Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Who Are You And What Are You Doing Here??

by Shatter Point Studios - Jam Entry

A series of unbelievable robberies has the upscale community of Sanctuary Bay on edge. Security camera footage has shown the perpetrators of these crimes to be the victims themselves, though they claim to have no memory of the events.

The most recent of these robberies was stopped when a homeowner arrived as the crime was taking place. Caught in the act, the thief suddenly appeared to transform into someone else and escaped just as the authorities were arriving.

Faced with a thief that could look like anyone, the paranoid citizens of Sanctuary Bay have stationed guards all throughout their homes; restricted access to certain rooms only to the people that are supposed to be there. Anyone that is seen will be questioned about who they are, asked questions that only they will know the answers to.

If that transforming creep wants to steal what’s ours, he’s going to have do a bit of research first…

Controls:
WASD to move
Arrows to shapeshift
Numberpad 1-3 to answer questions
Backspace to leave separate screens
Space to open vault
Numberpad to enter code for vault

Updated 10:46PM 4/18/16
-Fixed issue crashing game at the beginning
-Fixed double description box
-Fixed bug keeping time from always counting down


NOTES:

We worked until the last minute on this, and we are aware that there are some bugs, and controls are not bvery clear. That said, we're immensely proud of the work we've done over the last 72 hours for our first game jam. This is a project we'd love to continue refining and working on, so any feedback you can give us would be greatly appreciated :D

Thanks,
Shatter Point Studios

===========================================================================

This game was made in a meetup hosted by Lone Star College as an event for students in the game design degree. If you like this game please check out the games made by our fellow students.

Star Buddy
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=89952

Liquify
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=89326

Gene Goes to the Zoo
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=93097

===========================================================================

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#402Innovation(Jam)3.23
#509Humor(Jam)2.50
#530Theme(Jam)3.37
#662Audio(Jam)2.31
#804Mood(Jam)2.74
#821Graphics(Jam)2.85
#826Fun(Jam)2.76
#842Overall(Jam)2.93

Comments

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:56am

Seems like a great concept. I got stuck in several places, unable to get out of a screen or dialogue. I liked the combination of a top-down map and the illustrated scenes for looking for clues. Wish I could have gotten further. Congrats on what you created!

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:10am

1.) I think this sentence in your description might need some rework: "Security camera footage has shown the victims of these crimes to be the victims themselves." -- Maybe you meant one of those "victims" to be "perpetrators"? -- Otherwise, it doesn't really have any meaning.

2.) I tried the updated version. It eventually crashed with this message: "Unbalanced surface stack. You MUST use surface_reset_target() for each set." -- Also, the game kept dumping me out of full screen mode (especially with all of those damn pop-ups).

3.) Finally, the controls and UX could use some work. Having to turn on num lock and use the number pad is not very friendly. And if you make the user use WASD *and* the arrow keys, then it's more intuitive to let them move using the arrow keys.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:48am

Think with more time and polish you potebtially created a really good indie game...Great work!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:52pm

@BrainSlugs83

Fixed the typo, thanks! Regarding the controls and message boxes, we made a lot of choices that were supposed to be temporary, but in the chaos of trying to get it done in 72 hours were left in. Our plan is to hopefully make some tweaks and release a "post-jam" version that is a little more user friendly.

Thanks for the feedback!

sudorossy says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:00pm

I got stuck on a point+click adventure style-screen, the popups at the beginning of the game could be a screen themselves, but the gameplay did seem pretty interesting, art was okay!

ketura says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:10pm

Kind of a buggy mess; it crashed on me once and not knowing the backspace button I thought it had frozen. The controls that you have listed on this page need to be listed within the game itself...and some of them are nonstandard at best. Why can't I hit esc to exit a screen? The answers to questions should have been answerable with the mouse, I mean, you obviously had hit detection in for the full-screen scenes.

Not a bad premise for a game, but I would have played up the different identities and abandoned the security questions altogether...why are the guards grilling members of the household?

glitchu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16pm

I can see alot of work has been put into this. With some time and polishing this could make a very interesting game. I like the detective work that you give the player to work out but I feel like you could just memorise the answers and use that for the next run. Overall good job :)

Yword says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Really interesting and great idea! Well done for your first game jam!

Cowa says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:10pm

It's hard to know what to do sometimes. But wow, there must be a lot of work put in it. Good job :)

Pontifex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:46pm

Great concept. Game would be fun, even unpolished, but I wasn't able to find more than two digits anywhere.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:32pm

Interesting idea. I like it! Some sounds would improve a lot the game. Good work overall!

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:48am

seems like i'm hitting a bug where i can't scroll through text as well. Let me know when it's patched and i'll try again! won't rate until It's fixed!

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:47am

Aww, I wanted to try this! the characters at the top left have very cute portraits. I get stuck in the screen at the back of the house, so I can't rate it yet -- shapeshifting doesn't seem to work for me :) Will be good to see after bugs are fixed :)

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:30am

Good game concept and gameplay like me, I think if polished a little more and add a few more things would be great. Good job guys :D

nuuup says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:22pm

a bit weird with graphics.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:08am

well done!

drazil100 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:47pm

Had trouble with a couple things. couldn't answer questions even after I found out the buttons were 123. (putting a number next to the answer would have solved my confusion there). The graphics made me feel like I was playing my Atari again. If this is what you were going for, remember pixel art is best when it is precise and consistent. (this is Aaron BTW)

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:56pm

Awesome job!!! I love Game Maker games! This idea is different than any of the other games I've played this past week which is awesome!!!! Nice work on combining adventure with puzzles!!!

RealityCheck says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:56am

Yeah, I'm sorry. I tried 4 times, but I got stuck on the first courtyard point-and-click style screen. I did like what I saw of the graphics, but unfortunately I could not play the game.

terryg says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 10:34pm

The graphics look great and the concept is nice. Got stuck in a room with some flowers and other stuff.

CaptainPilot says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 9:15pm

Pretty cool :) Trying to get out of rooms left me just mashing the whole keyboard lol - I should've read the instructions better! But yeah, cool concept

sathomason says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 8:36pm

Interesting, but I found the point-and-click to be a little jarring. Also when I went into the area with the fountain, my character spun backward into infinity and when I left the room he was no where to be seen. Hrm. Some stealthy music would help add to the mood, also.

May 6, 2016 @ 12:19am

Lovely concept, but it does need a bit more polish. The overhead navigation had too many areas that were blocked that just didn't look like they should be blocked. I love how you really do need to ready and study each room before moving on.

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:05am

Cool idea. This is the type of thing that should be expanded upon.

May 24, 2016 @ 4:02am

I had a fantastic time playing this and can't wait to see how it develops! Thanks for letting me cover it on The Daily Fandom's channel!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RJlc_TV2arM

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]