Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Walker

by Yetikatt - Jam Entry

Join Raven on her journey north, and help her overcome perilous monsters and obstacles.

Made for the Ludum Dare 35 72 Hour Jam.

Controls
- LEFT/RIGHT or A/D: turn around

- UP or W: move forwards

- DOWN or S: move backwards

- 1: Change into human (from other forms)

- 2: Change into raven (from other forms/requires raven mask)

- 3: Change into wolf (from other forms/requires wolf mask)

- SPACEBAR [Hold Down to fly/sneak]:

o Jump (as human)
o Fly (as Raven, depletes magic energy)
o Sneak (as Wolf, deplete magic energy, sneak stops you from making noise when walking through tall grass and alerting monsters)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#39Overall(Jam)4.03
#95Mood(Jam)3.87
#124Graphics(Jam)4.16
#134Theme(Jam)3.93
#199Audio(Jam)3.54
#208Fun(Jam)3.53
#342Humor(Jam)2.83
#472Innovation(Jam)3.14

Comments

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:03am

Very nice game, loved the graphics. The sneaking was a bit wonky, it felt like no matter what I did, the ghosts always found me :/

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:26am

Amazing entry! Very enjoyable, great mood, thanks to the music and nice graphical style. The controls were a little awkward, but overall very impressive!

Yetikatt says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:55am

Thanks guys! The sneaking at the moment just stops you from making noise whilst moving through bushes, but the monsters can still see you, I'd wanted to put it in proper hiding but ran out of time!

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:27pm

Very nice game, loved the graphics. Great aesthetic and fun gameplay. A solid entry. Well done ++

Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:06pm

Very polished game, nice!

AbelToy says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:53pm

I enjoyed it a lot.

siryakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 11:05am

Some improvement on the stealth system, but overall great looking and fun game

LinealGames says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:48pm

Really fun game with amazing graphics! Sneaking didn't seem to work though.

CoderJoe says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:05pm

Very good game! Great low-poly graphics! Got lost multiple times on the last section with the snow. Might want to add some more directions somehow.

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:06pm

The game fits the theme perfectly. I like the graphical style.

Rock Eaters says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 9:25pm

really nice graphiks and ideas

BOBBICHON says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Wonder game

adrian09_01 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 1:34pm

Good game. A guaranteed win!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 2:58pm

I love the graphics. Nice game keep up :)
try our game ;)
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

stalker1586 says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 3:37pm

So... very sweet girl, very nice graphics, very nice music, and pity that I wasn't able to fly over the waterfall. Low skill is so low.

Riftpoint says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:39pm

Really cool game, loved the art style and the mood. Very fun to play

gillenew says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Totally awexome!!

Four Quarters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:42pm

nice looks game

CheesyRamen says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 4:51pm

Loved playing this! Great visual look and really polished! Well done!

MayankUnreal says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Nice use of particle physics nice anims and cg. Overall game design is awesome

oparisy says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:18pm

A very solid entry: great graphics, some animations, very nice lighting. Enemies were creepy, as was the night settings. Nice levels too. The player was a bit hard to control, especially in human form, and the jumps rather unforgiving. Great game anyway.

danielilett says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 7:25pm

The sneaking mechanics could do with some refinement, as the monsters always found me (I didn't finish the game because of that), and the controls were a tiny bit awkward. However,the low-poly graphical style was very pretty and the sounds and music were really well-made. Good use of the theme too, as different areas required different shapeshift forms. It also has a great mood, better than all of the games I've played so far. I really like it - I hope you continue to develop it and flesh out some of the mechanics!

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:37pm

That was pretty good. I'm not a fan of tank controls, but the graphics were pretty good, and I liked the story.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:06am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

Yetikatt says ...
May 11, 2016 @ 9:11pm

Thanks for all the votes guys and feedback guys! We were pretty chuffed with coming 39th overall. We'll definitely looking forward to developing this further.

@Marius that's been uploaded at: http://www.indiexpo.net/en/games/walker
:)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]