Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Season Shifter

by fb_holzbaum - Jam Entry

Update 23/04/2016
*****************
We have added a second Web version with improved controls.

- Player doesn't get stuck in walls so so easily.
- Slightly improved swiming controls.
- Fixed some bugs.

If you struggle with the control of the original version try the updated version. Keep in mind that the updated version was changed after the Ludumdare deadline, when rating this game.

*****************

This game is about Frank. Frank is just a normal guy that lives a normal life in a normal town called Summerville.
People from Summerville are always relaxed, even now, when a big crisis is facing them.
Evildoers stole the "Rod of Ages" and destroyed the "Crystal of Seasons". The latter is responsible for the balance between all four Seasons in the whole kingdom of Lumia.
Will you help Frank find the vanished "Rod of Ages" and become the hero Lumia needs?
Solve countless puzzles and find all the pieces of the "Crystal of Seasons" to save the kingdom Lumia
before it dissapears between the seasons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#684Theme(Jam)3.14
#686Humor(Jam)2.13
#783Mood(Jam)2.77
#818Innovation(Jam)2.71
#967Fun(Jam)2.54
#1034Overall(Jam)2.66

Comments

Jac817 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:44am

Nice work! My complaints are that the game doesn't handle very well, the player movement seems a little hard to grasp and when you go into the ice mode while underwater you get stuck for good. Music was nice, and the art was good as well.

BLEU says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:56am

Good work, although i have to say the controls are quite horrible, the main reason to that being the fact that you just get stuck on every wall.

Music is nice, level design is classic but well done.

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:04am

I liked the graphics, although I am unsure how it relates to the theme. I did find a glitch where I was swimming on air. I also kept getting stuck in walls. I think the player was a bit too fast as well. Other than that good job.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:42am

Fun game and good visuals. Loved the music as well. Very calming.

Chase_of_Bass says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:34am

pretty cool concept! -nice work!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:49pm

Just the handling and better animations would make this much better

Sir Magic says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:24pm

Really cool idea, enjoyed it!

Upwily says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:37pm

Game was much harder than i would have expected, because jumping and moving did not work very well and player kept getting stuck in walls

JoseArias says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Nice work! I liked it

WojtaW says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:08pm

Nice, but controls are bad.

Mieeh says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:27pm

Cool concept. I like the fact that you can change the season whenever you want. Nice job.

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:03pm

Nice music, decent graphics and an interesting concept. Unfortunately the game has some issues with the collision management; it was easy to get stuck on things.

Venneque says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:58am

How sad I cant rate you on music :(

I'm really sorry to put it that way, and I know i suck at jumping in games but I got ebola jumping in this game : yeah, something is definitely fucked up with that, I would have quit if I couldnt have tricked by grabbing the edge of the elevating platform from water then hanging on the wall to wait the platform to go down. Speaking of water, how sad I have to sink instead of swimming to go down. ><
Sometimes, you can jump fucking high but you have no idea how to do it again and end up spamming space with hopes of triggering some OP jump.
Also, I found some nasty bug double clicking the ctrl button, I swear it made Frank fly ! I'm gonna assume it's a god mode.

Positive aspects now xD :
Graphics are way better than anything I've seen so far, even outside this jam, they're smooth and pleasant.
Again, music is beautiful.
I LIKED the Rod of Ages idea xd.
And well, this is my kind of games so I've only been a bit rough because I couldn't play it properly >:(
(really you've no idea how irritating it felt to play such a pretty game raging for something so stupid)

Please fix this shitty jumping/swimming and sell it on Steam ! :D

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:22pm

The idea is great!
But controls are glitchy and unhandy.

fb_holzbaum says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:56am

Thank you all for playing this game and for your feedback.
We were aware of the control issues, but hadn't enough time to fix them during Ludum Dare.
Today, we added a link to a new version with improved controls. The player shouldn't get stuck in every wall anymore. The swimming controls have also been improved. I hope these improvements make our game more enjoyable for you.

We are aware that the controls are still far from perfect. In fact, we are thinking about continuing work on this game. And if we do, we will definitely revise the controls.

djfariel says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:07am

Art looked nice, and the concept was pretty neat, but as others have said, the game handles poorly. It wasn't very playable :(

Krammetje says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:38am

Game looks pretty good, but plays horrible. Getting stuck a lot while trying to get out of water.

LinealGames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:10am

I really like the art style but there were some glitches where I would be swimming in mid air when there was no water and would often get stuck on walls when swimming

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 2:32pm

Fun game, nice art and the music is great as well, nice work guys :)

LeReveur says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 7:58pm

Except the weird controls, this game is good. :)

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Cute and fun game. Couldn't find what to do after I ran into the three locked squares, and ran into a bug right in there, now I am able to swim around everywhere (in winter season), and cannot change the season.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]