Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

KTD

by virgate - Jam Entry

K.T.D. Kill, Tank, and Dodge.
Recommended to play at 16:9 aspect ratio.
Instructions are inside the help menu.

A Shoot'em Up focused around you changing forms to survive as long as possible!
Each of these forms has their own unique ability.

Attack Form (Kill): Unleash a barrage of energy bolts!
Defense Form (Tank): Gather enemy projectiles in a field and convert them to ammo!
Speed(Dodge): Recover your health the longer you stay in this form!



Created by:
Matthew Gipson aka Living Valkyrie, and Lamont Miller aka Virgate(tomb)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#365Fun(Jam)3.33
#431Overall(Jam)3.35
#459Audio(Jam)3.00
#465Theme(Jam)3.44
#476Graphics(Jam)3.44
#845Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1712Coolness35%

Comments

paradxil says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 5:01am

For the most part the game seemed pretty cool, however I did sort of want more of a goal than to just survive as long as possible. But that could just be me.

timeshapers says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:15am

Very good concept and tie in with theme. I did find it very frustrating that I couldn't turn around. I would have much prefered to be able to aim with mouse, and maybe scroll wheel to change shapes.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:19pm

Nice game! I included it in my video compilation series of Ludum Dare games, if you’d like to check them out :) https://youtu.be/V5g1IHvqQQk

virgate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:54pm

Thanks everyone whose played so far!

LordKawaii says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Pretty fun game. I feel like the healing ship is a bit OP though.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:10pm

The way the enemies were positioned all over made it seem like it would be a twin-stick sort of game, when it wasn't it made it frustrating when you couldn't get behind enemies. I like the concept, and each of the transformations feel good.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:00am

Very nice game. Very cool title :D Love it

Strike says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 10:21am

I find this game so difficult. I cannot last more than a few seconds. There is surely something I am missing somewhere. But the fact that enemies come from any direction and my ship is stuck facing up makes it very frustrating. Except that, this game very well made.

Big Cow says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 9:46pm

I liked the neon graphics and the different ships and the balance of abilities and powers between them. Difficulty ramped up really quick so I didn't last long but nice range of enemies that I did see. Cheers -RS

Marc F. says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Needs some polishing but pretty fun. Would ve liked ability to turn or aim elsewhere tho. Solid entry!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]