Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

Exhuman

by Arvydas - Jam Entry

ATTENTION, as most of you arent reading this:
DUE TO POPULAR REQUEST: An option to change the control type is in the main menu options, either oriented by camera or by player facing. Enjoy.
BECAUSE none actually reads this - the default control scheme is the classical one, change it in the options in the main menu. Additionally MacOS builds are now in a ZIP instead of a RAR

Disclaimer: Has not been tested on Linux......But builds included!

Controls:
WSAD to move(Movement character oriented)
Mouse look to rotate your character to face it
LMB Melee attack
RMB Ranged attack
Left Shift Sprint (If leg upgrade is found)
E opens chest(if enough scrap is carried)

Description:
Exhuman is a video game which grants you control over a measly human being who just wants to eradicate the world of demons, monsters and evil killer robots, but is too weak because of his flesh, but! He can find unique chests to replace his weak limbs with other creature parts, why? Because game dev.

This game is a rogueLITE in it's core, with a possibility to choose an option to make it a true hard rogueLIKE that removes all progress on death without even looking at you. The game will pit you against 3 separate themed levels each containing enemies native to that level, try to survive each level, and go on to the next one by evading ranged attacks, collecting scraps that heal you and finding new limbs to help in your struggle. Once all 3 levels are beaten, you can play the Arena which will pit you at ongoing waves of the same enemies you faced, and upgraded versions of them giving you a real challenge.

*Fast paced action
*Possibility to choose your play style RogueLIKE or RogueLITE
*4 humanoid forms that can be pieced limb by limb
*3 levels
*Arena challenge level after the game has been won.

There are 3 upgrades for each limb (Head, Chest, Left Arm, Right Arm, Legs)
Head will heal you on each melee hit
Chest will increase your base HP
Left Arm is your melee damage dealer
Right Arm is your ranged damage dealer
Legs let you sprint by holding left shift

Each tier upgrade increases the usefulness of a limb

Enjoy!

Arvydas Zemaitis (Lead Developer, 2D Art, Programming)
Andrea Di Bartolo (3D Artist, Visuals)
Daniel Romeros (Music Composer, Sound Engineer)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#108Graphics(Jam)4.24
#287Audio(Jam)3.37
#424Overall(Jam)3.36
#436Mood(Jam)3.24
#662Fun(Jam)2.98
#770Innovation(Jam)2.78
#832Theme(Jam)2.91

Comments

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:03pm

Love the Cyberpunk/Fantasy crossover concept, graphics are fantastic! gonna play some more..

Robber says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04pm

cool title btw...!

Quique says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:10pm

This game is created by a team or one person?

goffmog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:17pm

Very polished game, the models and animations are second to none. The sound sets the mood well. But I really struggled with the controls, they're pretty unique. It's also very hard to hit things in combat because he doesn't turn to face the mouse pointer when it's close to him, so the intuitive thing of clicking on the creature to punch it often means he stands and punches in the wrong direction. :( A bug? Or something I'm not getting? I didn't get very far. My instinct is that a lot of people are going to assume the controls are broken because they aren't what you'd expect from WASD + mouse with an isometric camera. But a beautiful, beautiful game in terms of graphics. Maybe I'm just not up to it :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:22pm

Arvydas Zemaitis (Lead Developer, 2D Art, Programming)
Andrea Di Bartolo (3D Artist, Visuals)
Daniel Romeros (Music Composer, Sound Engineer)

Hempuli says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:22pm

I couldn't figure out how to effectively kite or defeat the laserbirds. The game seems very solid and I like the graphics a lot, though! It'd be interesting to get a little strategy tip on how to get started!

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:24pm

WOW. Super impressive! Really well done, this is a winner right here.

MintArcade says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:25pm

Cave level seems to be the hardest for me. Very well executed. Beautiful visuals! Love it.

cabezotta says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:54pm

The game looks great! Awesome art! Very difficult (which is a good thing for me) but i didn't like the control. I think it was a little weird. Great game overall!

graebor says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Very nice environment art :) The controls being relative to the character rather than the camera seemed really weird to me. Even though I understood that's how it works I had a hard time controlling it.

s0wbear says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:09pm

This is a really great entry!
Unfortunately i also had huge problems with the controls.
You might wanna have WASD move the player relative to the camera instead of the character look direction imho.

jcmonkey says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:11pm

The game was pretty good, though i had to stop playing it because the controls just irritated me. :(

APantaloni says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Very nice looking, especially in-game. I have to agree that the controls aren't the most intuitive.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:13pm

Amazing 3d graphics! Funny run animation.. ;)
Gameplay is hard but I like that, good job guys!

marod says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:15pm

I like it, not that 360º player controller but the game concept it's awesome. I was surprised when I realized that you are the creators of the Shoppe keepe, nice.

Zgragselus says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17pm

Cool title, nice gameplay - quite hard for me though.

Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:18pm

difficulty and animations are a little wonky, to me. would love to see more rogue-like ideas implemented - procedural generation, etc.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:35pm

Due to popular request, you can change the movement control type in the main menu options!

IDidGame says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:36pm

Production wise this is probably the best thing i've played so far.
I'll have to say though, balancng seems way off. It's close to impossible when you're human and kind of a breeeze when you get the right modifications.

davor10105 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:09pm

Love the visuals

meganukebmp says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Amazing! Graphics and gameplay are astounding. Animations need more polishing but I'm sure you guys are already on it. Winner right here!

Biliogadafr says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:21pm

Graphics looks awesome. But controls is unusual and game is hard by itself. Also cursor displayed lower than true aim point. The hardest part was to realize that you progress after each attempt... so it was necessary to die 10 times to reduce difficulty :)

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:23pm

You can change the control type in the main menu options Biliogadafr :)

Griz says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:23pm

A lot of content made in such a little time. For me the game is 5 out of 5 fun, counting the controls, where the default player facing controls are nicely adding some difficulty to the game if the player is up for a challenge. Still the aiming was a little wonky in either control mode, where the hero is simply not looking directly at where the mouse is.

cameronpenner says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:49pm

So glad you added an option to change the movement controls! Thank you!

Pickens Inc. says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Crazy good. Kappa here from Lincomberg's stream. High fives!

razieliyo says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:54pm

omg

Hyoga-3D says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:55pm

The controls could have some polish, the visual are very nice, good job.

Mordokay says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Very good game with extremely good graphics. The animations are very well made and it has just the right amount of difficulty. One point i like to make is the WASD controls .. they are weird for me to get used to. +1

tompudding says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:03pm

It looks amazing, but I couldn't open crates for some reason, maybe it's the Linux version? Amazing job though

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:05pm

You need 25 scrap to open a single crate, current scrap is shown in the top left corner. rogueLITE mode saves your scrap on death, rogueLIKE removes any saved scrap on death. change control type in the main menu options.

Matzigon says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:11pm

Nice graphics, but the controls are a bit hard. Also enemies tend to spawn in clusters, so it is extremely hard to kill them sometimes. I mean other at the beginning. Powerups are good, but the basic character is too weak, what makes the game hard to enjoy early on.
And the bloom is a bit too much, everything is blurry of it. Luckily it can be turned off, so no big deal.
Also I like that there is proper UI in the game.

Jadernak says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Little balancing could go long way here but as other have mentioned it is nice looking fun to play game with wonky controls.

treegemmer says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:45pm

I'm trying to play the OS/X version and getting the error "The application Exhuman can't be opened." I googled the error and found this: http://answers.unity3d.com/questions/802960/using-a-pc-to-create-a-build-for-mac-os-x.html

Aaranos says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:49pm

Great graphics and style. Even for a rogue-like it is a bit repetitive. I finally got a weapon after being murdered by the birds about 20 times and lost it because a swarm of 10 birds showed up.

I think the biggest problem and one of only a few I had with the game is the controls for movement are a bit off since the key movement is dependent on where the mouse is.

blinry says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:52pm

Awesome graphics and audio! I also couldn't really accustom myself to the controls.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 11:57pm

Change the control scheme in the options! Cmon people! 4 comments and 2 description updates :)))))

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:00am

Really fun game, once in a while I get lucky with my chests and totally destroy all the enemies, sometimes I get shafter by RNG and die a bunch of times before I get a good run, but when it's good, it's really good! :)

Le_Sarus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:03am

Like the game, cool idea. Think you should have the other control style set as the default but otherwise really good stuff

dwhiffing says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:07am

Great game! Difficulty curve at start was a nightmare with the lazer birds. I loved the sound effects and the art work though! Well done ++

luquio says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:50am

One of the best I've tested

Idkfawin32 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:58am

This is extremely beautiful wow

RetroSpecter says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:09am

The design and presentation is very top notch and it has some interesting mechanics. I will say it's a bit hard to get the hang of at first, though that could be I'm bad at video games.

olkeencole says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:32am

Why is it low poly games just look so damn good! The graphics are great. Very jealous! lol. Keep up the good work guys! I'll definitely be keeping up with.

dvdfu says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:47am

The presentation is top notch! Controls and timing were hard to get used to, but it's truly impressive.

kleinzach says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:54am

I don't really know how I can get more then maybe 1 scrap at a time. Those birds really hurt! Great looking and sounding game there!

norseware says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:04am

Controls were rough, and the learning curve was steep as hell. The graphics were lovely, and nice shaders! I surprised you guys got so much done (3D) in 3 days - Nice work! :)

Hyden says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:39am

As a lover of low poly art, I couldn't help but give this a go. Controls seemed odd to me, wasd would strafe in the direction you're looking, while the mouse turns your direction. Got used to it eventually :D Looks amazing, well done.

Exolun says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:44am

It seemed pretty good but I was unable to kill enough enemies barehanded to get any upgrades.

Beard says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:06am

Great graphics! I like the premise. Control needs a lot of refinement.

Syldarion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:07am

LASERBIRDS OP. Aside from that though, really solid entry. The movement was a bit wonky though.

joemid says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:12am

Can't open on Mac. Seemed to unrar fine and then nada. Macbook Pro- still on Yosemite- if that helps? Will take another look when I get a chance on WIN.

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:15am

It is really cool game! However there is an issue with initial difficulty. It is too hard to get to normal loot due to birds with massive damage and no ranged weapon.

soundman says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:19am

Mac users, use StuffIt Expander to unwrap. OSX's main unrar does not properly unwrap rar files. I have tested with StuffIt Expander and Exhuman works perfectly! :D

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:21am

Really like the art style; very colorful. Controls took some getting used to. It was also really difficult (or maybe I just suck? Haha).

Cerberus says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:05am

The graphics where sweet. the smoothness was so so. the controls where kind of hard, and could never open a chest. it was fun but the enemies were kinda hard specially the flying ones. great work overall!

andyman404 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:31am

You should distribute the Mac OS X build in a plain old .ZIP file. RARs mess up the .app structure. Lovely graphics btw!

Remdiky says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32am

Nice game, but i think too hard first map.

mactinite says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:32am

Awesome amount of content.. Graphics look pretty nice. Low Poly + Bloom really is really used to a good effect. As for the gameplay, I liked the idea, but unfortunately I think it's a little too difficult at first. Immediately spawning in with enemies is tough, but what makes it hard is the birds with lasers before I've gotten any upgrades. With a few tweaks this could really shine, and with a bit more polish would make an excellent release. They really just destroy me! lol Maybe not for the weak but, aesthetics were great, the animations were pretty good too! Overall Solid entry.

Adipson says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:53am

nice work!

Autovelop says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:03am

Great progress for a game of this scale. Enjoyed the graphics and gameplay. Well done to everyone involved.

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:13am

Nice graphics, though maybe a bit heavy on the post processing effect - my eyes can't look at it for long. The default controls are rough, but the alt set is definitely an improvement.

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:20am

If you find that the brightness is making your eyes hurt try deactivating "Bloom" from the options! :)

MAN JO TEAM says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:48am

It have really good graphics, the background is well made, the collision detection works as it supposed to do and if you're trying to reach perfection you could improve the movement (backsteps for example, moving left and right). When you're dead there is no need of the monsters to attack you more, it only makes defeat more difficult to bear.

hellojed says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:07am

couldn't get scraps out of a chest, or kill anything :S looks really good though!

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:30am

I don't think it was wise to have the OSX files in a .rar

JefePapaya says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:27am

The art is great.
The controls are cumbersome.
Could use more balance, but hey, we're in a Jam ;)

I'm on OSX had to use an older version of StuffIt Expander to be able to unpack a runnable version of the game. The latest version doesn't work, nor unrar.

OveRMolo says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:11am

Really nice art and music!

Mikaza says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:58am

Nice Work !

Kalm004 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:31pm

The controls are a bit clunky but overall a good and interesting game

Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Really good graphics for a LD entry and the animation is fine given the limited time. The music is good, althrough the voiceover is a bit tirring.
The combat mechanics is not very satisfying or addictive, and it's a must for a combat oriented game.
It's a nice touch that you have added some unlockables and an arena mode!

ChatPion says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:40pm

Fun game. But corpse that block you and make you fly if you run on it are absolutely horrible.

Fumiko says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:50pm

Liked the graphics a lot but sadly i couldnt adjust to the player moving relative to himself instead of the camera

Arvydas says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:53pm

Hey Fumiko! check in the main menu-> options, the uppermost is the controls settings, if you can't find that, tell us what platform version is

Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:12pm

Cool game, well done :)

bigbatardyt says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 1:59pm

Awesome game, just a few more information about shift using and also the azerty controls will be great ! But anyway really great work !

Andrea says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:29pm

Pretty great game! The sounds and the graphics are awesome and the game is quite difficult, which I like.

The controls are awful though, so you better get the ranged weapon as fast as you can if you want to have a chance to win this thing!

Good job!

WizzardMaker says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:43pm

Great game, got to wave 9 but then got crushed by those way overpowered laser cyborgs

Palys Plays says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:48pm

Very fun and entertaining game with outstanding graphics and music. Yet a little bit too difficult. At the beggining controls are unintuitive, but you can get used to it. Overall, superb!

varuns says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:23pm

Looks good :D Your team must be very productive!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:25pm

Graphics are really great, but whole game is a little bit too hard. Good job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 3:48pm

Them graphics m8, very very polished gameplay loved it

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:02pm

Really Hard with the basic melee to handle the first enemys

CalmKai says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Good game!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:49pm

Great graphics and a typical game I would play. Terrible balance however...

Apr 19, 2016 @ 4:55pm

very cool game, great graphics. the movement is really weird and slow. but everything else seems to be cool.

panurge says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:12pm

Slick presentation and heaps of content given the time. Impressive work! I found it initially very hard to get into but it became more and more satisfying as I unlocked new content. A very solid game!

marmpa says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:22pm

Really nice game. I loved the graphics and how you move.
You really impressed me keep going!!!!

LostViking says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 6:22pm

One of the best games by far in this competition. Really good graphics and fitting music. The only bad thing I can think of is the grinding I had to do in the beginning to get the cannon, but after that the gameplay was solid.

Been says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:06pm

This game looks and sounds brilliant, but I really struggled with the controls. I tried a few times, but I was swarmed by everyone every time before I could kill even one of the boars.

Benjamin-L says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:16pm

This game is incredibly polished for such a short time frame. The graphics and audio are very impressive. It is also quite difficult but that isn't a bad thing. One thing: you probably want to switch the Linux build to zip as well.

Almax27 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:38pm

Very very very pretty, but unfortunately the attacking felt so unresponsive I ended up running around holding down left click and hoping for the best

Apr 19, 2016 @ 8:59pm

Cool game and music!
moving around felt a bit weird because of the animations and isometric view, it felt like i could walk faster to left and right than up and down

ohmaigawd says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:01pm

I loved the graphics, but didnt even get to shapeshifting part because I kept dieing before I could collect enough scraps. I made my own zoo though :D http://imgur.com/c54nPMd

Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:06pm

Your game is awesome =D
The controls are a bit weird at first, but I got used to it quickly. To anyone playing and searching how to best play it: don't spend the scraps, save them to spend in three or for boxes at the same time, you'll probably die a lot in the beginning, and stay in one place and wait for the enemies to spawn (there are less enemies this way).

geekguy100 says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 9:50pm

Loved the graphics! Combat could get a little funky at times, but I loved the art style and concept of the game. Nice job!

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:06pm

I was expecting a lot more from this. The controls were really bad especially to attack enemies and the animations needs more work.

Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:20pm

Good but very hard!

SojaBird says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:52pm

Wow that is some great artstyle you guys have going on there :D

Roland M says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:44pm

Love the low poly art.

GaryS says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:50pm

Pretty amazing what you've achieved in such a short time here. I love the graphics and the audio. I didn't find the controls too difficult to grasp, but still found it very difficult to actually attack creatures.
Still, excellent work.

Diman says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:25am

Really good graphics.

WizByte_Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:29am

Why is this game so hard. I can't even survive after fighting 2 enemies. The difficulty needs to be tweaked so everything that has ranged attacks isn't killing you in 3 hits.

crazya02 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:03am

The laser-bird things were difficult to deal with, but I love the low-poly style.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:48am

I enjoyed the graphics of this game a lot, but the controls were a little tough and I couldn't open the chests, for some reason 'E' wasn't working for me. The games graphics alone are truly impressive though!

zaywolfe says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:44am

Extremely hard but really good art. Too hard for me unfortunately. :(

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:35am

I love the look of this game! Really difficult as well. Maybe I'm missing something, but I found it pretty hard to gather 25 scrap to get into one chest.

Dread_Lord369 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:50am

I love the look of the game, as well as the sound and the mood it all creates when combined. The difficulty is easily overcome as soon as you get a ranged weapon at the start. The arena mode is definitely where this game shines.

There are a couple of things that I think would definitely improve the game:
- The chest system: Either prevent it from giving you anything worse than you already have in the slot that it is giving you (eg. don't allow tier 1 melee when already wielding a tier 2 melee), or allow changing between obtained items.
- The aiming is slightly off, it feels like you are simply facing towards the point that the mouse is at with the body of the character. If you grab that point, move up to the same height as the player's gun/arms, place a virtual cursor there, and hide the mouse cursor, this could definitely solve this issue. However, in saying that, you could argue that the current aiming method adds a layer of difficulty to the game and could be a feature.
- Fix up the enemy attacks. By this I'm referring to the enemy in the second level that, after coming in range for the first shot, will continue to hit you, even when you're well out of range.

I'm being very nitpicky, but when I play games I pick up on a lot more of the coding side of things, so there you go. All in all, I'd say this game is very aesthetically polished, meets the theme nicely and in an interesting way, and is fun to play, after getting your first ranged weapon of course, those darn laserbirds! :P.

Great game!

EdoCreate says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:21am

This is realy cool!

nlbi21 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:23am

Lol this gane is awesome :o good job guys.

gogo199432 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:23am

Nice little game, gotta love some Rougelikes once in a while :)

Kuality Games says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:20am

Game is good overall. Lacks some shapeshifting. The player controller is bad compared to the rest of the game. It feels wonky.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:49am

Great work! try to go on with the game.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:06pm

That was awesome! :D haha VERY VERY Difficult, though, haha, got the claw legs (or claw boots? can't remember), tried to outrun the horde but, man, was it difficult, haha

enjoyed it, though, good job! :D

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:54pm

Really like the graphics and music! Very nice looking game!

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:27pm

It looks super nice, I'd say it's kind of hard to play but it can be just me ^^'

madalaski says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:46pm

Great audio and graphics work. A very polished final product. Gameplay is where it fell apart from me. The difficulty level spikes from the very beginning and even with the rogueLITE feature on it became tedious.

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:47pm

Great graphics and music! But controls is not good as it could.

AnaGF says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:25pm

Maybe a bit hard, though I confess I am a bit noob. Game is really good overall, seems pretty solid, and graphics are amazing.

strife47 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:35pm

The graphics were awesome, but the game it's too really hard

Horsed says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:37pm

I like the visuals and audio most, although a little less blur wouldn't hurt ;-). The character movement looked and felt odd when the guy wasn't looking in his walking direction. I could barely hit any of the creatures because they would stun me with their hits. Felt like Diablo, where you could get stuck when surrounded by enemies. :-) Overall a solid entry for me.

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 3:06pm

When you see this, contact me. http://ludumdare.com/compo/contact/

PoV says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:01pm

Resolved. :)

Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:57pm

The graphics look awesome. It seems that you put a lot of effort in it :)
It took me a while to figure out how to fight due to mouse and attack direction. You should work on that more.
Great job!

Cheers
-Morco (Omlette du Fromage)

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:30pm

Sorry i dont get it. I am just dying over and over

mar3k says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:37pm

Great game, but I'm pretty bad at it - got rekt so quickly :D

SemiColon says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:55pm

Those animations are hilarious :P
Sadly I didn't get very far, as the laserbirds make things very hard. Would be nice to have more options available from the start, or make the monsters easier to defeat, so you can get far into the game.

tgrehawi says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:07pm

I love how much work went into the graphics and polish! But the combat is impossible...

Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Lots of fun, amazing amount of content for three people!

neondx says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:31pm

fun beautifull, music is awesome!

ito123456789 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:04pm

This is a winner.

SantiHisteria says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:09pm

Uffff!! It's awesome!! The graphics are greats!! The controls are a bit confused at the begining, but it's ok. It's a very complete game. Congratulations!

TheMightyTeam says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:18pm

Great visuals. Difficult controls. I get beaten in the first seconds...

Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:05pm

Fun and challenging game.

Karai17 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:17pm

Great game! It was hard lolz.

FelixNemis says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:16pm

Aside from the weird aiming when the mouse is close, and the fact that you pretty much have to avoid all flying enemies until you get the first chest this is a pretty great entry

Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:10am

Graphics are great! Although I couldn't collect any scrap by pressing E for some reason, and I couldn't figure out how to progress the game. Otherwise great job!

ZeroFaction says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:32am

I really enjoyed the art in this game. I wasn't a big fan of dying so early on with just melee attacks but once I got a ranged weapon it was ON. That being said, I actually think with a bit of balancing this could go from being very good to great! I really had fun playing it!

2Bit says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:03am

Those laser birds though... :p

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:16am

Gorgeous game. Good entry!

Ironhead says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:15am

Difficult but fun. mostly the difficulty stemmed from the controls being a bit unusual. I liked the way the theme was implemented. Graphics were cool and good atmosphere.

CasualCat says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:55am

Great modeling and effects. The sounds were ok and the I like the concept. But I think it was kind of hard to make progress, but I think its because I suck and I only spent about 10 minutes. It seems like a game you should spend a lot of time on. But I think its pretty well polished and the music is pretty good too!

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:21am

Wow this artwork is amazing, looks polished and clean! Love it!

Yumeito says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 9:11am

Good Game

MisterMortal says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Awesome game, looks very beautiful, too hard at the beginning though. Favorite feature: moonwalking :D

mitkus says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:30pm

Very good looking and ambitious game. Perhaps, a bit too ambitious. I find overall polish and gameplay mechanics quite lacking. It looks like proper "serious game", but doesn't play like one. Beginning is very frustrating, I got killed within first minute perhaps 10 times.

ShadowTemplar says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Really cool game. Awesome sound and graphics

MementoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:26pm

The art is beautiful! I liked the music and sounds too. The controls are felt a bit weird but I got used to it. Kinda hard with a char so weak compared to the ranged attacks of the eagles. Great entry overall.

LRP says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:53pm

well done !

DifferentName says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:44pm

The game shows some promise, but attacking feels weird as I have to hold the button down, and ultimately I never got to try many of the upgrades. The human is so incredibly weak that I just can't survive long enough to get a single upgrade. The only reason I was able to get an upgrade was because scrap stayed after death, so after several deaths I got a health upgrade, which seemed good at first, but I never healed enough to make the extra maximum health worth it. I lost the first upgrade on death before I could get a second, and the next upgrade I got was the very same health boost. I would have liked to try some of the different attacks, but the simple human you start with just isn't fun enough to keep playing as long as needed to get the scrap for upgrades. I imagine there's a fun game buried in there somewhere.

siryakko says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:01pm

The graphics are smooth and clean, perfect. Just some weird behavior on the combat, but mainly a really great experience

Z4f1 says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:07pm

Nice game. The controlls are a bit weird but work fine.

batmanasb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Okay here's the thing, this had the potential to be one of the best LD35 games but several mistakes dropped it down 4 stars overall.

Pros: This is the start of a good rougelike. The low-poly graphics are close to top notch, killing enemies and watching them ragdoll feels great, impacts (while slightly hard to notice) look nice but could be improved. And lastly, the menu and config is amazing for LDJAM standards!

Cons: While the graphics are amazing, and mood and audio are just short of amazing, the gameplay is lacking. You made some critical mistakes that break the game for rougelike fans. First mistake is that combat, especially melee, is broken. The appeal to rougelikes(at least for me) is that skill is the #1 priority, and stats help a lot but someone very, very, very good at the game can win without a single item! That is not possible here because you cannot avoid taking damage from enemies no matter what. There does not seem to be any way to dodge up close melee attacks, or any attack pattern that lets you attack enemies without taking damage. Only ranged attacks can be dodged, except the OP rapid fire green men! This was my biggest issue with the game, any other issue can be ignored once this is fine... at least for a LDJAM game!

Other issues are things like downgrades, it shouldn't be possible to open a chest and get a lower tier weapon! Like why! Also, the start is next to impossible without a little luck, because mobs group up way to early on, so if your first item isn't useful, it's good game! And if your first few mobs are birds, then it's good game as well because you cannot avoid their damage when you melee them, (see the first mistake above). Then lastly, there are some pathfinding issues on the first map... but that's an easy fix and not worth complaining about.

So even with these issues, the game was still enjoyable once you get a little lucky in the start. Although I can't give too many points for theme and innovation as thing game didn't exactly bring anything new or follow the theme that well. But never the less, it excelled in graphics, and did great overall, in fun, in audio, and in mood! I'll definitely be looking forward to seeing these devs next LDJAM!

batmanasb says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:55pm

Oh and I forgot to mention the aiming, it's kind of wonky. It seems to be affected by the player movement as well, which shouldn't happen. It's always better to make aiming easy, and just ignore any animation related issues, than to have character animation perfectly in sync with the aiming/firing mechanic. I'm not saying that you shouldn't make the player animation point the way that he actually shoots, but I'd rather it not if that's going to break the crosshair's aim!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:17am

Gorgeous graphics, the style, the detail, the animations. Such a pretty game. On the down side, I am just plain terrible at it. I leveled up to 3, once, just barely. Lot's of fun to lose at :P

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:00am

graphics are great; controls not so much; frankly the control ruin the game for me which otherwise was quite nice; nice game

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:47am

The birds at the beginning are jerkfaces. I hate them :P Pretty fun game once I got strong enough to defeat them. Thanks for giving more HP at the beginning of the permadeath mode. More like Diablo Hardcore than it is like Rogue, though.

namrog84 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 6:11am

dang those eagles bird thingies hurt!

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:57pm

Overall I enjoyed this very ambitious title! As others have mentioned the controls can be rough, even with the additional options.

But it's a gamejam and this happens, our controls are rough as well!
Amazing job guys. Personal note: Love the tilt shift effect.

Apr 22, 2016 @ 5:45pm

Very nice graphics. Hard to play.

w1n5t0n says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:21pm

Very cool game

bytegrove says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:34pm

I like the backstory! I had some trouble playing this, it was pretty hard. I couldn't get the ranged attack working, so I died at the start every time..

Arvydas says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 8:31pm

First of all i want to say thanks for all those comments on our game, really, receiving so many feedback is really great! at the moment we are organizing our roadmap for what to do next (we still have Shoppe Keep in early access on Steam really close at final launch) and i can assure that we are considering every single feedback comment to improve this game, expecially on the gameplay and controls related things, so stay tuned and beware of DEM LAZERBIRDS!

-Andrea Di Bartolo

FistBumpGames says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:01pm

Entertaining, while becoming a bit monotonous towards the end. The upgrade system is nice, but smaller tier weapons overwriting high tier weapons is a taking the fun a bit. :)
A bit more exciting music vwould greatly add to the mood, it felt a bit off being so serious while the graphics are so flashy and colorful. Eagles are very op at the start, then again when finding the rail gun or crossbow, it turns to you being completely op. (especially because you can cancel the shoot animation to really eat through those nasty mobs). I enjoyed.

Greetings, bruz

kumoi says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:18pm

very fun, love the poly art

LOSTALLOY says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 11:24pm

Very nice looking! I found the difficulty curve a bit steep.

Sloof says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 10:22pm

Fun, minimalist style and great, fitting music. Mechanics still need work.

hunttis says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 12:02pm

The game looks phenomenal. Nice use of focus blur. The controls made me struggle really. I think the acceleration and deceleration of the character should've been tighter or something (perhaps it gets better with upgrades).

endel says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:16pm

The eagles are IMPOSSIBLE to beat at the beggining of the game. That's so frustrating! I can't kill anybody to be able to open the chests and actually see what's inside. Lacks some balancing. Graphics, mood and sound are really great though. Well done guys!

puppetmaster says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:22pm

Very cool graphics. Gamestyle is also funny. Controls seems not so precise. When you wait to long, game gets unbeatable (to many enemy spawn on same place). Keep up the good work!

tomlum says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:12pm

Very difficult, but that might just be me, haha. There seems to be a ton of depth to this.

joemid says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:06pm

Finally got this to work on Mac with- as advised, Stuffit. Love the SFX! Controls and movement could use some work- and I wish the laser beaks were more of the stormtrooper school of aiming. Can't wait to see this evolve!

fin_nolimit says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:53pm

WOW, so much has gone into this game!!! Excellent job! I read your description (lol :) ) and good thing too because I was not able to open the chest but I realized why after reading!!!!! hehe!! You did a really good job!!!

IvanFon says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 12:21am

Great job!

terryg says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 5:11am

Very nice entry. I loved the concept and graphics. I had a difficult time getting enough scrap. Thankfully you can keep the scrap you pick up each time you die, which for me was a lot. It would be nice if you could start out more easily getting an appendage without having to get 25 scrap. After 20 minutes I was able to secure 6 hard fought scrap.

sikosis says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:19am

Nicely done. Menus were great and the gameplay quite good (even though I died lots). Run animation is a little wonky but the rest of the graphics are nice. Outstanding music too.

Tijn says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 10:36am

This game looks & sounds fantastic, well done! It's incredibly hard though, hahaha. I'm really struggling to survive!

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 11:21am

Artistically, this entry was really good!
Also, the game was quite challenging which is positive.
But the walking animation looks god awful :D

cynicalmonkey says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:56pm

I liked the idea but felt the fun was hidden behind the difficulty, I couldn't seem to do anything before I was swarmed by monsters I couldn't kill that downed me in 2 hits. maybe I missed something I should of been doing but didn't feel like the game did a great job of showing me. but i screw up the explaining how to play he game properly every ludum dare so who am i to judge :)

Strike says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:32am

Graphics are just wonderful.
Beginning of the game is very, very painful. I almost gave up because the melee animation is too slow and there is no strategy except running into enemies and dying again and again. The birds shooting lasers are simply impossible to kill at this stage. So it's just about hoping to find a hog before dying. Until we get enough scrap to finally open the first chest. Then the gameplay changes totally and I never used melee again. Except in the lab when I discovered that you probably have an issue in your mecanim controller. By holding the two buttons of the mouse, you can start shooting way faster. It looks like the animation keeps going very quickly back and forth between melee and range. Then the game became too easy so I could beat it.
I just wish that the melee was simply not here and the game started with a range weapon.

derr says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:51am

Great audio/visual presentation! It took me a few tries to get the hang of it but the next run can be started quickly so I had no gripes that that. Great job guys. :)

Joror says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 3:04pm

Nice mood & visuals! :)
Controls are a bit fuzzy, especially the ranged aiming (had aim lower to hit things). Fights are cool, but a bit grindy.
Bugwise: got stuck inside a test-tube in the second level :D

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:41pm

Really really NICE graphics. I liked this game, it was funny to kill all those enemies :) A bit hard at first, but things change when you get a ranged weapon ;)

mkghoster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:20pm

Nice graphics!

Zyow says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 9:57pm

The controls are weird and the difficulty is high but graphics and animations are cool! Good Job!

Omiya Games says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 11:59pm

The presentation, including the graphics and audio is really impressive. The sound effects could have been less repetitive, but otherwise I thought they were solid. Animation could use a little polishing, too, but I figure in both cases, it was just a lack of time.

I think the controls were not great, especially the long range aiming. The range of the melee attack is difficult to tell as well. Combined with the wind-up, it makes it hard to land hits on enemies. The enemy attack, I think, could also use some balancing, as it felt unfair. Overall, the game shows a lot of promise, with a lot of the polish in the right places. There's just a few more to put in there to make it a great game!

Przekop says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 11:50am

Very fun and demanding, but for me bloom and tilt shift was too much, good thing there was an option for that. Also walking animation was weird.

runvs says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 5:47pm

Nice game, very well executed!

RyanNielson says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:41pm

Neat graphics and interesting concepts. Controls were pretty rough though, and I think it may have looked better with a bit less bloom.

blob says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Great visuals and audio, but I sincerely don't understand your game. o_o
No idea what's supposed to be done against eagles after trying many times.

PS: if you added other control tweaks post jam they should likely be in a separated build and not the ludum dare version. :o

t4u says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 10:50pm

Great on graphics. The best I've seen so far.

Minor flaws:
The game is really hard unless you find a weapon. Leveling up doesn't increase your damage - this doesnt feel right. Sometimes corpses get in the way. Aiming with range weapon could have been better.

Overall: Enjoyable with art being the biggest selling point. Strong entry.

medidog says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:14am

Somehow the windows link doesn't work for me. The download fails. I am not able to play, so I'm not voting yet. If it is fixed, would love to check it out though. The art looks so nice!

Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:25am

The game was really hard to play, I got bored quickly. It only got interesting when I could finally get a long range weapon (after that the game got extremly easy). This game should be much more balanced. However, graphics and audio is excellent.

Xanjos says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 12:57am

Loved the low-poly art style and the roguelike gameplay mechanics were really good (although the cannon is ridiculously OP).

Riftpoint says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 7:10pm

Very good game, fun gameplay and nice mood

lumscum says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 2:58am

Great graphics! Enemy spawning and damage did not seem very well balanced though!

randomhuman says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 6:20pm

It's quite hard to get a toehold in this game. My strategy was to grind the spawn point in the first area (dying repeatedly) until I had enough scrap for three or four chests, then do a full run on it. I can't even imagine playing it in the roguelike mode. But it is fun when you get the hang of it, and the graphics are really good looking, especially that second level (didn't make it to the third).

Insality says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:48am

very solid and completed game!
take from me a lot of time! good job

dustyroom says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 4:43pm

Great game! I wish my abilities persisted...

MatLab says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Graphics is excelent and music is cool. But the concept is not original, level design is simple and it's very very very very difficult ! Shapeshift ?

FengeR says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:11pm

It's a really cool looking game and it seems really great to play it when you get the trick but please, do a better learning curve.
The game is insanely hard when you start playing it. A bird that take a third of your HP in one ranged hit when you can do 2 damage by punching him is just crazy!
Anyway, I tried multiple times to get further and it was catching.

Good job to you guys, I really love your graphics! ;)

Madball says ...
May 2, 2016 @ 7:55pm

10/10 best moonwalking simulator ever.
Seriously, this game is epic. Even considering glitchy physics and unfair gameplay, it was incredibly fun to play.
But there are some thing I just don't understand: why melee enemies are weaker than the ranged ones? Why the level 2 robots are the strongest enemies with their 100% accuracy?
The graphics caught my eye from the moment I saw this page, but I'm afraid if you weren't here to tell me to stay strong and endure the first moments, I might've quit before even completing the first level.
Anyway, this is the greatest game I've seen in LD in a while. Well, well, well done. I hope you'll find time to at least rebalance the game and release a post-compo.

OddballDave says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 10:12pm

Beautiful looking entry. I found it a little hard to control. Fun game.

Good stuff.

FaeDine says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 9:01am

Really liked just about everything about this.

The audio is amazing. The graphics are perfect (that low poly style just had a lot of appeal for whatever reason). Almost everything about this is perfect, and the amount of work done in 3 days is incredibly impressive!!

The only things that irked me were that some upgrades you could get would be downgrades (why replace my tier 3 arm with a tier 2 arm?!) and the aiming at times felt really finicky... you had to place the mouse in weird spots sometimes to get accurate shots off. It takes some getting used to.

I was able to beat it, mostly because I was able to luck out by picking up a tier 3 ranged weapon and using it for the remainder of the game after failing on the first level about 10 times.

All that said, still probably my favourite LD entry out of all the ones I've tried so far.

Satyre says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 10:57am

I must say for the first time playing it, it looked really polished up. The low poly graphics and the settings including the menu were really well done. I had some problems with the gameplay as it seems to be too slow and also the chest couldn't be opened with the E key to check the magical items that I could use to kick some enemies. But aside from that I want to see this to be completed into a full game :) Keep up the good work.

oparisy says ...
May 5, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Very nice intro and low-poly art style. Had to desactivate the bloom and tilt shift, but appreciated the defaut control scheme. Fiercely difficult, though.

Why couldn't play in full hd, full screen?

themadknights says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 12:48pm

It would be better if it wasn't impossible. The art is great and the game is nice.

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:53pm

Hard, but cool game! Loved the graphics and updates and the theme overall. Damn birds were able to shoot through obstacles which made me to hate them ;)
Very good game!

TheCain says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 4:57pm

Pretty good. Kinda like a isometric Risk of Rain. You should add some more to this game, it's pretty good.
I didn't like the gun; It's more powerful than the melee at the same tier, which made it markedly superior, and the aiming was off. Unless you made it aim weird on purpose to balance it out.

Conk says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 6:08pm

I'm here to brag about beating arena mode.

bragbragbragbrag... Anyway, awesome art, amazed at how much you all got done! There some annoying balancing issues (like the birds having better range and damage over the boars) but I guess that's inevitable with a games jam game :P

Louspirit says ...
May 9, 2016 @ 8:58pm

Nice gameplay ideas. I died too many times in the first level before getting the gun. Very beautiful graphics, congrats!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]