Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Infinite Trip

by Steven Pinto - Jam Entry

A metaphor on the act of socializing today. A rigid shape tries to become flexible by smoking marijuana but instead it just leads him to the revelation that everyone is rigid and we just have to adapt to others sensibilities in order to socialize more effectively with them.

The game is an endless runner. The player controls a rigid shape who can shift shapes when he smokes weed. The player must shift between a square and a triangle to progress past the obstacles and enemies.

Game play Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_k-lnZC5pyo/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#45Fun(Jam)3.97
#53Humor(Jam)3.87
#120Mood(Jam)3.79
#162Theme(Jam)3.87
#207Overall(Jam)3.63
#545Graphics(Jam)3.32
#671Innovation(Jam)2.90

Comments

mard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29am

no linux version :/

Peringo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:30pm

It´s pretty damn great! It may be simple and there isn´t too much variety, but I think its an awesome endless runner! The difficulty is just right too.

runvs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:59am

Nice Game! The mechanics work great and are intuitive, but hard to master. The soundtrack is great, the changing background colors are well done. I really like that entry!

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:08am

LOVED THE GAME! Steady increase of difficulty, which is great) Simple mechanics, but it can catch you for a long time)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Really great entry, this would be great as a mobile game, i can already see it on google play, keep it on, good job!

Hempuli says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:43pm

Pretty neat; the controls were easy to learn and the gameplay was enjoyable. It didn't seem to get much harder or otherwise vary over time which is something I'd love to see. Still, very good work!

Tex Killer says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:54am

Nice controls and spot on the theme and humor, but unfortunately I suck at these kind of games... lol

Why not use radial images for the smoke particles? Should look a lot more like smoke that way, unless it was a design decision.

Anyway, if you're interested, I've managed to patch up the places where the player could get stuck on my game. Regardless, thank you very much for the feedback! :)

swedishwb says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:46pm

You say web, but in reality you mean a download link. 1/10

Steven Pinto says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:14pm

It was a mistake...
1/10 xD Thanks :P

Kerdelos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 12:45am

Well, your character is pretty good. I have played dozens of game with lots of shapes, but only a few have transformed a playable shape into a real character, and even less with a shape smoking marijuana! I like your metaphor.

Soundtrack is very good in-game!
The graphics are simple but it works. The game would be more pleasant with more worked assets.
Controls are easy and difficulty is slowly increasing (which is good).

However, it's still a simple runner. I can't play it hours, but I did try and die more than 10 times.

BSODDevTeam says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Nice game, I love it and dealt with it!

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:21am

Real trippy man... loved the music and mechanics!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Really nice atmosphere which is rare for an infinite runner. The premise is fun and the gameplay addictive. A very solid entry.

Clearly, I am the best at it, seeing as everybody else was too ashamed to post their score. Beat 185!

Xanjos says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 11:30pm

Pretty simple but fun entry. The background music was nice.

PinkIndian says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 2:25pm

A simple but fun endless runner. Controls were responsive which is always great. Also the music was nice and it got stuck in my head now :) Also positive to see that you had more meaningful idea behind it so it wasn't "just another runner".

FengeR says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:48pm

Great game, liked the music you used. It's a great endless runner.
As said on a stream, don't forget to add a 32bits version otherwise some could not play your game.
Anyway, enjoyed playing so that's fine :D

justacookie says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 6:51pm

I'm usually not very good at platformers, but this one was relatively easy (since its not really a platformer but a runner i guess, so i cant fall down xD). But for me that was very nice, and it fitted the relaxing mood ;) i also liked how you gave those shapes character and the simple graphics fit the game well. the music is one of my favorite parts about this jam entry, because it encourages you to go fast. thank you for this submission!

May 3, 2016 @ 2:34am

I'm bizarrely taken by the really adorable flip animation during the loading screen. It's really interesting, and had a lot of fun playing with it.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 2:36am

Super cute! I especially loved the animation from square to triangle and back and forth. The music was good and fitting. I liked how it was an endless runner but still pretty chill and not frustrating. Definitely liked the mood and vibe you got going. Great job!

Gamepopper says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:20pm

I knew that sooner or later I'd find a montage parody themed game. Pretty solid gameplay, simplistic design and pretty fun to play.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]