Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Shapeshifting Blobs

by Spud - Compo Entry

A turn based strategy game where your units can change shape to serve different roles such as defender or ranged attacker.

The game has no AI players but you can play two player hot-seat.
Balancing is also terrible between the units

Created using the Godot game engine www.godotengine.org
Windows and web version

EDIT: Re-uploaded the web version so that the end turn button isn't behind the full-screen button


###########################################################################



This is my very first Ludum Dare competition entry

I haven't spent much time testing so there are probably quite a few bugs, but I haven't found any game breaking ones yet

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness91%
#358Theme3.52
#554Innovation2.96
#681Mood2.57
#751Fun2.69
#798Graphics2.35
#798Overall2.78

Comments

candlesan says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 2:33am

Interesting use of the theme! :) Would like to see more people try to make a strategy game with shapeshift mechanics.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 4:08am

Really liked the shapeshift idea here... Will be really interesting once the AI is done!

Check out my game, Tito's Revenge:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=65699

Dasginger says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:27am

Good use of the theme! I always love local multiplayer games, that was a really nice touch. Even if it did lead to me getting demolished by my little brother... Fun game!

cubegames13 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 12:08pm

I don't have any friends to play with but the game was still pretty fun!

Per says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Interesting twist on the turn-based strategy game mechanics.

ALobker says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:16pm

Was it just me or did anybody else have the 'fullscreen'-button over the 'end turn'-button?

lkr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Fun with a familiar style of gameplay, but using shifting mechanics to situationally adapt your units :)

Would have been great with an AI for those of us without a readily available local person to play with, but the time constraint is very understandable.

A couple of technical issues though:
Playing the web version - in both Firefox and Chrome on my Win 7 box, the fullscreen button is exactly on top of the end turn button. Playing in fullscreen (obviously) gets around this.

The game also refuses to run in private mode in FF (throwing an error), and crashes the browser in a normal window. Works without problems in Chrome though :)

bushmango says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:14pm

really fun but it stopped working in the middle of a good game.

Wevel says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:26am

Nice to see a multiplayer game, but some ai would still be nice

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:01pm

Interesting mechanics :)

Rulrite says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:20pm

Strategy games aren't usually my thing, but I can easily see how this game could be fun with two players. The shapeshifting into a different type of unit is a cool and unique mechanic!

ogre says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:45am

Web version does not work in Firefox on Mac.

exception thrown: TypeError: GLctx is undefined,_glGetString@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:1:62458
GR@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:22:217736
Ujg@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:21:205172
eh@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:20:1705
Wm@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:20:197575
Bm@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:20:180715
Li@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:20:16763
callMain@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:32:9231
doRun@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:32:9934
run/<@https://9f1061ed6ff0390027edb0bf1e05fa98cbaf9d51.googledrive.com/host/0B4jbQC2UnrSPQnl0VHdpc3U3SVE/Shapeshifting%20Blobs.js:32:10102
Shapeshifting%20Blobs.html:331:7

Hankenstien says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 3:32am

First strategy game I played in this Ludum Dare. A little animation on the guys would have gone a long way to making the mood better

DSSiege11 says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:17am

Seems like a cool game when there will be an AI! Hope you'll continue working on it :)

themadknights says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 9:53am

Nice concept for a tactic game

ManuSaiz says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I liked the mechanics and I like multiplayer local games. Good idea!

d3garcia says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:48am

I really like the idea of mixing the theme with this type of game, usually is really challenging to have a good balance game of this type, this could get very far. Excellent job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]