Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Bloodbearer

by emielboven - Jam Entry

Save the town from the ancient evil that lurks within its walls.

DISCLAIMER
This game is stitched together by two artist who know a tiny bit of code and have no talent for music so if you run into errors/crashes or find the music is unbearable we hope you can forgive us :)

Note: After the werewolf you win the game, but we didn't have time left to get that in there so you pretend you see a victory screen then ;)

INSTRUCTION

WASD to move.
Mouse to aim and attack.
E to interact.

Created by @EmielBoven & @Coen_Balkestein

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#350Graphics(Jam)3.68
#427Mood(Jam)3.25
#515Fun(Jam)3.15
#520Audio(Jam)2.88
#625Overall(Jam)3.15
#675Humor(Jam)2.15
#1052Innovation(Jam)2.23
#1131Theme(Jam)1.75

Comments

ALobker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:48pm

Very cool, although there was not a lot of shape shifting involved.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Cute little skeletons, really polished

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:52pm

Pretty neat at first but no shapeshifting and the ghost thing made the game crash !

jk5000 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:53pm

The game is okay, but I find it a bit too difficult. The visual style and music is great. Overall well done.

EighthNote says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:54pm

This is really fun! Love the art, and the combat feels good.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:55pm

I like the clean graphical style. The game was a little too easy, enemies seem to drop around me without me doing almost anything. I also killed the werewolf in just seconds without getting hit. I think it should be more challenging. I also don't see how thia game was inspired by the theme. But I still think it was a fun little game.

fafastudio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:57pm

Nice little game, good graphics , maybe you should add a "block" option at least against skilets so the game would be easier and more fun :) Special mention for the werewolf , he's really bad ass :p

sol_hsa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Can you make a webgl export?

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Really well done. I really liked the art and the crispness of the controls. I didn't see how it fit the theme but overall great game. Right clicking in the game made it crash for me, but I did make it to the imaginary victory screen! Yay!

Haighstrom says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:59pm

A nice little hack-n-slash. I really liked the character animations, and the accompanying swishes and swooshes sound effects. The music was very good and set a great mood for the game. The combat felt a bit simple and repetitive: run backwards while spamming attacks got you through most of the game. The game crashed when I got killed by a ghost. Overall pretty decent.

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:00pm

You had my heart pumping there!!! Fun game!

Monklet80 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:04pm

A game of tactical retreats. :D Very enjoyable, I liked learning how to fight, you had a cool big boss. No complaints, really. Nice one.

CoderDozer says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:06pm

Just like how I play dark souls, "run away". Awesome artwork.

stefenism says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:08pm

I thought this game was awesome! Well done. The art was good, the music was fitting and the gameplay was solid. I can't help but think that you were thinking about dark souls as well the entire weekend.

homeworld says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:08pm

The character feels like it slides a little too much and might have been a little too easy. However art, music, combat all we're great.

allstar602 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:15pm

Awesome, the graphics were enjoyable. I was wondering when the shapeshifting was going to happen. I liked how it was at the end. However, to make it more dramatic, you should center the camera on the werewolf when he is transforming.

HuvaaKoodia says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:23pm

The graphics are pretty good and the idea is great. I can't see the theme applied at all, but that's not a biggie. It is gameplay that bothers me.

There's no sense of weight to your movements or attacks. The character is always sliding around no matter the facing direction. Even when attacking there's no slowdown.

The skeletons also move at a constant speed directly towards the player, getting stuck on fences and obstacles in the process. You could use the Unity pathfinding system to avert that. It's not difficult to set up, look it up.

Another issue is taking damage. There are no invincibility frames after taking a hit meaning a group of enemies can slice you to pieces in an instant. The enemy attack animation should have a slight delay before inflicting damage to indicate that harm is on its way.

The ghost is a rather neat adversary, but really hard to dodge without a dodge roll (which would be a nice feature).

The boss monster has telegraphed attacks and is slower than the skellingtongs so good job on that.

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:32pm

Really nice game. The repeating music started getting on my nerves though.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:24pm

No shape shifting here folks. Art was good, combat was simple- just run backward and slash. if you try to fight they just seem to hit you even when they're not near you. could use more blob enemies. final boss just stood there will I killed him before he ever attacked and then nothing else happened so I guess I beat it? Fun game overall, good mood.

KappaIX says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:31pm

Really got into it. Killed the boss (woop woop). My favourite bit was actually the character sprite, really liked it.

Well done!

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:34pm

As a fan of dark souls games, I enjoyed the mood very much, congratulations for the map it was amazing and really big! Also the promo image is really cool, and the animations and sfx are really polished! Really good entry

You should definetly check LICH, our entry is based on Skelletons too! I think you will enjoy it and we would really appreciate your feedback Emielboven :)

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:40pm

Was a bit too easy, especially the werewolf. But I really love the graphics and it seems pretty polished

Solocov says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:46pm

Nice graphical style, really liked the animations of the characters.
Some suggestions:
-Lower the experience curve, this leads to more gameplay and more players can enjoy it
-Make the boss stronger... Alot!!
-SHAPESHIFTING where is it ?
-WebGL
-+(incase you dont know how to install it:)
-++Download the installer of Unity
-++Uncheck everything to install
-++Check the WebGL module
-++install it and start Unity :P
-Better feedback when your player dies, particles, small death animation, wait a little before resetting

But over all nice game :P

CaptainPilot says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:21pm

Very nice game - my favourite I've played so far :) I guess the boss is the shapeshift bit? That's kinda tenuous tho! I think I walked too far back on him and he despawned and wouldn't come back, so I couldn't complete the game :(

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:09am

The combat could use a bit of work to make it feel like you actually hit a target. But the art work is very nice.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:16am

The combat needs more work. It is difficult to see if they will attack me or not

Raptorij says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:35am

easy game very big attack splash

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:51am

Nice game!

WitchBoys says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:04am

Nice graphics but I don't see the theme.

MoreRPG Team says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16am

The art is very cool. Original and unusual.

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:31am

Amazing game, had a lot of fun playing it, always like hack-n-slash games, pretty difficult, which I found very appropriate(mini-mini-mini Dark Souls, with no saves). Would be nice to have GAME OVER screen, since when I completed the game, I was walking, searching for next level. I liked having variety of enemies, and EPIC BOSS BATTLE, but boss might have been more difficult to defeat.

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:12pm

cool game but crash when we die at level 2 !

madalaski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:14pm

Fluid combat, great artwork and the music was pretty good for 2 artists who have "no talent" for it.

Fumiko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:15pm

very moody title, had fun playing through the levels

Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Really hard game, nice graphics.

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:07pm

When you see this, contact me. http://ludumdare.com/compo/contact/

Millefey says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:41pm

Loved the style of this game, especially the main character! Was a bit of a tough cookie at first but I did beat it (though I'm not sure I saw the shapeshifting take place.. the boss died quickly). Great job though!

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:15pm

this game was quite cool but the music was really annoying

Gollunk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Good attempt, next time you should to improve your hitboxes : it's a bit ambigous. Don't see the shapeshifting stuff however.

LostViking says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:21pm

The game world is really good with nice graphics and character design. The gameplay felt responsiv and was fun at first but became a bit too easy and repetitiv.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:35pm

The graphics are very nice, and the overall combat is simple and fun, but I do agree that the music can get a little...intense on the ears. As a fellow artist though, I commend you for your coding abilities of which I have none, so good job making all of this in the limited time available!

Dyn says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:36pm

Cute game

TheCain says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:01am

Pretty Fun.
Hit detection was a little off, and the boss was very easy.

Roland M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:39am

Just great. =]

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:35am

Cute! I think maybe moving the healthbar so it doesn't seem to be falling off the top corner of the screen might help, it was actually quite hard to notice at first. And a death animation or screen could be nice :) I think removing the repeating ticking noise would greatly improve the music too, which is actually not bad! The animations were very nice, impressed for the short amount of time. Incidentally when the skeletons are at the bell, they often just get stuck on the platform, so I could just run up and poke them.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:51am

I like the look, and it feels good except that my sword swing radius seems like its too much. Alls I have to do is back up and wait until enemies get almost close enough to touch me and swing swing swing. I mean I know its alot to ask for something that looks so nice and was made in such a short time frame but I just wish there was more strategy to fighting. It feels fun, no doubt, but I'm not making any choices.

Also, I beat the werewolf on the first try because he got stuck on one of those green fire lanterns. I did get to watch him do some neat animations though.

Kudos!

zzapp says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:27am

Neat game, the graphics and audio were great and mechanics were really smooth, nice job.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:16am

Great artwork and nice gameplay. Good work!!!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:23am

Good, but not enough:P Pretty gameplay and sound

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:47am

cool entry but didnt saw much to any of shapeshifting. good game keep improving

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:58pm

Cool, not related to the theme at all and pretty fun to play. There were some graphical oddities (mostly missing walls) and I didn't like how the camera couldn't keep up with the player but the rest is all good and polished.

Micah Goodhue says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Overall pretty fun, I would love more health potions though. It also lagged a little bit here and there, that might just be on my end though

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:43pm

Very enjoyable. I would love to see you work more on this and make a (perhaps) lighthearted 2D Bloodborne!

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:59pm

Lovely animation, and the whole control felt good

Mieeh says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:18pm

Kinda awkward and clunky mechanics in my opinion but it worked okay. The graphics are nice though.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:22pm

The graphics are cool but the player control is a bit confused. The attack action is not fine. But overall is a good game, congratulations!

Cerberus says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:22pm

i liked some aspects of the game the graphics i loved, the animations where cool, the enemies where also cool. the environment i liked too except for the invisible walls. the control run smoothly but there are sometimes to many enemies at once, and little theme in it. overall great game!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Loved the graphics and the mood of it. The main mechanic was simple but enjoyable. It's a pretty difficult game! Also, my game crashed out at the ghost. Also also, you can delete the pdb files, apparently they are debug files. Also also also, I really liked the music and found the sword sound effects really effective. Looking forward to whatever it next!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:03pm

Nice job! I liked the aesthetics, artwork and music.

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:52pm

Way cool. Enjoyed the fight mechanics,graphics and atmosphere.

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:34pm

Very cool, it's funny. The music is crazy, I like it. ^^

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:48am

Cool, but that's no shape shifting at all

coborax says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:03pm

Didn't really know how this has something to do about shapeshifting?!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:09pm

It's hard to survive, I fancy your design !

Wusakko says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 7:36am

Nice game but how about the theme? And where did the werewolf go? :D

thebrainfuse says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 9:49am

Hard game... like the graphics though... it would have been nice to show that the player was facing forward and back as well instead of just left and right

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:22pm

Really love the art style! Really polished. Would love to see you guys take this further!

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:59pm

Very pretty but oh so difficult ^^' It might help if the enemies were a bit slower.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:18am

I'm all about that upward slash. Great Game.

Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:46am

Atmospheric 2D simple hardcore slasher. Unrelated to theme.

Shael says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:45am

Smooth gameplay. Nice work

Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:22am

Very cool game, it has allot of potential to be a great game.

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:15pm

Ok, should've guessed, a game by two artists looks great! The animations look really good, as do all the characters. Don't worry about the programming part, it's not an innate skill, but a learned one :)

The controls are a bit floaty and sometimes it's hard to see who you hit, when you swing. Very light on the shapeshifting too :D

Asturk says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Very good game, The graphics of it were great and the game mechanic is fun. I just think that should be a little more fight moves for the player, if you keep this project! and i feel the theme was kind missing too. But very good job!

tentacode says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:27pm

Cool graphics :) watch out for non azerty friendly inputs, also the reset was a bit hard upon dieying, a little timer could be nice !

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:33pm

I really liked the main character design.

tomlum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:35pm

Solid mechanics and wonderfully beautiful world.

Ibzy says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Nice fun and pretty game. Shapeshift was present with the werewolf at the end so ticked the boxes.
Combat seemed a little buggy where enemies would die without me attacking.

Beat the boss but had nowhere to go from there.

Freank says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Hi, nice game ! We're realizing a video with several games of the Ludum Dare #35.
Can you add your game on indiexpo.net ? (it's free)
So we can include also your game in the video ;)
p.s. write #LDJAM in the game's description

lumscum says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 4:09pm

Decently fun game! I would've liked to have a better indication that I was dying! Or some sort of "You Died" pop up! It was always jarring to just pop back at the start of the game.

markusfisch says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 4:53pm

Great graphics, animations and sound effects! Really sells the mood! Love it!

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:56pm

There's not much in terms of gameplay (seeing as your main forte is art rather than coding) but in terms of graphics, it's a pretty well polished entry.

mooncalf says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:21am

Great job. Was fun to play. It looked very nice and I think it may benefit from a pixel perfect camera.

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:35am

The game felt solid and good to play. However, when you get hit you don't have any feedback. I died many times without knowing why.

Reis Mahnic says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 6:21am

Really nice visuals. Core gameplay was responsive. Really tense, and a lot of that was helped by the audio, I think. Great work.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 10:51am

very well polished but damn its hard

Louspirit says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:23am

Great graphics and mood, congratulations guys!

terryg says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:25am

Very nicely done. Good graphics and nice game play. Another potion in the beginning would have been nice. I didn't get far enough to see how it fit the shape shifting.

APantaloni says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:59am

Enjoyable entry! A death animation would have been great, as is it's a bit sudden. Also when you are it there isn't much feedback besides the health bar going down. The boss is almost the easiest part. The characters and enemies graphics are cool and I also liked the music. Overall I'd say it's a very nice start and I hope to see this developed further.

okoto says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Conditions and feedback when taking damage should be clearer. About game design: invisible walls are the best option?, also it is possible to rush without actually playing. Overall: nice and beautiful.

Geckoo1337 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:21pm

Amazing work on the aesthetic. A good gameplay for those who like this genre. Really polished for a game which has been develloped in a few days. It reminds me Gauntlet. Well done ++

pixelpotions says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Solid entry! Had fun while playing. The only problem I had was that the music eventually became pretty repetitive, other then that excellent job!

chriiis88 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 4:34pm

It's unfinished (as you said) but quite fun nonetheless. A bit more feedback for hits on enemies would have been nice (screenshake, bones flying off, stuff like that).

CliffracerX says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:31pm

Not sure how this works with the theme, but fun none-the-less. The graphics were pretty nice, though the audio could've used a bit of work. Overall not too bad.

Aaranos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:54pm

I love the art and music. The gameplay is also pretty good, but some kind of delay after death would have added to it.

phoenix1987 says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:29pm

Clean fun game, good music. but im not sure where shape shifting comes into play though

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:36am

Very nice concept!

derr says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 3:57pm

I died a LOT but somehow you managed to make it not that frustrating. There is not a lot of random stuff going on, so with each run I could use my knowledge from a previous try. Combat was very difficult.. I couldn't figure out how to best avoid getting hit yet still getting my own damage in. Maybe a dodge or parry mechanic would be cool in a later update if you pursue this idea. Well done! :)

Kate Kligman says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:28pm

I like the pacing and enemy spawns. This is fun!

KairosXIII says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:09am

Love the art and animations. That ambiance audio track really set the mood.

May 6, 2016 @ 12:04am

The look, sound, and feel of this game are ON POINT. Didn't feel like the theme was well represented (Werewolf is a shapeshifter, I supposed). Mad props for having such a complete project, that's also a blast to play.

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 3:39pm

Really cool game! It felt a lot like Dark Souls to me :)
Great combat and atmosphere!

NightShadow0 says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 12:13am

Could use more feedback when you're hit, first time i died it just suddenly restarted and i didn't quite know what happened. The collision box is a bit off too, you can hit the enemies from quite a bit away, especially the boss; once i figured that out, the game became really easy. Solid entry though, nice work.

Ludipe says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Combat could use some improvements to make challenges deeper but the game is quite polished and the art is pretty cool, well done! :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]