Ludum Dare 35 — April 15th-18th, 2016 — Theme: Shapeshift

Search Keywords: HTC Vive, Oculus, Mac OSX, Linux, Android, Flash, HTML5, Java, Unity

Back to Browse Entries

TowerShifter

by mzhovnach - Jam Entry

Our Hero isn't a regular werewolf. He is the Shapeshifter! Evil orcs conquered this land and only the Hero having the might of Bear, cunning of Fox, freedom of Bird and fearless of Wolf can defeat them!

In the case of missing pop-ups:
Blue Tower - shoots lightnings, fast, medium damage, both land and air.
Yellow Tower - shoots fireballs, medium, huge damage, air only.
Red Tower - shoots bloodballs, very fast, low damage, both land and air.
Green Tower - shoots acidballs, slow, huge damage, land only.

Bear - slow, armored, few minions.
Wolf - faster, less armored, more minions.
Fox - much faster, even more minions.
Eagle - very fast, no armor, aerial, lots of minions.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#202Graphics(Jam)3.99
#210Theme(Jam)3.77
#382Innovation(Jam)3.25
#492Overall(Jam)3.29
#559Mood(Jam)3.09
#682Fun(Jam)2.95

Comments

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Very nice concept!

Gollunk says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:41pm

Good one !

Arvydas says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:42pm

really great graphic design!

Apr 20, 2016 @ 1:56pm

Amazing, rlly into these kind of games

Fumiko says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:29pm

matching the theme really well, und good graphics too

tentacode says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Cool graphics!

SIN Gaiiden2 says ...
Apr 20, 2016 @ 2:46pm

Cool graphics and good gameplay . Good Work !!!

JNI says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:32pm

Really good work! I like the graphics, it looks like a good mobile game!

EvoGenGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 1:38pm

nice graphics, gameplay could be better but good use of the theme!

taviandir says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Fun but very difficult. Those "info boxes" (or what you wanna call them) I couldnt see in game when I played, which would've helped a lot with choosing the kind of animal I would go for.

vctr_seleucos says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:06pm

Good job!

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:10pm

Great concept. I didn't get the popups that are displayed in your screenshots, so was only slightly aware of the difference between some of the creatures. Very beautiful graphics and great sound.

Wisedawn says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:13pm

A very interesting reverse-tower-defense concept! I must note that I also did not get the popups shown in the screenshots.

PelvicThruust says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:22pm

Really liked the idea.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:26pm

Nice game concept. Good job!

pixzleone says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:31pm

Very cool concept, and well done too. I'm not very good at it xD

davisan says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:41pm

Very good! Awesome art! Has a lot of potential.
Finished on my first run. XD

fafastudio says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:52pm

Cool graphics !
I would just say, that the game is a little slow, but it's a personnal opinion ^^
Good job guys !

MementoGames says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 2:55pm

The art is beautiful! And nice twist to the tower defense genre. Sometimes the puppies were acting weird, like going back. Solid entry!

TEAM-TIGER says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:36pm

Nice looking game. there were some path finding issues I think but overall worked pretty well.

Gjarble says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 3:38pm

Nice concept, and the graphics are great. I found it kinda funny that my primary strategy was to summon smaller animals in front of me to act as meatshields so the towers didn't shoot me. I also did not get the popups with the stats for each animal, but it was simple enough to deduce some things about them just from playing: the Bear is slow with high defense, the Bird is fast with low defense, and the Fox and Wolf are in between. That said, it wasn't exactly clear to me why I should choose one animal over another at any time. I guess part of this is because I don't know what the towers do, or how they affect the animals differently. For instance, how does being an Air animal affect the Bird differently from the other animals? Does it dodge shots more easily? Can some towers not reach it? I did figure out that the yellow towers *only* shoot the Bird, but I don't see a difference between the red, green, and blue towers. If some of this information was clearer, it might be easier to form a strategy.

nihilaleph says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:18pm

Nice concept! Interesting take on TD! Graphics are nice too~

Great work!

Pestel Crew says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 4:26pm

Interesting idea indeed.

The M says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:04pm

Cool game! It's a bit short and started very abruptly but I really liked the concept.

MatMortatti says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 5:58pm

Great game! it looks great and it's really fun :D

DuckTieTeam says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 6:20pm

It a quiet interesting concept. The game is very cool. Initially it is a bit hard to master, but it is okay.

Dreschler says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:16pm

Omg, dude, how did you make it for a 72 hours game jam? Impressive.

Apr 21, 2016 @ 7:45pm

Good looking graphics, fitting music. I enjoyed playing this, thanks. The infoboxes people are mentioning would have helped, I only figured out the strategy through looking at the screenshots.

sndr says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 8:49pm

The art is amazing!! It looks very polished! I like how you used the theme here, and the gameplay looks quite interesting. Nice entry!

Oliver_MB says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:52pm

The graphics are awesome!!!

gurkenlabs says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:23pm

very cool graphics :)

Cerberus says ...
Apr 21, 2016 @ 11:53pm

i liked the game, found it kinda slow but it was good. great work!

Khaoz_Fang says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:18am

Not a new idea but nice graphics.

tobia88 says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 4:11am

Cool concept, reverse of tower defense

sharrackor says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:03pm

Very good graphics, and nice idea! I didn't get popups as mentioned previously, and would have preferred a tutorial.

pixel_maniacs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:25pm

Awesome visuals, great concept! Really enjoyed playing it. A bit difficult to understand which tower and which animal has which properties. Some kind of tutorial or different levels with increasing difficulty would be great, but obviously you had very limited time. If you put some more work into the game and add multiple levels, I could very well imagine this to be a great mobile game! Keep up the good work :)

Also, if you have some spare time, it would be great if you check out our game as well!

Apr 22, 2016 @ 1:48pm

Wow great game! kewl mix of genre

Fabraz says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:03pm

Nice color coding and the GUI icons of the animals are excellent. Interesting tower defense take, considering you're the attacker. Moves a little too slow.

DifferentName says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 2:55pm

Took a couple minutes for me to figure out what I was supposed to do, cause at the start I didn't even realize I was the bear. It was really tough, but a clever idea that used the theme well. I'd like to see more reverse tower defense games like this.

runvs says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 3:33pm

This is a really nice entry. I like TD games. The Graphics and the sound are very good. The difficulty is quite high, but I like that. Some small tutorials on the creatues would have been nice. Well done! :)

Hectigo says ...
Apr 22, 2016 @ 7:07pm

The graphics are pretty nice and colorful, but the towers could use something more design-wise. Gameplay-wise it wasn't really communicated well enough which of the different creatures should be chosen to counter the towers, and I'm not sure if there's much reason to have the summon button. It seems like the best idea is just to summon as much as possible, so it could just be automatic. Though maybe I missed something since I never got to the end of the level.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:59am

Nice mix of mechanics! Nice job!

samlo says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 12:24pm

Neat concept, art style is great. Extremely polished. Would love to see you guys turn this into a mobile game or something

fatsopanda says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 2:16pm

A very nice game overall. I like the graphics and the idea a lot. The gameplay felt sometimes a bit too slow to me and the game itself was quite hard. Still, a great idea and a great usage of the theme!

terryg says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 6:49pm

Nice. Took me a while to realize that I can't move the character, and the info boxes didn't appear me me either (firefox). Overall nicely done. Took me a while to figure out the right animal.

marmpa says ...
Apr 23, 2016 @ 8:06pm

Really nice game.I really liked that you were at the reverse end of tower defense game.Really good job.The game seems be really hard worked.

Vidsneeze says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 7:06am

Cool, I like the concept of a reverse tower defense.

kestrelgames says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 9:28am

Nice twist on the tower defence genre. Could use some explanation about what the strengths and weakness of the enemy tower types were, was never really sure when shapeshifting was a good idea.

monetai says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 1:14pm

Nice graphics !

Hyden says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 5:20pm

Not sure if I was the shapeshifter or if I was meant to kill the shapeshifter xD But that probably because I didn't wait around to see what happened when/if he died.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Apr 24, 2016 @ 8:04pm

Nice concept with amazing graphics. You have something with a lot of potential here!

mzhovnach says ...
Apr 25, 2016 @ 9:40am

Towers and shapes descriptions are added.

orukinawa says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 10:49am

That's awesome work considering the duration of the jam

kalth.streil says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 5:44pm

You reversed the concept of tower defense, WOW. Cool graphics, fun, nice game! Well done :)

Xanjos says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 6:36pm

Really fun and interesting entry. I loved how you've used the theme and I dig the reverse tower defence mechanics.

mkghoster says ...
Apr 26, 2016 @ 8:15pm

Good job! Nice UI!

CMLSC says ...
Apr 27, 2016 @ 1:45am

Good idea, but a bit hard.

Crimson713 says ...
Apr 28, 2016 @ 1:04pm

Nice game! Fits the theme greatly, and has nice graphics. New take on the tower defense genre. A bit hard, but that's not a bad thing.

Adipson says ...
Apr 30, 2016 @ 8:36am

yeah ! nice graphics

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 2:06am

Cool game. A bit hard >_<. Very polished graphics. Great take on theme.

neilcorre2k6 says ...
May 1, 2016 @ 6:28am

Nice game! :D at first i thought I control the towers, haha

Aaranos says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 1:28am

Couldn't get past the last lane. I think it could use more balancing but it has a lot of polish on the visuals.

KairosXIII says ...
May 3, 2016 @ 4:13am

Graphics and concept were awesome. Nice take on theme.

May 4, 2016 @ 4:08am

Quite a neat idea. Took a good number of tries to figure out a good strategy for getting through.

Almax27 says ...
May 7, 2016 @ 11:46am

Great Graphics, liked the concept and difference's between characters, had a few glitches of the minions going backwards. Good game! (Summer)

Green Soda says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 5:12am

WOW! sick graphics ... very interesting take on the tower defense genre :)

Jaenis says ...
May 8, 2016 @ 2:39pm

Great game!

Molpe says ...
May 10, 2016 @ 12:05pm

That's a good idea, to put the shapeshifting theme into a tower defense! Nice game!

I've made a short let's play, if you want to check it out: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXvLRm1545U

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]