Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

MetaShift

by kiesenverseist - Jam Entry

This is the game I made for my first Ludum dare, MetaShift. The game is basically you trying to survive. As you eat food you can build up fat and use that to transform into another creature with different traits.

The controls of the game are very simple, just the arrow keys and the spacebar. The game mostly explains itself but to make it clear:

Spacebar -> Menue selection and action button
Arrow Keys -> Menue navigation and movement buttons

Also, the circles at the top represent various stats as follows:

Red -> Health
Blue -> Food/Hunger
Navy -> Stored Fat

Also behind the coral, you can hide and predators will stop chasing you.

As a final note, on the left edge of the game environment, there is a strange collision bug where you get stuck there, to get out tap the right arrow button and wait for a few seconds then try to get out and repeat till you do get out.

That's all and I hope you enjoy the game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#347Humor(Jam)2.81
#423Fun(Jam)3.27
#493Theme(Jam)3.41
#559Mood(Jam)3.09
#709Innovation(Jam)2.87
#801Overall(Jam)2.96
#980Graphics(Jam)2.45
#1248Coolness47%

Comments

Nolocality says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:41am

Never have a I taken a jelly fish to faster than sound speeds and eaten 20 fish in the blink of an eye...

After four or so passes I think the crabs started to worship the jelly fish...they would do this dance when I descended to allow them to gaze upon the jellyfish in all it's glory.

Fun lil' game sir, good job.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:12am

Fun game. Needs some music and progression could be a bit faster but i stuck with it! :)

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:28pm

I like this game, add some sound, a few more possible transformations and bit more progression and you'll have something. :)

Reyn says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 6:27am

I like the transformation mechanic. I would have made the crabs be in front of the coral so that it feels more like I'm avoiding it. I couldn't catch any of the fish on purpose, it always had to be on accident, if I was more agile I think it would have been more fun. Music would have played a big role in how long people stuck with the game. I liked text, story like, explanations. There just needed to be some higher goal (was there?), maybe the next shape was a land creature which meant you could escape the pond and win. Well done on your first ludum dare :)

Yazara says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 11:08pm

I love the graphics! :D

local minimum says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 9:26am

I really liked the way the game explained stuff as I needed to know it. It got a bit too much when the crab grabbed me (ran through a bunch of messages that kind of landed on top of each other). Fun concept, but that crab pinched me to death.

terryg says ...
Apr 29, 2016 @ 11:36am

this was fun. as the green fish i kept getting stuck on the left side for some reason. I was mostly able to unstuck myself. Good game overall and fits well with the theme.

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 11:18am

Nice Concept, keep up ;).
try our game
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-35/?action=preview&uid=90749

CaptainPilot says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 7:38pm

Aaaaw, I managed to get stuck against the left hand side of the screen! I was really enjoying it though - a very nice game. No idea quite how I got so excited about what transformation would come next haha

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]