Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

It got Paul! And now it's coming for US!!!

by UnlikelyRogue - Jam Entry

Play as a hungry shape-shifting flesh eating blob-monster thing. Find and eat all of the workers in a tiny sea-lab amidst a foreboding storm. Don't be seen while shape-shifting or eating, or the guards will find you and burn you up! Wait for them to sleep before you strike!

Controls are:

WASD - movement
Spacebar - Eat
1-0 - shape-shift into one of your victims.

When you are shape-shifted into a person, it drains your energy. Once you are out, you will revert to your original form. Good Luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Theme(Jam)4.37
#11Mood(Jam)4.32
#44Innovation(Jam)4.05
#83Overall(Jam)3.89
#86Audio(Jam)3.84
#87Fun(Jam)3.79
#184Graphics(Jam)4.00
#1854Coolness30%

Comments

snowyowl says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:02pm

It's a fun idea, and I loved "The Thing". But I couldn't enjoy this game because it was so opaque. It's impossible to tell if you're going to be spotted when eating a human, because you can't see the guards unless they can see you too. There's not even a line-of-sight indicator that shows you the places you know are clear.

It's a very clever feature that if you shapeshift or kill someone while another person is watching, they'll remember and recognise you as a shapeshifter the next time they see you use that form. Very clever indeed. The trouble is there's hardly any chance to use it, because guards will just kill you immediately while scientists will scream and attract guards who kill you immediately.

I never managed to actually escape from a guard once they were alerted to me. The map has so many dead ends that no matter where I am the guards constantly have me cornered. Is there some way to hide in a cupboard or something until the heat dies down?

Anyway, it's a very clever game, the graphics are lovely and the music and SFX really sell the atmosphere. It was just a bit too frustrating for me.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00am

It's intentionally difficult, but we would have loved to add more depth to it - and given time, we certainly would have. Sorry you found it too difficult to enjoy, we still really appreciate the feedback - thanks for checking it out!

bagface says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:20am

Very Fun! Would love to play a more in depth version. Great game.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12am

And we'd love to make a more in depth version haha, thanks for the comment :)

TheCain says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:10am

Finally beat it. Got a bit boring at the end because all that was left was guards, so i had to wait for them to go to bed. Very solid idea though.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:10am

Ha, yeah, towards the end it's not quite as exciting - something we could rectify with a bit more time developing things. But glad you enjoyed it!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:22am

Very fun

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:29am

I want to like this game because the concept is cool but the gameplay is a little clunky. The controls are stiff, even though I'm a human I get torched, the camera is zoomed out so it's hard to see. Mostly getting torched as a human is pretty annoying. More feedback as to why things are happening would go a long way. Cool concept and art though, just needs more attention to game feel.

Mr MadCat says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:39am

Fun idea. However there seems to be some bug with the line of sight, which leads to frustrating moments. E.g you kill someone in a room, who should be alone and suddenly a person of a other room starts to scream. But still I like the realization of the idea. The music and the sound effects really contribute a lot towards the atmosphere. All in all well done.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40am

You will only ever be torched if one of the characters sees you transform or eat someone. Once that happens, it's all over! haha. Sorry it wasn't entirely to your liking, but thank you for the feedback.

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:41am

Thanks MadCat - it should be noted all the doors have windows, so people can see through them. A general rule is if you can see them, they can see you. Thanks for the feedback though!

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:56am

@ Monkey Foundry - thanks :)

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:11pm

Nice approach to theme, pretty hard to play though

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

I like the "The thing" vibes of this game! The idea is excellent, the gameplay in itself is a little hard to get because it seems like the guards will find you whatever you do, so it can be discouraging.

This is the kind of game that will benefit immensely from a better leraning curve, which at the moment seems a little too steep. I think it is a great game at its core.

Raphael_ says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Awesome, no complaints

UnlikelyRogue says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:23pm

@ vctr_seleucos - Ideally a more fleshed out game would have a gentler introduction, no disagreement here.

@fullmontis - It takes a little patience to learn how to avoid the guards, but yeah they are definitely tough!

@Raphael_ - thank you! Glad you enjoyed it.

Thanks for the feedback guys!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:00pm

Spooky! I love games where you really need to study, sit, and wait to plot your next nefarious move. The mood in this is MAXED.

Ithildin says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Great homage to "The Thing!". I agree to some extent with the other posters about when to know if you're being seen or not, but other than that the game is brilliant. Music helps creating a tense atmosphere, and I really like the pixel art graphics.

So far I've only managed to eat 3 people before getting roasted, but I've had a more than decent amount of fun. You should really keep working on it! :)

eduardogacn says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:49pm

Good Game :)

Rock Eaters says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 12:57am

I'm a big fan of carpenter movie "the thing", and your game is great "The Thing" like game :) i spend many time to get them all, and transform many even when its not important just for fun. Adding a little more ai or maybe just "memorie of who is where the last time i see him" could be awesome and make it really replayable to infinity ^^ you made my day ^^

UnlikelyRogue says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:24pm

@ Brian - Our sound guy is very pleased you liked the mood, thanks!

@Ithildin - LOS indicators would have been really good to add with more time, we hear you. Thanks for the suggestions and feedback.

@eduardogacn - haha, thank you.

@Rock Eaters - Completely agree on the more advanced AI - and it was originally intended to work that way, but we just ran out of time! If we revisit the project, there's a lot of things we'd love to add based on the feedback given here. Thanks for taking the time to check it out!

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:11am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

UnlikelyRogue says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 6:19pm

@Marius - It is done! Thanks for the kind words.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]