#851Overall(Jam)2.92
#885Mood(Jam)2.59
#921Fun(Jam)2.62
#1350Coolness45%

Comments

ottohak says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:56am

I really enjoyed your game. Good Job.

blinry says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20pm

I like the animals :) Good work on the sound design, too, although the walking sound gets a bit annoying after a while :P

Gravedrinker says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:45am

Nice concept and execution, I really like the slow motion when selecting things, it helps a lot. The walking sound was a bit grating, but the rest was pretty good. Especially when you get pushed back.

vethan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:58am

I enjoyed the idea behind this. Couldn't figure out how to kill the enemies though :(

Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:00am

The walking sound is a bit too loud and giving the monsters a shape would help. But I really liked the concept here. Nice and fun little game :)

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:05am

Not bad. Found a bug where you can run into an obstacle and hold ctrl to reach the end of the level immediately :~)

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:15am

Very interesting concept! Good job

ChrisMingay says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:00pm

Love the character animation of this one, well done :D

teamross says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:38pm

yay! Love the idea! It feels really good when you pass through several walls at the same time swapping form in slowmotion!
Good job!

DevelopTech says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:51am

Good idea, but there are some bugs when you try to change your shape into an obstacle.

tomlum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:47am

Really cool clean gameplay, except for the color swapping which felt a little clunky.

Mixer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:44am

Cute aesthetic!(Those run/jump animations, although simple, had energy in them I loved!). Basic but suitable theme interpretation, the UX in choosing the shape could have been made easier though. It sounds silly, but having to move my hand to enter from WASD mid gameplay in a small way broke the games flow. Perhaps control/click -> hover over desired shape -> release mouse might have worked better? Dunno. Any way, tiny critisism, great game! :)

Hectigo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:56am

Solid little platformer.

marmpa says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:13pm

REally interesting concept.I liked that same color enemies and same color to pass walls.

Odyssey says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:35pm

I enjoyed this one

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Very interesting concept. I love the charactere animation. Well done ++

APantaloni says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:35am

On chrome the browser intercepts ctrl+other keys, making it hard to play.

BSODDevTeam says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 6:19pm

Great! Nice little game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]