Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShapeDodger

by Djapz30 - Compo Entry

POST RESULTS EDIT:

Wow Thanks everyone! This is my first time doing Ludum Dare and I'm surprised with the results!

And boy! This contest is an amazing experience!
I may have neglected voting and checking out other games and I apologize for that! ><"

However, my personal goal was achieved! I managed to complete this entry and get some reviews and opinions by you wonderful people! I truly appreciate that~

I look forward to the next LD (and hope to be more active for the next one)

++++++++++++++++
Here's my first Ludum Dare attempt 'x')/

I was kinda lost at first and I feel that I wasted some time but.

Overall considering I tried to do something in 2 days (Seriously people, you guys are the MVP here >w<)b )


Now, about the game.

When it said Shapeshift I instantly thought of Basic Shapes. So the player can change his state between 3 forms.

What that does? It allows you to collect other "coins" and pass through the current color bullets.

I wanted to make the change more distinct so there's the Sound Effect, Animation (well... not the greatest but...) and Music being affected by that.
Oh! and the music! I really need to work in that department... It took more than I thought producing it.



Ludum Dare is a awesome experience and I do recommend people try it someday! Just be aware that it isn't a walk in the park developing games in a short time ><"

Hopefully you enjoy it! (And post the points in the comments if you want 'x')

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#351Theme3.53
#416Overall3.27
#423Fun3.20
#490Innovation3.07
#568Graphics2.80
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:00am

Very interesting. One thing though is that I at some point though that the safe strategy was to never shift shapes and just get less point but live more.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:38am

shapeshifting bullet hell. interesting game.

ruchirbapat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:54am

cool game

play and rate my game here: http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=88260

uprightpath says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:55am

Very hard! Very, very hard. And while it allows you to change the size at start up it doesn't seem to scale anything at all.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:12am

Nice bullet hell! Though a bit too difficult from start? Some progression would be nice! Music is always an issue for me ^^; But it turned out cool!

Anyways nice entry!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Really awesome game, great soundtrack and gameplay. Enjoyed it.

johnbrynte says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Good balance with the controls! As @nihilaleph said, the player need some time to understand the mechanics of the game before dying after 4 seconds :)

Ristoretto says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:41pm

Great game!

In the first 10-20 tires I did not realize that you could only pick up the power ups in the same shape as the player, I just thought that they had a really small hitbox.

The green and yellow shapes looks to much alike, would be nice with more contrast.

I agree with Ghust1995 that its easier to not change shape, especially because the gray shape in between. I also never realizes which order you changed the shape in. I would have preferred to have two different states changing between two shape with one button or 3 states with 3 different buttons.

otherwise I like it a lot, got 90 points with a game pad :)

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:15am

Its a bit hard in beginning but its real fun after that. Nice concept.

Cliff Lee(CL) says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:27am

Nice entry with enjoyable gameplay!

I think it will be better that the transition time between shapes is shorter.

Tsevion says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 3:34am

Fun idea, but a steep difficulty curve.

AnaGF says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:16am

Nice little game. It is hard to understand how to play, but it is a cool game overall.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]