Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

RhythmicalCreation

by lycoris102 - Compo Entry

- [Caution] Beware of sound volume.
- [Story] Help the Creator of the universe.
- [Howto] Imitating the sample, press the timing well [SPACE KEY].
- [Tools] This game is Created by Unity (output WebGL).
- [BGM] https://soundcloud.com/lycoris102/repeatafterme
- [Author] lycoris102 https://twitter.com/lycoris102 (My first LudumDare!!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Audio4.53
Coolness61%
#135Mood3.51
#149Fun3.61
#243Overall3.47
#294Graphics3.43
#411Humor2.33
#481Innovation3.09
#857Theme2.52

Comments

mountainstorm says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:04am

What an awesome game ... not sure how it fits with the theme, but the most fun game I've played so far; and the music is cool

jk5000 says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 8:57am

Amazing music and graphics.

fizzhog says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:03am

Couldn't run. Error message: The browser could not allocate enough memory for the WebGL content. If you are the developer of this content, try allocating less memory to your WebGL build in the WebGL player settings.

Lythom says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 9:17am

Hi, here's some feedback.

What I liked :
- Awsome music
- Simple yet consistent and polished graphics, nice font choice
- Fun to play

What imo could be improved :
- I could "feel the beat" as I use to in guitar hero. I thinks it's because it's hard to be precise with a keyboard key. Not sure how to work around, I'd try mouse, other keys on the keyboard. Maybe the fact that you can't anticipate easily the first note of each screen because the first beat is at the very left of the screen.

Overall a neat realisation and enjoyable experience. Thanks for the game !

Yarg says ...
Apr 18, 2016 @ 6:03pm

Nice game!
Some suggestions:
1) I wish there were some instrument plays according hit pattern. Sometimes it was kicker but sometimes bars are grayed not related to any instrument
2) Probably some more buttons can be added to use with different instruments
3) Sometimes (usually when it needs to hit fast) game skips key press

Apr 19, 2016 @ 2:17pm

Nice music and graphics! I really liked it.

Would be nice if there was feedback when I missed a beat, didn't seem to matter whether I missed a beat or not besides the score.

Empyrealhell says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 5:56pm

Love the idea and the music. Unfortunately it went out of sync of me about 1/3 of the way through, but apparently you can just button mash and get most of the notes. Even with that, it was still fun to play, great work.

tatmos says ...
Apr 19, 2016 @ 7:51pm

good music!

lycoris102 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:01am

Thanks for played and rated!
[Hint] Pitch Shifter: press key [↑] or [↓] in [tile] => [here!] => [music start]

Insality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:54am

AWESOME!
Ihmygosh, its great! Im also tryed to creat rythm game, but this is perfect
16beats/16

Dmitrix says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:03am

I think this is a unique idea for a rhythm game. I like the music.

Like others have said, trying to follow the rhythm feels a little off for some reason. I suggest making the instruments that coincide with the beat being followed louder that the rest of the song. Also, I think it could help if the drums didn't play when we missed the beat.

aegypticus says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:15am

I really liked the music and graphics. Unfortunately, I found that for a rhythmic music game, it was hard to get into a groove with the beat, mainly because its on a keyboard. Nevertheless, I thought it was quite fun!

Ghust1995 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:17am

Nice music =)

mrStrings says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:28am

Awesome music!

I loved how you packed a lot of "juice" in the game - it feels really good to play.
Congratulations for your entry!


And hey, if you are interested, our entry is in my teammate's account: you can play WolfBit here:
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=87729

usonchen says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:59am

Great game! I like the music and the beat!

TheMeorch says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 6:13am

Awesome presentation, and a really nice twist on the rhythm genre. It seems that you can cheat the game a bit by just slamming spacebar repeatedly, but it's really fun to play if you don't do that.

If you keep working on this, I would add calibration options, as things tend to feel out of sync one way or another. Great work!

Zerkruemler says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:03am

Nice implementation. Cool graphics and Music, but hard to understand which beats have to be pressed. It just don't relate exactly to the music.
From the gameplay perspective it is possible to succeed by just mashing the space bar all the time. This is not what a rythm game is about. You shoul consider giving a penalty to this.
Nice Work.

studdert249 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:36am

Nice little rhythm game, loved the music.

tmpxyz says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:39am

Nice music, like it a lot.

derr says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 7:53am

I love the music and effects. Is there any downside to spam spacebar? I started hammering the button by accident, but found that I suddenly hit all the timings.

blockdroppers says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 8:55am

Great game, really fun. Great job on starting it easy and ramping up the difficulty

NuberuGames says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:10am

Awesome game. I had trouble playing it because of the input delay (i had to press like a half second before I should). I'm sure its a problem with my pc or the webgl version.
Good job!

EpiFouloux says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 9:28am

Cool game but some Input problems (did you put the input managing in a FixedUpdate?) and spamming spacebar seems to work !

Allthebees says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 10:29am

Neat game. Feels very polished.

Pibeex says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 11:42am

Super cool experience!

Gamepopper says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:51pm

Nice music rythem game, unfortunately my keyboard wasn't too responsive so I couldn't get all the notes. Maybe if you could use the mouse button as an alternative input?

WERT Studio says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:40pm

How wants to play dark souls if you could play the hardest oianio game i ever saw. neat game anyway i made fun also i am too stupid for that

GrooveMan says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 4:46pm

I really love the concept! It feels like a robust Rhythm Heaven (or Rhythm Doctor) stage. My computer was lagging/dropping inputs a lot (I guess there are quite a few moving pieces) making it harder to play, but I still enjoyed tapping out all of the rhythms.

nextreality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 5:08pm

I really enjoyed the music for this game, and after a little bit of struggling I was ale to match the rhythm a few times, very nice effect with the bars becoming different colorful buildings, good job!

tsedate says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:31am

Fun to play! It's a polished and complete experience.

V4lesti says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 9:01am

Loved it!

But the music was a bit out of sync (maybe because it was the webGL version?) and I could easily mash space bar to get points.

avinashd says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:18pm

The game was really interesting and the music was fantastic, but it felt really unforgiving and it wasn't really satisfying. As Lythom suggested, maybe it's got something to do with the keyboard? Or maybe WebGL lag? Still fun though :)

miwuc says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 8:49pm

Nice fun and short! I like rhythm games :]

Apr 30, 2016 @ 5:49pm

Best rhytm game on the current jam!

Geckoo1337 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Very fun to play with a good vide. It could be really interesting to do something for mobile device. One of the best entries for the 35th LudumDare session. Well done ++

May 3, 2016 @ 1:18pm

Really nicely set up, challenging, great song. Congrats on finishing! Nice work!

Aaranos says ...
May 4, 2016 @ 11:58pm

Amazing audio. Turns out I'm not that rhythmic. I've always wanted to do something along these lines and similar to a game I played a long time ago called Patapon.

Tselmek says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 10:50am

Really cool rythm game, I liked how the music evolved as I kept on playing. It was hard to figure out the controls at first but it felt better once I've got the hang of it. There was no way to stop us from spamming which is a bummer. 139 is the highest I could reach without spamming.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]