Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Mystery of the Colorful Glasses

by Palys Plays - Jam Entry

The story

You found mysterious glasses with a note containing an address for an old house. You are curious what can be found there. And when you're inside the house - you must solve the mystery behind it.

Controls

Up, Down, Left, Right Arrows - moving
1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 alphanumerical - inventory usage
Ctrl - interaction

---------------------------------------------------

Liked the idea? We are going to work on the game and release it in the future, so stay tuned.

Edit:
- fixed black player sprite in web build
- added Windows build (downloadable by itch.io)

Edit 2:
- new version with fixed inventory and some bugs
- linux and mac versions added (but not tested)

---------------------------------------------------

Team Palys Plays
Tomasz Pałys & Natalia Potoczny
IT students, gamers and future husband & wife

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#72Innovation(Jam)3.87
#290Overall(Jam)3.52
#306Fun(Jam)3.39
#455Mood(Jam)3.21
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#636Graphics(Jam)3.16
#771Theme(Jam)3.03

Comments

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:53am

Nice game! maybe some music would improve the mood a little but overall I liked it. I was hooked when I started revealing the secret doors haha

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:55am

really great and original game, maybe this would need a visual indicator to tell you what colors do you have on or off, but really innovative idea :D

Bendix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Wow that was great! Love a great puzzle!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12pm

nice concept! One bit of feedback: you really need an indication of what colors are on or off; it's a headache to try to remember/figure it out.

sndr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:11pm

I really loved how you used the colors to build the puzzles. This mechanic is awesome! :)

One tiny thing: as @aberdeenphoenix said, it would be great to be able to know which colors are on or off.

maartene says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:19pm

Interesting take on the theme. Quite a bit of content.

I would like a "run" button. Perhaps also a bit of music to set the mood?

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Web vers- Got the blue lens, I almost quit and then found a second room. Found the green lens, then I got trapped in a wall. I'll try again on Windows! Art is a Path!

Ironhead says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:27pm

Really cool game. had a problem figuring out what to do after I got the yellow lens in the library though. The puzzle are cool and the art style and mood were pretty good but some music and sound effects would definitely improve it. Also as others have said, indicator for which lenses your using would be great.

katorovitalo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11pm

This was a really cool idea! I like the idea of viewing the world through different lenses. The puzzles were pretty neat too. If I had one complaint it's that the inventory seems to be broken. It just seems like it switches to random colors rather than the one I'm trying to pick. Other than that this one is pretty great! I'll be playing it more later to see if I missed anything! :)

Avant-Marde says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:08pm

I like the idea! There were a few problems with the execution tho, so I actually got stuck, I'm afraid. :c I'd love to keep playing if I could have some clues, tho.

I got stuck after getting the fourth colour (which I assumed to be brown, since that one was mentioned on a note, but maybe that was orange?). There was a room asking for three colours and a note saying "green, blue, brown", but I tried those and nothing happened, so I couldn't figure it out after that.

Like many before me have said, there needs to be a better indication of which colours are active. Green and blue are easy to see in game, but yellow does almost nothing and brown/orange(?) not much either. It would be good if they were also marked with a white border or something in the inventory to indicate on or off.

The mood is neat in general. I like the lighting, and of course the colour effects add up too. Too bad there was no audio. There's a feeling of mystery that makes me want to keep investigating to figure out where I am.

Basically a good game but unfortunately a bit difficult to play! c:

TeamScripta says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:30pm

I really enjoyed your game!

APantaloni says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:51pm

Intriguing adventure game, I love mysteries :) I agree that an indicator of the colors currently on would have been nice. And sound of course. Besides that it's great!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 7:52pm

Beautiful game.

The puzzles are really well designed but I've got stuck after i 've found the fourth glass filter. :)

Well done.

axoona says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 2:24am

really nice game and a very interesting concept.
I started playing the original version but had to switch to the new, it's good you added the visual indication otherwise it's impossible to play like others said
Unfortunately I got stuck because the block I found under the pillow didn't appear in my inventory:(
but overall very good game, keep it up!

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Difficult, but very interesting.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Cool! Reminds me the binding of Issac.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:02am

Interesting understanding of the theme. But it was totally worth playing it. Love the artwork. Great entry!

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:05pm

I'll keep an eye on this one.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]