Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

GOLD+SLIME

by bibdectrl - Compo Entry

An evil wizard has dumped you into his dungeon full of shapeshifting slime monsters and demanded you retrieve his gold.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#367Humor2.49
#523Graphics2.90
#638Mood2.65
#655Fun2.85
#752Overall2.85
#908Innovation2.00
#915Theme2.08

Comments

dj_pale says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Nice Pico-entry - got engaging to try to avoid all the monsters and get the gold. Nice amount of levels. Could have done with 1-2 other enemy types and a little bit stretched take on the theme.

zenmumbler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Fun little old school game. Finished it. The totally random movement sometimes blocked off some gold for a long time but it all worked out in the end.

Also, there's no audio so you might want to disable voting for it.

euske says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:01am

Nice retro look and feel. The audio worked for me.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Agree on the theme being a bit of a stretch, but the graphics were nice and it was fun, so nice work.

JNI says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Really nice game. I think it's a bit like boulderdash

grayhaze says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:37pm

I really enjoyed this, and played all the way through. It's very retro and would make a good arcade game. I'm not really seeing much of the theme in it though, as the shapeshifting of the creatures was almost incidental and didn't really feed into the gameplay. A really solid, polished game though. Good work! :)

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Fun game, good job!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Nice old style look ! =)
It lacked a bit of audio, but it was enjoyable !

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:57pm

Kinda fun in a twitchy sort of way. It did kind of feel like the world's most basic stealth game. The lives system is frustrating, especially when it is possible to spawn in such a way that you cannot survive.

The graphics are cute, though they don't fit any particular 8-bit machine. I know this won't bother everybody, but as a person who has played many 8-bit games it was hard to ignore. If you want to get that right, try to lower your colour count. Most consoles only allow 7 or 8 simultaneously from a total pallete of 256 (sometimes backgrounds and sprites could have slightly different palletes).

Still, it works and is complete so that should be applauded.

sharrackor says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:08pm

Could have fitted the theme a bit better, but an enjoyable game.

mamoniem says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:43pm

nice game. at first it took me a while to think what I've to do. The character was somehow looks hidden within the map, and was not to figure out what should i've to do. Specially when the guys kept switching their shape, I thought I'm one of them.

But once I got the idea, I started to play, fail and try...etc

-m

chaosBrick says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:44pm

Nice game. Only thing: once you died and restarted your game you cant finish any more levels. theres no gold left, but you still dont finish when you go on your square. Somethimes some of those slimes camp in front of your gold for a very long time! those damn green creatures are so damn evil ;D

dcRfj15 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:58pm

The game was hard, but in a good way. Not too hard to make it impossible for me to beat it, but hard enough that I had to think about how to approach the puzzles. I liked the graphics and sound effects for the game, and the game's ending was nice :P.
I think that the monster AI has some room for improvement. Sometimes the monsters would hover over the gold, going back and forth over the same two tiles next to the gold, thus preventing me from reaching the gold.

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:42pm

Cool retro-style. Nice idea with the different monster effects. I didn't manage to get out as promised in the intro, but it was fun anyway.

blob says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:38pm

Cute game. I wish the shapeshifting mechanic affected my game choices more. Currently its just touching a bad guy is bad or its very bad. Could have been "blobs move in diagonal when they change shape" forcing you to adapt quickly to movement mechanic.
Some levels started with blobs instantly cornering you with no way to survive ( level 5 i think) maybe due to them taking random directions at first.

Paulgami says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:50am

Pretty nice! The art's really charming, and I liked the plot.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:51am

Funny little retro arcadish like game! Nice work you did there :)

GodsBoss says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:05pm

Simple, but still fun. Could have had a bit more sound.

Alphish says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 8:13pm

Completed the entire game without losing a life, ha! :3

It's not a particularly original or complicated entry, but it works, I guess? I didn't encounter any particular errors or anything. I'd like to have more audio, though. ^^'

(also, the shapeshifting wasn't really present that much here; it could as well involve spooky scary skeletons instead of mutant slimes and their relevance to the gameplay would be pretty much the same (collide -> you lose a life and go back); except skeletons would come with better music.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]