Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

ShiftShaper

by serp - Jam Entry

Mostly this is just a joke on the theme I decided to do for my first ludum dare.

Click and drag to deform a Shift Key!

make it fit the pattern!

Do it in the time limit! woo!

Music from bensound.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#77Theme(Jam)4.04
#183Innovation(Jam)3.59
#207Humor(Jam)3.23
#826Fun(Jam)2.76
#898Overall(Jam)2.86
#922Mood(Jam)2.50
#982Graphics(Jam)2.44

Comments

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:10am

Not sure why you got an error for my game which browser are you using? Your game is good - deforming to fit the gap is a really good idea!

edgeofcode says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:11am

Not sure why you got an error for my game.. which browser are you using? Your game is good - deforming to fit the gap is a really good idea!

F4KETHIS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:56am

Original take on the theme and I enjoyed morphing the shape around. Reminds me of the start screen on Mario 64, playing with his face. Really fun music too!

Verz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:11am

Great humor here! I really like that you used a diffrent take on the theme. We kinda did too, but in a diffrent way.
Also the music fitted the game really well. Fun game overall :)

Ramayana says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16am

Good game! But to change shape you are in a hurry! But it's fune to move around the shift key! And it reminds me of Mario 64 too!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:22am

Lol. Had a laugh hehe. The gameplay isn't very addictive but it is quite funny :P

pogo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:25am

The puns are real.
Overall I like the concept, but its hard to find the control points sometimes, which can make small changes frustrating.
Good job!

tweedle says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:13am

Thanks for playing our game! Sorry it was so laggy, we uploaded the version that comes with an installer that should help it run smoother if you wanna give it another go. This was the first game I play I was literally shifting something into shape, cool idea. Like virtual 2D playdoh! -t

bobismijnnaam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:20pm

Cool mechanic :) Kind of weird (but sometimes it's almost neigh impossible to get the shape right) to play with but its fun. The music is kind of random but not too irritating. A nice entry.

Reallysketchy says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Really great interpretation of theme! It's a lot of fun and the music's great. The only problem I ran into is that many times if the key was close to the edge, but not touching it, it would still be detected as touching. Overall though, very good job.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Nice idea, and it's so fun that it fits the theme super literal! Sometimes the controls are a little weird, making it frustrating, but loved the mechanics :D

rhastapunk says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 8:21am

Really Original, a bit difficult, I would love to see bette the form you need to shape in

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 11:22am

The joke was quite funny. The gameplay was hard for me to understand in the first second because I didn't recognise the grey preview. Good job. Keep up the work and polish it up with sounds and particles and screenshakes ;)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]