Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

i drew this because i was bored

by DragonZBW (SparkLight Games) - Jam Entry

You are a character, scribbled out on a sheet of notebook paper. You were drawn for a purpose. But what was that purpose? Shapeshift your way through a world of sketches as you quest towards... what, exactly?

~Game contains 8 levels, and is beatable in less than 10 minutes. Please play the entire game for accurate judging.~

Controls:
- arrow keys to move
- z to shapeshift

You can also get the soundtrack here if you're interested: https://dragonzbw.bandcamp.com/album/i-drew-this-because-i-was-bored-ost

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#34Mood(Jam)4.13
#39Overall(Jam)4.03
#44Theme(Jam)4.18
#69Graphics(Jam)4.36
#100Audio(Jam)3.79
#156Innovation(Jam)3.65
#272Fun(Jam)3.43

Comments

Munchy2007 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:00pm

Very unusual style of graphics. The title really doesn't do the game justice. I love the soundtrack too.

Really nice game and not at all what I was expecting.

EstrelSteel says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:03pm

The art style is incredible.... At one point I did fall out of the map.

bagface says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:09pm

Great art style. Fun transforming mechanic.

mf1214 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:10pm

Amazing graphics style. Great implementation of the theme. Well done!

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:22pm

Love it! Very clever narrative and nice mood. I like how a lot of the levels had some sort of trick to them. The last level required a too much precision to get right and took me way too long, but the game overall was great. Fantastic work.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Excellent job.

Good use of your art style to create a setting and motivation for the story.

I flew out of bounds once and I'm not sure how to reset a level, so I had to restart the game after that. Otherwise, very well executed.

I love it.

Drusilla says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:28pm

It was fun to look at and to play, especially the last level.

sndr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

I enjoyed the play and the last level was so fun!
It was nice the way you set the mood and how well it matched the artstyle. :)

AnaGF says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:54pm

Wow! It is a great LD entry. Graphics are really original, audio is beautiful, and funny gameplay. Nice story too!

mukult says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:56pm

OMG the art style!!! Absolutely wonderful... I have always tried to nail the art style like this... but it was just so hard...

The feel and the polish is just perfect!! Very solid entry to the game jam!! Love the game!

EthanBierlein says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:34am

This is amazing! The art style and the music blend together so well, and create something that I think is very, very unique experience.

Corinator says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:55am

Fantastic game! Love the art style!

Pierre says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:07am

Great game !
But I always died because of the eraser, can we finish the game ?

Xanjos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:53pm

Absolutely loved the art style and the gameplay mechanics work really well. Those black blobs are pretty relentless though.

ajhc says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:36pm

Very lovely. Got stuck on a level though, when you go through some tight spikes underwater and there are enemies straight after. Idk, I tried a few different approaches but wasn't sure what to do. Dying in this is very frustrating since movement is slow and it's such a mellow feeling world and this just kinda put me off working through it in the end. Really lovely sketch art & animations, though, and you set the atmosphere very well.

bigmangames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:22am

Good job on actually making the different forms move and feel different from one another.

kariamoss says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Unusual style but very cool! Very good game! :)

TiByte says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:14pm

This game is gorgeous BUT: I CAN'T DEFEAT IT!!! The hand is way to fast, or the squid is way to slow. I just came to the U-shaped point, before jumping out of the water.

ORECROS says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:54pm

You managed to actually make the different forms feel different. which is really good compared to what others have done. last level is a bit TOO difficult.

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:03am

this game was so relaxing really great work

andyman404 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:00am

Awesome game! I loved the hand-drawn notebook doodle aesthetic. Excellent shifting mechanic. Great work!

SHLFStudios says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:43pm

This game was really well put together, but you lost me with the difficulty curve at the end. escaping the eraser just seemed impossible to accomplish. well done game though!

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:30pm

Lovely cute game! The unusual graphics contribute a lot to the concept and mood.

11Schotter says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Amazing! This one deserves much higher attention!

xesf says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 10:27pm

Brilliant game. I loved the octopus and bird ;)

Reis Mahnic says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 12:10am

STUNNING visuals. Loved the atmosphere and music too.
Really excellent job.

deepnight says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 8:35am

Very nice idea :) The control could be better (especially the way you change into a bird), but it was fun to play!

MintArcade says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Great art style - love it. Great use of the theme.

TheCain says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:11pm

'Less then 10 minutes.' that last level took me over 20
That last level is way too hard.
But other than that I liked it.

Marius says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 11:06am

Hi, nice game and congratulations ! We're realizing a video with several winners of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]