Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Pellanor's Shapeshift Game With A Terrible Title

by Pellanor - Compo Entry

A simple platformer where you have two different forms. One can double jump, the other is immune to spikes.

Controls:
Move: WASD / Arrow keys
Jump: Space
Fire: Left Shift
Switch: N

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#492Humor2.13
#776Mood2.13
#846Theme2.57
#866Graphics2.04
#908Fun2.11
#912Innovation1.93
#942Overall2.21

Comments

sepharoth213 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:39pm

that is indeed a terrible title

cornand34 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:23pm

Some audio would be cool

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Well done :) It's a bit frustrating that multiple presses of the Shift key activate some disability features on Windows. The 3D view when dying is nice, but might be unintentional? :-)

Pellanor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:59pm

@cornand34: Yeah, I didn't have time to do audio.

@blinry: I forgot about the windows key thing. As for the 3D view, that's just what Unreal did when I destroyed the player actor by default. It felt like a cool effect, so I didn't bother changing it.

FerraWare says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:03pm

Wow, great title :P

Cool little game, would've been nice to be able to fire with the mouse.

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:31pm

Nice little game. As others have said the control key choices could have been a little better. But not bad nonetheless.

Swynfel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:09am

Interesting game.

I didn't have problems with the shift control.

Good concept. You had to die to understand what is happening, but since death isn't punishing it's okay.

What is the red bar for ?

A little text/image telling us what the controls are could have been cool. The player is smart enough to test them (and it would have helped me, because I had to stop my play session to read it).

By the way, is there a simple way to stop the game on windows ? By spamming buttons I opened the console and then typed "quit", is there is a simpler way ? By the way you shouldn't be able to open the console in a finished product normally.

The physics could be a little better. And the graphics are a little "flat".

Good luck on your future work.

Pellanor says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:24am

@Swynfel Thanks for the great feedback. Red bar is the health for the boss at the end.

Only way to stop the game on windows is Alt F4. I didn't even know you could get into the console...

tomdeal says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:15pm

I like the title! :-) Good idea with the different abilities. Somehow I got on spikes without the ability to get out.

savethejets1 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10pm

I think it's a great title! haha

HylianEvil says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:39pm

Audio would be nice, I kept getting sticky keys enabling on windows.. maybe that's my own problem though. Do the spikes actually damage you? I seemed to not take damage.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:23am

The title is memorable, and that's half of it. I couldn't double jump high enough to clear over the blocks at the start in the web version, but the windows seemed to work fine.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:31pm

Good work! The physics is a little hard to handle...

broknecho says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:10am

Pretty good start here! Lots of different platforming possibilities when you combine the shapeshifting with the characters immunities. I did run into a few collision issues and oddly I sometimes couldn't jump. I believe it got in a state where it thought I was still falling.

Keep working at it! Good Job!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]