Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Blockboy

by cheesewhiz999 - Compo Entry

A very difficult platformer which uses 4 different mechanics in 7 different levels.

press f to fullscreen and g to exit fullscreen.

Unfortunately I was unable to finish the boss, so the game does not have it, but the level is still in the capx if you want to edit it yourself.

Made with Construct 2.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#51Theme4.13
#51Audio3.80
#173Innovation3.63
#180Fun3.56
#265Overall3.44
#288Graphics3.44
#2028Coolness22%

Comments

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:48pm

Idea is nice and levels are good.
Also, that 8-bit background music was nice.
But it became too hard for me too quickly. :P

Btw, if comments to my game you said that you got a error. I don't actually know what's wrong, but I tweaked my game a bit. It may work for you now. Try again if you want.

CMLSC says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:55pm

The thing I liked most was... The tutorial. XD Other games don't explain how the shapeshifting works. :P

PremadeGames says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:53pm

I liked your idea.. but the controls are not working on QWERTZ keyboards

grayhaze says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:13pm

I had a lot of fun with this, but two things got in the way. The first was working out how to go through the door at the end of the tutorial. Perhaps I missed an instruction somewhere that you have to press Enter?

The second was my brain having difficulty with the fact that I needed to press space to rocket jump with the blue shape, then the up arrow to jump when I switched back to another shape. Maybe the blue shape should always rocket jump instead of a regular jump?

Both small details that didn't detract from my enjoyment too much, and I can see that a lot of hard work went into this. Well done!

monkeybit29 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:54pm

my controls worked fine, its a good game. music is pretty sweet

HolyBlackCat says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:23pm

Hello again. Another guy with same crash of my game as you found a solution. Can you try the updated version please?

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:20am

It wont take me to the next level :( Let me know when it's fixed and ill try again for and rate it!

avinashd says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:07am

I really liked the tutorial level, but wow, the levels were difficult. Not really my thing, but people do appreciate hard games.

I was actually stuck on the tutorial until I read grayhaze's comment about pressing Enter.

sftrabbit says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:38pm

Nice simple mechanics - honestly would be a bit more enjoyable if it didn't involve extremely accurate jumps to avoid hitting things that send you back to the start of the level. At those points it just felt like random luck when I managed to do it. There are definitely other ways you could have made it hard, but also less frustrating! The music is cool!

AngerFork says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:12pm

Loved the tutorial, love the ideas. The arrow key to jump felt weird to me, but very cool. Found myself unable to get past the first fire stars...no ability seemed to work and was easily cornered in by them.

lanestp says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:59pm

That was REALLY hard. I enjoyed the tutorial then I hit the solid brick wall of the first level. A little more balanced curve and it would be great!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]