Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Amorphosis

by NvrSkipGameDay - Jam Entry

Amorphosis was created in 72 hours for the Ludum Dare 35 Game Jam.

Art: Noah Banks
Code: Ariel Banks (NvrSkipGameDay)

Music: "Video Dungeon Boss"
Kevin MacLeod (incompetech.com)
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/


*Fullscreen not recommended

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#81Theme(Jam)4.03
#391Humor(Jam)2.72
#392Graphics(Jam)3.60
#591Fun(Jam)3.06
#611Mood(Jam)3.00
#665Overall(Jam)3.11
#1012Innovation(Jam)2.36

Comments

Jaenis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:28am

Nice little game, loved the animations!
It would have been nice if you could use up arrow to change shape back to previous, missed the target so many times

distemp7 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:37am

Good game, pretty good graphics and funny music. I think it needs prediction of next shape like tetris (or "shapes wheel").

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:39am

Fit the theme !!
Harder than what's look like !

SeaDads says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:37am

Easy to pick up. Lots of character in the presentation and appropriately chosen music.

The one way cycling of shapes makes it pretty punishing, particularly at this look ahead distance. Not necessarily a bad thing, but the difficulty is immediately quite high.

Would be nice if the menu's were keyboard controlled, just to stay in the flow of the game more on failure. It's the kind of game where you want to minimize the restart time.

Are some of the holes shapes that are non selectable? For a second I thought that some of the shapes could go through a few different holes (ones that were oriented differently) and I thought that was a nice twist, but then I turned out to be wrong.

Ryusui says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:25am

Clever concept, great graphics, though the implementation seemed a little fudgy. Also, I wish I could cycle morphs in reverse.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Thanks for the critiques everyone. Originally the character could cycle in reverse but I somehow broke it right before the submission deadline. When I fix this game for post Ludum Dare that is the first thing on my list.

@SeaDads Yes, some of the holes are non-selectable shapes, they're meant to throw the player off. Ideally I wouldn't have those spawning right from the get-go, I agree its confusing. Another thing to fix in the post LD version, for sure.

@distemp7 The shape prediction is also a great idea. It would definitely help if I ported this to mobile.

Thanks again for all your input everyone, I'll pass along the art compliments to my teammate. :)

Allthebees says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:48pm

A really fun and cute little game. The animations for the player blob were great and it was a real joy and pretty addictive to play. Nice work!

tweedle says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Haha, I'm terrible at this game! The animations were great, looks like shape shifting hurts! - T

rahulparihar says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:05pm

A pretty nice little game. Fun to play. Love the character animations. :)

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:42am

Cute idea!

Imperial Unit says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:08am

Simple concept, but very polished and complete product, graphics, music etc. all come together nicely, looks great and it runs smoothly. As mentioned already the controls are a bit difficult without reverse cycle, and the collision with the holes feels like it happens a little early because of the perspective view on the wood.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Thanks everyone. If it's any consolation, I too am terrible at this game. My teammate (and artist) is actually really good at it somehow, his high score is 86? I don't even know how that happens - magic, probably.

@Imperial Unit - an excellent point about the collision and perspective, definitely going on my list of things to fix.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:02am

Looks great graphically. Some indication of the shape order would be a nice addition

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:55am

I was honestly surprised at what a mental challenge the game became once you start contending with multiple hole shapes at once. This is a charming game, and I enjoyed playing it a bunch! My highest scores tended to be when I happened to get lots of the same hole shape in a row -- in the post-jam version that you mentioned, it might be worth tweaking the randomization a bit. Nice work!!

lanestp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:24am

Nice shape matching game. One of the better ones this year. I could have used a little earlier indicator for upcoming shapes. All in all good job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:39am

I wish it had a next shape up thing. Animation is cute. Overall pretty cool.

danbolt says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:42am

Good one-touch game! I can see how a this game translates to mobile really eloquently. The faces were fun to watch change as well.

I found I had a really short window to change to the next pattern, and I got the impression that there were holes I didn't have any forms for, which was a bit frustrating. Overall though, the core mechanics are in a good place.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:38pm

Thanks again for all your input everyone - seriously these critiques are really helpful and will go a long way to making this game better. You all rock.

strife47 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:10pm

I really liked the game, it's hard as hell but that's ok. Also, if you play it in full screen, can see the preload of the figures to the left lol.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:25pm

Haha I know! It's embarrassing, but I didn't have time to get rid of the full screen icon. So just enjoy the weirdness, I guess. :P

Sean says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:57pm

Nice graphics, but I found the game to be a bit boring.

One thing I noticed was that the check for which shape you are seems to start at the the very top of the hole graphic, despite the hole being a little ways further down in the texture. It tricks you into thinking you have a split second longer than you actually have.

Chase_of_Bass says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 5:40am

pretty cool game! nice work!

Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:54pm

Really fun game but very hard to get the right shape in time. Fantastic concept and game mechanic.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 6:25pm

Thank you! :) Definitely fixing the difficulty curve of this game when we revamp it.

Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Nice entry, my personal highscore is 39 after several tries. The shape mechanics works well, it's pretty fun to play and I especially loved the super-smooth metamorphosis animations. The idea is also pretty funny and I found that the little animation at the beginning was a nice detail. My only tiny complaint would be the fact that menu should be controlled with keyboard as the gameplay itself requires those inputs.

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Rad entry at all.
The idea (reminding me the entries I've seen in that "music fiting style" but more focused in art, which is awesome too), and may I say the animations and the artwork is really well done. Good use of the theme, nice work.

Sabina Lis says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 2:08am

Nice game, it was fun, thanks!

LeReveur says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Ha ha I really like the fun faces it makes when shapeshifting ! XD

TheCain says ...
May 6, 2016 @ 4:26am

It looked good. You should add a keyboard shortcut for a quick restart

Ellian says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 11:37am

Really good graphics! The gameplay was a bit simple, but I liked the idea of having holes that are not actual possible shapes. Good work anyway!

May 9, 2016 @ 1:06pm

Nice suggestions, definitely adding a keyboard shortcut in there in a future update (theoretically next week or so). Thanks again to everyone that took the time to play our game! I seriously appreciate all the fantastic feedback.

01010111 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:29pm

Cool game - I want to echo keyboard controls for the menus would have made it a lot easier to continue playing

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]