Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

TriTurn

by kifuga - Compo Entry

In TriTurn you need to score by turning a bunch of triangles in the middle
of the screen so, that incoming colored balls hit the triangles with the same
color.
If you manage to, the hit triangle disappears, making more space for
you and adds 50 to your score.
If the triangle that is hit has a different color, a new triangle is added at
that place... so its better to get them away soon :)

As soon as you bunch of triangles exceed the red circle, your game is over.

But then you can enter your Name and maybe see it featured in the Server-stored
world-wide Highscore Table!! :)

Happy playing, I hope you all enjoy the game!
Stefan

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#81Fun3.81
#108Overall3.75
#109Audio3.56
#117Innovation3.78
#164Mood3.42
#351Theme3.53
#358Graphics3.29
#534Humor2.00

Comments

hugheth says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:16pm

Really nice simple concept. A little bit slow to get started and I'm not sure that I like having to hold down the mouse constantly, but actually quite challenging after the first minute or so :)

It's the perfect idea to develop with combos and powerups etc. The fact is has so much potential definitely means it gets a good rating.

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:22pm

A fantastic puzzle game, although similar to others I've played in the past. I had a lot of fun playing this, and so very nearly got the high score. ;)

The only thing I'd change is to remove the need to hold down the mouse button entirely. It serves no purpose and gets uncomfortable after a while.

Husky says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:33pm

I like the idea! simple and intuition, its' easily learning but challenging.

Good job! :D

rupazero says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:37pm

What a fun puzzle! The controls are a little clunky, but you found something catchy here, could really go somewhere!

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 3:47pm

Great gameplay, very different puzzle, I imagine this on mobile, It would very simple to play, but very addictive too, good job.

Jukepoks1 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:22pm

I like the song, it was relaxing game. And all of a sudden you are overhelmed by the amount of triangles :D got nice score though!

qu2 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:27pm

This is a wonderful little game. Clever core mechanic well-executed. Oh, and it looks and sounds pretty to boot :)

knason says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04pm

really addictive game!, played it for too long! Great work

ConorOD says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Well that was far more addictive than I expected! Really nice game that gets very challenging very quickly. Nice presentation and sound/music too.

Jin47 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Awesome game. I was taken into the gameplay I soon I had pushed the start button. Great concept, awesome execution!!

treegemmer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:47am

This idea felt fresh to me. I haven't played a game quite like it.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:40am

Really great game which reminds me hextrix. However the controls could be different for a better gameplay - maybe arrows keys. Really addictive. Thank you ++

Phaix says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:17am

Great and addictive game!

DcrDro says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:49am

Very cool concept! really interesting to play, good job man ! :)

studdert249 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:52am

Love the simple idea, had a just one more quality to it. Loved the music and the simple art design led to the game being very clear.

My only nit pick would be the controls, I was having an issue with accidentally clicking the right mouse button while dragging, leading to losing control of the shape and creating a triangle where I should have easily removed one.

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:12pm

The game explains itself very well and was fun to play. Sometimes it was a bit clunky to drag the mouse around and the pace in the beginning a bit too slow but overall a very good submission!

tanjent says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Very clever mechanics! Easily grasped in seconds and you can begin playing straight away. I have just one issue with the controls, but I think it is better explained here:

http://www.kvraudio.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=113873

Ithildin says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:32pm

Nice entry and execution! The concept was simple, but very addictive :)

pss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:42pm

Cool idea for a puzzle game. Had a good time playing, but the controls were a little frustrating when the pace picked up. Good work!

Anachron says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:12pm

Very cool idea! A little tricky to control but still lots of fun. Would be a great mobile game

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:14am

Nice concept, very clever! Great graphics and music too! I just didn't find comfortable to use the mouse to rotate the structure...

Anyways great entry!

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:18am

* Maybe a keyboard support?

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:02pm

Very addicting

APantaloni says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Simple but fun and addictive gameplay. I love the fact that there's a leaderboard. The only minor complaint I have is that it's not really colorblind friendly. Very enjoyable entry!

Chaoslab says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:42am

Interesting puzzle game. Should definitely be developed further. Thanks for that.

scnoobi says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:40pm

not able to control the speed of turning is pretty :/ only complaint i got is on controls. it being that you turn it with holding down, so your mouse can slip out of the playing area.

local minimum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 2:33pm

Very very well made game. Simple and after a while super-stressful. I liked it. The music was also a very nice fit to the game. I played with a mouse (maybe that was the only possible thing), but it would really be nice if I didn't have to press the button...

Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Great game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/Rc53wZClozM

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]