Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

SHAPECYCLE

by bison - Jam Entry

In SHAPECYCLE you have to travel as far as possible.
You can change the form of your -motor-shapecycle to pass obstacles.
Everything that you touches (except the floor and ceiling) will damage your bike.

### Controls ###

Those are the default controls

* Move forward/backward
** A, D
** LEFT ARROW, RIGHT ARROW
* ShapeShift
** LEFT CONTROL, LEFT SHIFT, SPACE
** LEFT MOUSE, RIGHT MOUSE, MIDDLE MOUSE

* gamepads
** vary too much to be securely described

### Play ###

* You might want to play the native version for your Platform
* You can use an X-Box Controller
* If you use a gamepad you should use the shoulder buttons for the ShapeShifting device
* The webplayer does not fit in very well, use the scrollbars to get the Unity full screen button on the lower right to play with maximum comfort

### Credits ###

WAT?
* made for Ludum Dare 35 (Shapeshift)
Where?
* @chaosdorf <3 (thanks to all people who helped an supported us!)

Visuals
* ALL 3D models by @YukuruWusky (thank you!!1! <3)
* MineTurtle by @frogsicle7 \o/
* Textures were bought in the UnityAssetStore (except the MineTurtle!)

Audio
* most Soundeffects are from freesound.org
https://www.freesound.org
* Part of the GameOver sound is from @Dr_Stahl_SG
* UFO sound is recorded from mynoise.net
http://mynoise.net/NoiseMachines/spaceshipNoiseGenerator.php

### known bugs ###

* the web-build has a game breaking bug when it comes to not very well configured analog sticks on gamepads
* the web-build does not show the game logo O.o

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#285Theme(Jam)3.67
#423Innovation(Jam)3.20
#448Overall(Jam)3.33
#528Fun(Jam)3.13
#539Graphics(Jam)3.33
#1979Coolness24%

Comments

Mordokay says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:08am

Very fun game and definitely original in its own right. Animations and sound work very well and enemies/obstacles are challenging and well built.
One thing I would have changed for myself was making the bike vertical movement faster (Top->Bottom Bottom-> Top). Overall a very good gameplay experience. +1

toastedgames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:52am

I was a fan of the graphics, very well done!

fistmaker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:56am

Interesting take on the theme!

gglyptodon says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:37am

I may be biased... BUT THIS IS AMAZING!!!!!
And quite challenging (especially without gamepad) :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:02pm

Great game.
Since I've had a peek during development, I just want to add:
Graphics and sound really work well together.
Graphics of the mineturtle don't blend in, but no one cares because MINETURTLE xD

Anyways, I'd love to see a soft, cyberish soundtrack and maybe some highscores (reached 300 with 103 shift power left or reached 300 in 3.76 seconds) being implemented.

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:36pm

Nice idea, a different take on shapeshift

Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:09pm

Nice game with many dimension shifting.

curtamyth says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 10:01pm

Psst...you shouldn't ask for ratings on audio or graphics if they weren't all made during the 72 hours. Just an FYI.

alsantour says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 11:17pm

extra points for sad trupmet :P

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]