Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

The Depths Below the Caves

by mimy9 - Compo Entry

HI EVERYONE, this is my first entry into the Ludum Dare :3

The Depths Below The Caves is a platformer game set in a cave that changes its shape, the goal is to find the chest.

If things start to break, open the command prompt, find where the file is located and use "java -jar <filename>" to open.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#574Humor1.88
#593Graphics2.77
#770Mood2.16
#828Innovation2.41
#878Theme2.41
#934Overall2.29
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

shohs says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 7:34am

Hey, I'd love to try this out, but I'm getting an exception when I try to run it with "java -jar TheDepthsBelowTheCaves2.jar"
Here's the stack trace, if it'll help:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: 1
at my.project.LudumDare.main.Application.<init>(Application.java:13)
at me.LD.main.Main.main(Main.java:18)
In my experience, the most frustrating thing about Ludum Dare is your game not working on other peoples' computers, so good luck! If you figure it out, I'd love to try it later!

ccglp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:03am

Yep, I agree with the other comment. I can't play this. Try to fix it and I love to play it later.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16am

Failing to launch for me too...

mimy9 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:30am

Trying to fix now, sorry for the wait

mimy9 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:47pm

I think I have fixed the problem, hope all goes well

crisp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Lalala, where is the shape-shifting? :3

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:19pm

I really like this core mechanic, and the graphics are really sweet, but I wish you'd had more time to develop on the ideas! I feel there's a lot of potential here.

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:21pm

Hey, fellow first-timer. I'd love to try this out but I'm getting a 404 error on your Windows link :(

pathus22 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 1:22pm

good game

Futilrevenge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:35am

I really like how the caves 'shapeshift', and it's something that I wasn't really expecting! I hope you put more work into this, it's an interesting idea.

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:41am

Ohh, i cant launh it =\

RadioLemon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:33am

Nice job for your first entry!

Baknik says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:35am

Nicely done for your first entry!

okoto says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:56am

The game design is very confusing... =/

shohs says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04am

Glad you got it working! I thought the mechanic of the cave itself changing was pretty neat.

Theseus101 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:42am

The graphics of the game are very well polished. However the game-play and mechanics were disenchanting, you could beat the entire game just by moving left until you hit a wall, then right until you hit a wall, and do on so forth. I feel like this game might of been better if there were real decisions or maybe even just a simple jumping mechanic and some platforming segments. I'd love to see the beautiful pixel art animated in an engaging way, but for your first ludum dare it's a good start.

MayankUnreal says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:27am

I like the main character it looks bit funny hehe. As a first entry its great work!

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:22pm

Now that it's actually working, let me congratulate you on your first Ludum Dare!

This is definitely a strange and surreal idea you've made from this, even if it is a bit simplistic. You made use of the theme in a very inventive way, and I definitely applaud that!

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:25am

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

yokcos700 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 5:16am

Oh wow did not expect the cave to be shapeshifting. It's a pretty damn cool idea. Could do with some sound or challenge or something.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]