Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Dreadwood

by Le_Sarus - Jam Entry

You went looking for something, deep in the woods. The spirts of the woods found you wanting and their curse has shapeshifted you into something less that you once were.

Can you escape the forest and reclaim your humanity or will you be claimed by the forest as so many before you have?

CONTROLS:

ad - left and right
space - jump
left ctrl - crouch
left mouse - attack
esc - quit game
To hide from enemy's you must crouch behind objects

This was our first ever jam, really enjoyed it and learned a lot from the experience!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness87%
#283Mood(Jam)3.44
#561Audio(Jam)2.77
#636Graphics(Jam)3.16
#926Overall(Jam)2.82
#1061Theme(Jam)2.28
#1069Fun(Jam)2.30

Comments

Matzigon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56pm

Not bad, not bad. A bit rough around the edges, so to say. Did not really reach the point where the shapeshifting happens, as death means a total restart from the beginning of the game. Which is not nice. Other than that, nice work! :)

divegato says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Reminds me of Superbrothers Sword and Sworcery in atmosphere which is great. Gameplay needs improvement though.

GameQuester says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Nice game. The controls didn't feel that good (a bit slow and the platforms were a bit buggy). Didn't make it to the end, since everytime i died, I had to start from the beginning. Nervertheless a pretty good entry. Good Job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:08am

Graphics are really good, but it really needs some animations. Also, I felt that the music/sfx don't match the whole idea.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03am

Very enjoyable! I spent some time on the game! The graphics are simple but nice!I love retro gameplay like this!

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03am

Really solid mood and concept. The controls felt a little floaty and a few more animations would have gone a long way (even some simple up/down on the legs for walking) but I felt there was a lot of potential here. Some respawn points would be nice though!

Altogether a really nice and atmospheric little platformer. :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:07am

Good vibe. Gameplay feels stiff and floaty. Shooting anim makes char move up a bit? Starting all the way at the start when you die feels harsh. Could just start where that section started.

derr says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:36am

I don't like leaving reviews of games I couldn't finish but I had to give up ... the game is really hard. :) I really like the mood the graphics set. I would almost tune down the chiptune sounds a bit to let the graphics do more work for the athmosphere. Some combat feedback would be nice, too. I had to find out if it is ok to touch enemies in combat by dying. xD But combat is much easier once you figure that out.

caporaltito says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:13am

Not bad, the graphics are good

APantaloni says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:41am

I like the stylized, clean but dark look, especially of the main character. More animations would have added a lot I think.

mitya1234 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44am

I really like the graphics. It's very cool.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:36pm

What I liked about this game:
The graphics, the music, the ominous storytelling and the text on the screen.
Also the scene transitions are very nice in my opinion
What I didn't like:
The lack of checkpoints, which prevents me from progressing too far into the game :/
Also the controls are slightly weird in my opinion, since they feel a bit un-natural.
However, this is a great jam entry- it's bursting with mood and atmosphere, and with some fixes it could be an amazing game.

The M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:46pm

The game has atmosphere but it feels unpolished. Forcing the player to restart from the beginning is rage-quit inducing so don't do that.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:57pm

I like the mood of the game. There are some flaws, which were already mentioned, and the music also bothered me a little. But still, good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:44pm

Nice clean graphical style, could do with walking animations

Sloof says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:05pm

A bit buggy; the jump stopped working altogether at some point. The art style is quaint and nice but could be greatly improved with some animation. The music is cool and fitting. The concept, itself, is pretty interesting and could make a great game if fleshed out more.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:30pm

Pretty good graphics.. gameplay is a bit hard and unforgiving..

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:45pm

Really enjoyable mood that fits well. It's a bit annoying restarting from the beginning every death.

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:57pm

Really good mood! Was a bit annoying having to restart from the beginning every time.

Asturk says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:18am

Very good game, it really reminde me of very old classic 8bit games! it has potential to have a great storytelling too. Just try to make some more enemies and obstacle variations to make the game even more nice and challenging!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:59pm

I really like the design of the monsters. The game feels a bit stiff, and maybe that's because I died a lot, but I see a lot of potential in it. :D

Freank says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:58am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

TheCain says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:55pm

Some checkpoints would have been nice.
And a crouch animation.
Some polish would make this better.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]