Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Druid Grove

by s0wbear - Jam Entry

The Druid Grove

Save the forest from evil unnamed furry demons!

The game is really nothing special (a single level and only one type of enemy)
but i still like it, since it's my first LD submission, and also one of the first projects i actually finishd ;)

Hints:
The trees of life regenerate your mana, so try to stay close to them even when in combat.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#291Theme(Jam)3.66
#443Mood(Jam)3.23
#527Graphics(Jam)3.36
#598Humor(Jam)2.33
#598Overall(Jam)3.19
#629Fun(Jam)3.00
#662Innovation(Jam)2.91

Comments

thunderklaus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Too bad there's no Web or OSX version

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:32pm

This game is really good. my only con about this game is that i would have liked more lighting around the area. Other then that i could see this game on steam after more work has been done.

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Love the ambient audio, overall a great submission.

s0wbear says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:37pm

Sorry about that thunderklaus, i added both a web and mac version of the game.
The mac version is not tested however..

terop says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:08pm

seemms to take long time before anything happens in the game. The graphics looks ok, and you can rotate camera nicely with mouse, colours are nice.

thunderklaus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:15pm

Thanks for adding the additional versions. Web worked fine.
The gameplay is really pretty basic... But it looks fine, and what's there is working nicely.
Good job!

+1 for calling Fullscreen Shapeshift :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:57am

This is exactly the kind of game that I hoped to see come out of this jam! a druid game! wish there was better lighting and that the fox was faster, but great work!

shane1090 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:26pm

Felt the camera looking down was a little frustrating at times, especially with the large trees and hills - you couldn't sometimes see where you're going. The game was enjoyable to play and it was interesting trying to balance mana with health, though I did keep accidentally switching form - not the games fault but my inability to stop fiddling with the buttons!

Per says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Got a bit scared there when I found the first enemies :)
I'd suggest that you remove the pointer lock and instead have a dynamic camera that fits close enemies inside the view.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37pm

Cool idea- clear WoW/WC3 influence. Sometimes enemies will spawn and I'll run to them but then they disappear and change their location / direction? I feel like mana management could be a little better done or done away with. The "alert a tree is being attacked" sound sounds like my phone is vibrating on the desk which while pedantic was a little annoying lol. Cool idea, pretty fun.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:40pm

For your first LD, is a pretty nice game, a little bit difficult, the graphics are pretty cool, the style, the intro, overall is nice, good luck there!

Green Soda says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:20am

NATUUUUUUURE xD Great idea!! Awesome gameplay and graphics...

However, playing it after a while gets pretty repititive and less exciting. I suggest making the game more fast-paced by removing dead airs like when running very far... If u'd like to keep tht, at least give the environment more EYE CANDIES / visuals so that player has something else to look at other than the character running... :D

Overall, this is an interesting entry :) Would like to see more as it grows! :D

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04am

Good graphics! Sounds could have been better and the movement is sort of slow.

s0wbear says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Thanks for the great feedback guys!
Some of your suggestions were already on my mind as weak spots of the game.
I'm glad it's being received well even with these flaws.

iossif says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:53pm

i enjoyed that. the bear form looks awesome.

marccspro says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:35am

I thought this game was amazing ! The visuals are there ans sound FX to. Overall it was pretty fun playing it ! Well done ;)

robb_blob says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:36am

Impressive first submission. The tree forms and the balance between them is really good. I liked the visual style in general: the fact that you could see each polygon and the symplistic shape of each character. The mana mechanic is really cool cause it makes you think about a smart way to use it. Good game!

Shizor says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:43am

Awesome little game, a tad too dark sometimes tho (I wanna see more of that sweet low poly goodness)

orukinawa says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:30am

Great job for your first LD. Keep it up!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]