Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shape Invasion

by Tchaikovsky Lins - Jam Entry

The Earth is being invaded by a legion of terrible aliens, with the most different shapes, thirsty for our resources (And probably, to drink our blood in bowls of crystal) and now, it's up to you protect all of us.

For this purpose, our qualified trainees built, with the most advanced technology of the secret society Blablablu, an extraordinary spacecraft capable to change it shape and block any alien threat (Ps.: Only with the same shape).

Join the battle, disintegrate some aliens, conquer your own records, laugh like a madman and, mainly, change your shape everytime!!

FEATURES

1 - An unique and beautiful spatial scenery, where you can enjoy the stars, while listening to the melody of destruction;

2 - An unique and magnificient mode, but don't cry, our specialists report that others will come (Any day);

3 - One secret spacecraft that came with 3 different shapes (Non-refundable);

4 - And many, many aliens for your enjoyment (Currently, our money only allowed to hire three aliens for the show).


CREDITS:

Game idealized, drawn, programmed and something else by:

Tchaikovsky Johannsen Adler Pryce Jackmanfaier Ludwin Zolman Hunter Lins (This is really my name)


MUSIC:

1. What does anybody know about anything - Chris Zabriskie (CC-BY);
2. Ouroboros - Kevin MacLeod (CC-BY).


TOOLS

Graphic: Photoshop and Paint (Yes, I used a lot)
Sound(SFX): Sfxr
Engine: Unity 3D (Using C# with MonoDevelop)
Idea: My brain

LUDUM DARE 35 - 2016

PS.: This is my first game! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#184Fun(Jam)3.56
#243Theme(Jam)3.72
#256Overall(Jam)3.56
#405Graphics(Jam)3.58
#418Humor(Jam)2.67
#419Mood(Jam)3.26
#606Innovation(Jam)2.97

Comments

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Nice art. Very challenging!

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Actually a very nice entry, loved the art, gameplay is simple but neat, loved this !

Did you really make that alone ?
Is truly your name
Tchaikovsky Johannsen Adler Pryce Jackmanfaier Ludwin Zolman Hunter Lins?
Too many questions though ...

eymrich says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Nice art, simple concept yet able to entertain!
Game feel really polished, good job.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:43pm

Good game, nice art and sound. Big name hahah The mechanics were fine. Nice job!

der_wisch says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:47pm

The art is nice but the font is hard to read sometimes. It's very challenging.

homeworld says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:51pm

Great art, sound and concept.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:20pm

Thanks to everybody that rate and commented until now, also about the things that need to be improved (It's being helpful), I'm really happy! ^_^

Well, I did the game alone (With a lot of headache hehe), about my name, yeah, It's so different, but It's really my full name:

Tchaikovsky Johannsen Adler Pryce Jackmanfaier Ludwin Zolman Hunter Lins

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:09pm

Really great for a first game. The idea is perhaps simple, but it works, and it is fun to play. Well done.

masterkrepta says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:07am

I love the progression in difficulty, simple yet challenging.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:08am

A simple idea executed really well. Reminds me of Super Hexagon a bit.

IHateATMFees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:10am

First game? nice job!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:57am

Congrats on your first game!! Well done. Defending the planet sure is challenging.

Fierceshadow says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:50am

Started to become pretty fun once it sped up

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:54am

Well done, good graphics, nice sound, challenging gameplay in an entertaining fashion, I had fun.

Kashank says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:08am

Playing this was a good time.You made a well-rounded experience with the splash screen, scoreboard, gameplay, etc. Neat idea to have the ship change form, but I have to admit that I would expect a ship to be able to shoot something. Great job overall!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:33am

Thank you so much for all rates and feedbacks until now, I'm really appreciating! ^_^

Humm, seeing well, really reminds Super Hexagon hehe

Based on this version, I'm already improving everything and soon (Some few months) I'll release a version for mobile on Play Store and App store (After)

The new version will have this "Shape Invasion" as a mode. Now, what I can say is that the main/store mode will have other ships to choose/buy (With money got in the game) and the idea of Kashank (Be able to shoot) will be implemented

Finally, more one time, thanks to everybody! :D

Rulrite says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:03pm

You did a great job with this! It's a simple idea that's really well executed, with an 'easy to grasp but hard to master' control scheme. The graphics and the music are superb, too, especially for a game made in such a short amount of time.

I know it's a small point, but it's nice that the different-shaped aliens all had a different sound effect when spawning in. It's a great way of quickly conveying information to the player, and it's little touches like that which make all the difference.

Good luck with your entry - I hope you'll make more Ludum Dare games in the future! (Plus - if that really is your name, it's awesome!)

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:07am

shape invasion! dun dun dunnn!!!

AnaGF says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:55am

Simple and funny! Nice game, neat and polished.

mahalis says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:17am

Cool! This is a lot of fun - simple concept but it gets challenging really quickly. Having different sound cues for the different alien ships was a nice touch. Good art as well. Great job.

Chaserbrown says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:16am

Nice job! I would suggest a larger difficulty curve in the game, but the gameplay was good, as well as the art, and the audio (even though the music wasn't yours).

NPException says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:42am

For a first game, this is pretty well done! I had a lot of fun with it :D
Imo the difficulty could increase a bit faster, but maybe that's just a personal preference.

Good job!

Rock Eaters says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:23pm

look good :)

Yazara says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Wow, a really polished game! Nice work!
The keys aren't chosen well though, on my keyboard Z and X are switched so it's not as easy to play :P

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:45pm

1650 point :p

Aaranos says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:04am

Impressive even if it wasn't your first game. Took a screenshot of my score. http://i.imgur.com/SFiHkSR.png The gameplay is simple but the polish is crazy.

Xanjos says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Pretty simple but fun concept. I do like how there's a bit of a delay when the enemy spawns gives you some extra time to prepare for the next attack.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]