Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Whale quest!

by methylenblub - Jam Entry

You are a shapeshifter, and after all those college and shapetraining years you finally got your 1st mission!
For shapeshifting you need to "fuse" with diverse item you will find through your way to the town.

CONTROLS
Please use the arrows to move, keep in mind that you can't move to a position you've been before.
For restarting the game you can use R
**PRESS ENTER AFTER THE TITLE SCREEN**

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#274Humor(Jam)3.04
#714Innovation(Jam)2.86
#759Theme(Jam)3.04
#900Fun(Jam)2.66
#922Mood(Jam)2.50
#957Overall(Jam)2.76
#1021Graphics(Jam)2.29

Comments

rogberth says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:43am

Small but cute little puzzle game : D I really enjoyed trying to guess what does it take to become a proper whale haha

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:57am

Was there any way to actually win? or just get 'Congrats?'
Anyways, interesting meld of puzzles.

Garr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:44pm

I really wanted to play this, but I DL the windows exe and ran it and it just froze at the title screen. :(

medidog says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:57pm

the same happened to me exactly like @Garr said :(

methylenblub says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:33pm

@TheCain There's actually 3 endings!
@Garr & @medidog you have to press enter, unless it really froze the app, then sorry :(

erikkire says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:34pm

Please no installers in the future

Humorcet says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:51pm

fun little game, i liked the whale

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:54pm

Nice puzzle game. Well done for a gamejam! :)

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:43am

It's frustrating that the game shuts down when you fail. It would be nice to be able to just loop back in and try again. The exploratory nature of it is cool, though.

dcolgan says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 1:17am

Could not get the title screen to run.

blob says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 3:49am

I... I don't understand.

Stending says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:35pm

Pretty cute, loved the little storyline behind!
Well made, congrats! :)

Mantlair says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Ummmm. I couldnt find any other ending then the wikipedia one. So i am not voting now. I will if i get the point.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:05pm

I tried a few times and I successfully became a whale. Cool little puzzle game.

Alphish says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:06pm

Yay, apparently I've managed to become a super-whale. Pretty cute puzzle game, but the exploration part seems rather unnecessary to me (in fact, with all that random generation means sometimes items end up in configuration where a perfect victory is impossible), and I wasn't really fond of slow walking and having to *press* button to move to the next field.

Maybe you can expand upon that general idea, somehow...?

(I just wonder, what exactly happens to player character once they successfully turn into proper whale...?)

jakass says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 4:11pm

Nice game!

Yumeito says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Nice little game :)

Chaserbrown says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Fun little game! It was kind of confusing, but I assumed that you were trying to collect the items that you thought a whale needed in order to become a whale?

dcRfj15 says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:52am

Very short game, but the idea and implementation was nice. I had trouble finding the alternate endings in the game, I kept getting the wiki pedia one. It would be nice if there was a small hint about how to win the game, I tried getting all the items, covering all of the tiles, avoiding all the items, and all of them seemed to give me the same ending.
Also, there should be a little more contrast between the tiles the player has visited and the tiles the player hasn't visited, unless the player was looking carefully it was kind of hard to tell them apart.
Good job!

hazzahazzam says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:48am

Ah! I can only find two endings. Puzzle games are fun when executed well. And this was fun!

xxdos says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:16am

Done! ;)
Great Job!

ayesh says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:42pm

simple and entertaining
nice game!

Tanton-H2X says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 6:19pm

just too short!ToT but these great design symbol graphic really attract me alot~ (theme was too hidden let me feel ToT)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]